We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good but....”
Review of Hotel Vandenis

Hotel Vandenis
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vandenis
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Palanga
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed 3 nights in Vandenis in March this year.
It was a 5 min walk to the Basanaviciaus street, where all the action is. (well most of it)
The hotell looks good on the outside, down in the lobby and restaurant its not bad either.
We were promised 2 rooms with balcony, but hwhen we arrived we got only a double room without balcony. I dont think there are any balcony there.. didnt bother to check.
The refrigerator didnt work, but it was cold outside so we placed our beverages on the outside on the window :)
The room was quite shabby, back to the sovjet era again.
I didnt try the breakfast when I saw the grey sausages in grey and cold water t the breakfast table.. Lost apetite, but who am I to tell if it was good or not. I didnt try it.
The hotell is in a nice and quiet area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jericho J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 21 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

I've booked this hotel for 4 nights with Expedia in 2011. All 4 nights were completely paid. Later my plans were changed and I had to cancel the first night - Expedia confirmed the change by phone. When I’ve arrived in the hotel I was told that my room was already sold. They said that they have no information about the booking change and it was canceled after the first night. The hotel administration only offered me the room in the next door hotel for new payment (much more expensive room). Also they said that the payment for the first night will not be returned. So, my plans for Palanga were broken by this company - it was high season and most nice hotels were overbooked.

Room Tip: Be careful with the hotel administration!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank pavelvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Briliant location and exelent breakfast!! Food is a bit pricy but worth it.. if you stay - you have to try fried bread with cheese, the best I had in Lithuania (snack with beer). 10min walk to the beach and 5 min walk to the main Basanaviciaus street where all the buzz is. Just go and enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Book a room in advance, you can save a fortune!!! You.ll pay more then double if you dont.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ievutemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Early April was cold, rainy and Palanga did not have much people visiting at this time of the year. Hotel Vandenis is not a five start hotel but proved to be totally OK, as most comments indicate. The rooms are comfortable enough although a little plain, the 2nd floor carpets a bit worn out and some public area furnitures missing, but this did not bother us. The restaurant was OK and the breakfast adequate. The main Palanga street with all restaurants etc is abt 10 min walking distance from the hotel, and the beaches not too far away if you are sporty. We really liked the jazz club which is located at hotel ground floor and has frequent weekend programs.

The hotel has a private although not well guarded parking area, so you will probably get your car parked there free, and may wish to insert some extra theft protection "just in case". The hotel in theory has a pay-to-get -the code- wireless internet connection (which did not work) and there is also an internet stand at the reception if you use gmail. The kind hotel people even let me use the hotel admin office internet to get my emergent business done when that stand for some reason was out of business. So - in principle the communications should work one way or another. The GSM phone worked fine.

We liked this hotel, and will probably not look for any other alternatives in the next trip to this smallish city.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jouni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

This was the most expensive hotel that we stayed in while travelling in the Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia and it was just ok. The room was spacious but fairly worn and despite being bright with a large window it still smelt like mould from the bathroom. We didn't check any other hotels but I imagine you could do better. Also, I think there are nicer places to stay than Palanga which is fairly kitsch.

On a positive note, the hotel is very close to the beach and a short walk from the pedestrian area leading to the jetty.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

This hotel has good bar, resturant and reception facitities, but the rooms need updating, bit basic and no shelves in bathroom for toiletries. Think they working through updating it at the moment. Staff very helpful. An ok hotel for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mart166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

I stayed here for two nights as part of a trip to Klaipeda and the Curonian Spit. I wanted a place reasonably close to the Palanga Airport just for a quick overnight stay. This hotel fits the bill. It's about 20 minutes from the airport or a 10 -15 Euro cab ride if you have the hotel call a taxi for you. (It's more if you use the cabs that wait outside the airport--if they are there at all).

I arrived at midnight and reception was still open and they were just closing the restaurant. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. The common areas of the hotel are modern and spacious. However, the carpeting along the hallways leading to the rooms and the carpeting inside the rooms lets down the standards set by the comon room. It's not dirty or torn, it just makes you feel you are in someone's unrennovated spare room. The "room" consists of two rooms--one bedroom with a comfy bed and a huge TV and another smaller room with a small couch. The bathroom is very small and there is a faint wiff of sewage (it's very tolerable though). There is wireless Internet access--you get free one hour cards from reception.

The breakfast buffet is good: a good mix of Lithuanian and Continental. foods. The restaurant is also a jazz venue.

The grounds around the hotel are great. Grassy and birch trees all around. They set out lounge chairs in summer you can relax in. The hotel is on a quiet side street just off the main drag leading to the Pier. There are loads of restaurants nearby to choose from. The hotel is also a short walk away from the main tourist sights: Botannical garden, Amber Museum and Amber Processing Gallery.

This is a cozy unpretentious place at a good price.

Stayed: June 2008
2  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palanga hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#30 of 39 in Palanga
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alanga
Alanga
#18 of 39 in Palanga
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Ramybe
Vila Ramybe
#20 of 39 in Palanga
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palangos Vetra
Palangos Vetra
#5 of 39 in Palanga
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Info Hotel
Info Hotel
#25 of 39 in Palanga
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palanga Spa Luxury
Palanga Spa Luxury
#3 of 39 in Palanga
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vandenis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vandenis

Address: Birutes Avenue 47, Palanga LT-5720, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Klaipeda County > Palanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Palanga
Price Range: $37 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vandenis 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vandenis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing