We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great choice”
Review of Hotel Tilto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tilto
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This was a great choice”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I chose Hotel Tilto on hostelbookers.com, of all places as it was the furtherest thing from a hostel. It was lovely. Small but modern and comfortable rooms. Good sized bathrooms. There is a lift - great for when those bags have just somehow got weightier. The breakfast was good - don't expect eggs every morning though - you'll get small sausages, pasta, mixed vegetables but also good coffee, croissants, that lovely dark bread, fruit and meat and cheese.
Tilto is virtually at the backdoor of the main thoroughfare Gediminas Avenue and is walking distance to Vilnius Cathedral which is a good landmark.
For those who jog - it is close to the river which has multiple bridges with tracks both sides - a nice run with the stairs offering some good intervals.
The only issue - I booked a taxi through the hotel for my ride to the airport and had asked the previous evening as to cost. I was told 30-40 Lit and so budgeted for that amount. On the way to the airport the next day, and noticed the driver hadn't put the meter on. I asked and was told that the taxi company had a contract with the hotel [which I don't believe was the case] and the ride was base price of 65 Lit. Obviously I didn't have this amount, and said I only had 40 Lit. He then said "ohh, 65 Lit was for multiple people, 40 Lit was for single people" - I've emailed the hotel about this rort but haven't heard anything. When booking the taxi, ensure that the hotel insists on the meter to be used.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24binalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    213
    58
    12
    1
See reviews for
75
147
59
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Nice small hotel in a restored old house. Very cosy, familiy-like atmosphere. Just one block away from the cathedral, excellent location for exploring the city on foot. Very friendly staff. Good value for money. Don't expect 5 star de luxe resort-like service - it is a 3 star city hotel. But definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fragi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour around the Baltics. i was very impressed by this hotel, and would recommed it. Its on a nice quiet street but just a short distance from the main street of the new part of the city, and in the other direction about a 10 minute walk to the old city. So its perfectly located for both.
It is an Irish owned hotel, and so there was the Irish flag flying outside it when I arrived - so I felt particularily welcome ! There was also a plague on the wall saying it had been opened by the Irish ambassador to Lithuania.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is in the basement restraunt and was an interesting selection. The room I had was nice and large and had a good TV set.
There is a free internet computer on the floor just above the lobby - very handy for helping to check the weather and times of buses and trains etc.
There are loads of shops (and a large shopping centre) very close to the hotel on the main street of Vilnius. Also plenty of bars and cafes close by too. There was no noise at night. In the morning it was nice to hear the bells of the cathedral.
There are buses from the hotel area that go direct to the Stotis area (where the bus and train station are), and you get a ticket in advance at a newsagents / shop.
I would definetly come back and stay there again. Vilnius was beautiful in the summer, and I would like to see it also in winter time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikesterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Tilto for two days in late June 2011. The room price was around 60 EUR per night.

The hotel itself is situated on a calm one-way street, just a couple of minutes walk from the old town.

We arrived by car and the hotel offered free parking in their back yard. The yard was quite cramped and reachable only through a tight gateway on the next street. If you have a large car it might prove difficult to successfully maneuver your car without scratching it on walls or other cars. There is plenty of other (ie. paid) parking space available near the hotel.

The standard room we were given was tidy and spacious and we did not hear any noise from outside or inside the hotel. No free wi-fi however, so that's a big minus. It was possible to pay for the wifi connection, but as far as we could tell it was only possible to order the necessary login information with a Lithuanian mobile number (ie. useless to foreign tourists).

Breakfast was served in the lower floor of the hotel and was a very basic buffet breakfast: a couple of hot courses (sausages, scrambled eggs), bread, cereal etc.. Nothing special, but sufficient.

Excellent location, good overall value for money (but no free wifi!) = a good hotel experience and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlouhimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This was a cheap hotel in Vilnius and most of the time it showed. Breakfast was served in a very small room and when all guests were present some had to be shifted to another room because of the lack of space.
Wi-Fi not very good, kept crashing out.
Bed was not very comfortable.
Hotel staff were very good and did all they could for you.
Overall cheap and good location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We had no problems finding the hotel as the street it is on faces the cathedral. It is located about 50 metres from the main shopping street and 100 metres from the cathedral. The cathedral is beside the main restaurant / bar / tourist street in the old town and all attractions and amenities are very close.
We found the staff to be very helpful and our room was very spacious, attractive and clean (on the first floor). There is free high speed wi-fi. The hotel is very quiet at night despite the central location.
Breakfast was continental style and very nice.
I would very much recommend the Hotel Tilto and also the city of Vilnius. We had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertquinn1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I visited this hotel early May 2011.
On the positive side I have to say that it is well situated (less than five minutes walk from both the historical centre AND the main commercial street of Vilnius). But then again, Vilnius is not a very big place, so a lot of local hotels are well situated.
The staff were efficient (although not all of them as friendly as you'd like them to be). The rooms are clean and some of them very specious. I stayed on the first floor (actually it's ground floor plus five steps of stair) and got a HUGE room, equipped even with a kitchenette which I really had no use of.
On the negative side:
WiFi. If you're on business and NEED a good internet connection (or any connection for that matter) this is NOT the place for you. There is a limited number of codes available, so you have to sometimes wait for someone to leave in order to get one yourself. I stayed two days without connection and when I finally got it, the speed was tragic.
Breakfast. Options are a bit limited, but I guess there are average for a hotel of this size. The brekfast area is rather small (five tables) so you often have to share a table with a stranger.
Reception area is very small (but do you really mind?).
I guess this is an OK place for anyone visiting the city for touristic reasons. Not great, but clean and good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demetrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.2 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#7 of 88 in Vilnius
1,564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#8 of 88 in Vilnius
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Avenue
Congress Avenue
#2 of 88 in Vilnius
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
0.4 mi away
Narutis Hotel
Narutis Hotel
#11 of 88 in Vilnius
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tilto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tilto

Property: Hotel Tilto
Address: Tilto str 8, Vilnius 01101, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tilto 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Irish-owned hotel “Hotel Tilto” in the historical centre of Vilnius. The “Hotel Tilto” is only minutes away on foot from Lithuania’s famous Cathedral Square and other well-known tourist attractions of Vilnius Old Town: Gediminas Castle, National Museum Palace of the Grand Dukes of Lithuania, St Anne’s Church, Gates of Dawn and many more. The “Hotel Tilto” team will ensure a warm and homelike stay for our guests, help organise tours in the Vilnius Old Town, a UNESCO world heritage site, and plan other entertainment. We’re happy to help with your leisure plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tilto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilto Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing