We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no character though...”
Review of Memel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Memel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Klaipeda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A clean hotel with nice staff and a good location however the rooms felt like being in a hospital. I guess it was good value for money you get a room with a bed, tv and bathroom. the walls are stark white and our rom was overlooking a botling depot with beeping trucks. the breakfast was very good. they didnt even have a kleenex box and when I asked housekeeping they told me to use toilet paper. the soap came from a wall mounted dispenser and it felt very commercial.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeing_the_w0rld_n0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 264 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Everything seems brand new and it is clean. We had a very spacious room on the first floor overlooking the secure carpark in the back. Excellent breakfast with something for everyone.

The hotel is just 5 minutes from the center and you'll reach the fery to the curonian spit in 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed for three nights at the end of July during the Klaipeda festival. The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the centre of the old town, although this does mean a cab if you're arriving by train or bus.

The staff at reception were all excellent, which really enhanced the quality of my stay; helping with maps, advising on places to visit and researching bus times for me for the next leg of my holiday. The member of staff even wrote down what I required in Lithuanian to pass to ticket sales person at the bus station which was most useful.

There was no air conditioning in my room, however, they provided me with a fan.

The breakfast was excellent and unrushed. If I visit Klaipeda again I would certainly stay at the Memel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordietraveller2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you don't need a luxury hotel than Memel is the best maybe in Klaipeda...I stayed there last week 4nights and everything was perfect, for that price you can't find better accommodation there in my opinion, staff good, room was ok as the beds, there's no air conditioning but you can open the window easily and that was enough for me in summer days, bathroom maybe bigger than in most of the 3-4star hotels and especially the breakfast was really good, the staff is really amazing how quickly they add the missing food...maybe you can have sometimes problems with parking if the hotel is fully booked and most of them are with cars...great value for the money

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel had been opened one year ago and the facilities were still feeling brand new.

Our room was very spacious but lacking air conditioning and fridge. What I especially liked was that it was possible to make the room totally dark when sleeping as the sun comes up really early in the summertime.

The hotel bar appeared to be open 24/7 and it offered some nice local beers.

There was free parking available in a closed and monitored yard behind the hotel.

The location was pretty good: not too long walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaakko-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel Memel is close to the old town of Klaipeda, about 5 minutes’ walk from the old town square. There is a brewery near, and it may sometimes cause irritating smell. The hotel has been recently renovated and offers a basic modern accommodation with friendly service and breakfast. We had a spacious double with large and comfortable bed on the 5th floor. There was a big mineral water bottle waiting when we stepped in. The only deficit was the air conditioning: we did not find it and had to keep the window open all night. The curtains in the windows were thick preventing too early sunshine and wake-up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piispa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memel_hotel, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and sharing your comments with others.
We apologise if the smells from the brewery nearby were irritating during your stay. SVYTURYS brewery has been a part of the Klaipeda Old Town since the late XVII th century. Today SVYTURYS brews their beer only a few times a month, spreading a rather nostalgic smell of hops over the Old Town of Klaipeda. To find out more about the brewery we recommend taking a guided Beer Tour organized by the Klaipeda Tourism Information centre. We also offer a FULL assortment of SVYTURYS production at hotel Lobby Bar.

We also hope that you had a great night’s sleep regardless the lack of air conditioning in the guest room. Klaipeda’s summers do not weary us with extremely hot weather temperatures, therefore we do not have air conditioning in the hotel, however, we provide our guests with air fans on request.

We hope you had a wonderful time in Klaipeda and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is at a 5min walk to the old town. The rooms are clean and kept simple, the only disadvantage is a missing cupboard for clothes. Breakfast was wonderful, you can sit outside in a kind of winter garden. There is a free locked parking space behind the hotel. Staff was really friendly.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kat_Hamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Klaipeda hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#7 of 28 in Klaipeda
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Klaipeda
0.6 mi away
MICHAELSON Boutique HOTEL
MICHAELSON Boutique HOTEL
#1 of 28 in Klaipeda
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Amberton Klaipeda
Amberton Klaipeda
#4 of 28 in Klaipeda
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friedrich Guesthouse
Friedrich Guesthouse
#16 of 28 in Klaipeda
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ararat All Suites Hotel
Ararat All Suites Hotel
#5 of 28 in Klaipeda
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memel Hotel

Address: Bangu g. 4, Klaipeda 91251, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Klaipeda County > Klaipeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Klaipeda
Price Range: $51 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Memel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Memel Hotel is a 3-star hotel located in the Old Town of Klaipeda. Hotel is housed in a historic cultural heritage building of a XIX century which has been restored in 2012 and transformed into a cosy 50 room hotel. Memel Hotel rooms are designed and furnished to create a pleasant and comfortable environment for business and leisure travelers alike. Each guest room has comfortable Continental beds, multi-channel flat-screen TV, Well-Lit Work Desk, free Wi-Fi connection and En-suite Bathroom with shower. Hotel offers private car parking free of charge. Memel Hotel is situated on Bangu street in the Old Town of Klaipeda within easy walking distance of the city's main tourist attractions such as Theatre Square or Danes River, close to shopping, theatres, museums, restaurants and night clubs. Hotel offers FREE bicycle rental to all hotel guests to explore the city. The ferry service to the infamous UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Curonian Spit is only 1,4 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Memel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing