We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lithuania trying hard to attract tourists and succeeding!”

Palanga Amber Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.94*
and up
Walking Tour in Palanga - Capital of Amber
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Palanga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Saanich, BC
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lithuania trying hard to attract tourists and succeeding!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

On a recent cruise we docked at Klaipeda, Lithuania. We booked a shore excursion to Palanga and the Amber Museum. Our guide, Audra, was excellent and her tour company so generous. After the Amber Museum, which is worthy of a visit, we went back to Klaipeda to a restaurant where we sampled local bread (dipped in garlic and butter) and Svyturys 1784 beer. Both delicious. We were also each given little bags of amber chips to remember our visit. I recommend a stop in Klaipeda and Palanga, Lithuania. This little country with no natural resources other than amber is trying hard to build their tourism industry and I wish them all the best.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Trixie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    75
    23
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A must if you are in the area”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is the place to visit if you are in Palanga. It is not only worth a visit if you love amber but also if you are just mildy interested. The museum is situated in a small palace with a nice park surrounding it. The collection is extensive with some really nice pieces of amber with insects trapped inside. My sons, 7 and 8, found it fascinating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Day in the Park”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Spent the best part of a day in the park that had everything, the amber museum had a super collection that was fascinating, the amber with the prehistoric insects trapped within was awesome.

The botanical garden, lakes and monuments where a joy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ernie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oban
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“beautiful little town”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

stayed in klaipeda and toured the many towns of lithuania best for me was palanga on a hot summer evening all the bars and attractions. The amber museum is a must with its walks around the grounds and lake. The pier is where every body goes to watch the sun go down so take a camera with you. Even in winter time it is a nice place as the snow covers the beach right down to the waters edge have been many times and will be going back soon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scottyOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badajoz, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really beautiful!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This building is really beutiful and the garden in front of it as well. This garden is a place where you can take a lot of picures.
About the museum, it is not free, although it is not expensive, it worths. I guess it takes you like 1 hour to visit it reading everything.
It is really well organized and there are a lot of amber samples, which are beautiful.
On the other hand, the amber shop it has is really expensive in my view point.

I really recommend to visit it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank spanish85traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palanga Amber Museum also viewed

Palanga, Klaipeda County
Palanga, Klaipeda County
 
Palanga, Klaipeda County
Palanga, Klaipeda County
 

Been to Palanga Amber Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing