We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location With An Outstanding View - An Interesting Alternative”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Klaipeda
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Location & Hotel & Restaurant
This nice 3-star hotel is located right at the harbour and is only a 10 minutes walk away from the old city-centre. The hotel offers an outstanding view to the Curonian Spit, Dane river, and the Baltic Sea. Guests are able to enjoy this amazing view not only from the particular rooms but also from the breakfast & dinner area. All in all, it has a restaurant and a bar.

Room
The standard of my double room was OK for the price-value ratio. It was not really special but did meet the standards of the category. The room has an air condition system, flat screen TV, an interesting painting, and a small table with a chair as well as a telephone. The hotel does not have rooms with balconies.

Bathroom
The size and the standard of the bathroom were OK, even though it was rather small; however, they did a great job and used the space wisely.

Cleanliness
The room was clean. I have no complaints.

Hotel Staff
Very friendly hotel staff; the receptionist was very calm and cheered me up when it turned out that booking.com did not booked the room for me even though I received the notification. They had enough rooms and hence it was no problem at all.

Breakfast & Lunch & Dinner area
The breakfast & lunch & dinner area (restaurant) is nice and comes with an outstanding view. The breakfast was OK for Lithuanian standards.

Internet & Parking
Free Internet and parking. Perfect!

Special Features
Outstanding view to the Curonian Spit, Dane river, and Baltic See.

Spa
They have no SPA but they offer massages and other beauty procedures as far as I remember.

Price-Quality Ratio
This hotel is well-priced.

Final Conclusions
I do think that this 3-star hotel has a lot to offer even though it is not luxurious – it is “simple” but nice. The main reason to stay there is certainly the outstanding view and the fair price-value ratio. It is a 5-minutes walk away from the fairy – only for persons! - to the Curonian Spit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Old Mill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 118 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Perfect location. Hotel rooms look over the Harbour and estuary - perfect for a restful, relaxing holiday. Always something to watch. The Hotel Staff were very friendly indeed, spoke fantastic English!! We were well cared for - lovely place ideal for the short walk into the Centre.

Room Tip: Corner suite rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holiday8488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel Old Mill is a nicely renovated 5-storey Memel harbour storehouse with 30 rooms. Location is good, not far from the town centre which can be reached via a hand-operated turningbridge.

From the floor-to-ceiling hotelroom windows, to the south you have a view of a shipyard from the Soviet era still is in operation, and to the north a view of the old harbour. The ferry for pedestrians and cyclists to the Curonian Split is at walking distance. Make sure you get a room at the harbour side of the building. The steet side is noisy with late party-tigers and the early morning garbage-truck.

The Old Mill is a design hotel, furnished in a modern style and with a clean atmosphere. To reach the hotel by car you have to drive around near the shipyard. The complementary parking is at walking distace.

Our room was spacious, had a very good bed and bedlinen, wardrobe, mirror, table and chair, flat-screen TV, fridge and air-conditioning. The reasonably spacious bathroom had a shower, toilet and a surprisingly small wash-basin. Room and bathroom were impeccably clean. No coffee & tea making facility in the room. Windows can be opened. Free Wi-Fi internet.

The simple buffet style breakfast was OK: cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bread and toast, cold-cuts, eggs, cheese, coffee, tea and juice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel couple times. We love view, place and food. But this hotel has one issue - a club on the other side of river. We came with small children and couldn't sleep half night, because of sounds from club. Hotel needs to do something. Despite 2 nights, we spend only 1. But its really pity, because hotel is really cozy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eigirdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

I think we paid decent money for a room with a tiny bathroom, a view I needed to stand on a chair for, a wash basin I smack my head on, to have my tall son on a roll in cot. It was situated in the narrow room under a beam that he smacked his head on when he got up and we had to duck under to get past. I asked for a room with three beds but apparently they do not have any. There are no extras, even a chair to sit on at the desk.
Service at the front desk was outstanding, despite her being there when I was out for an early morning walk and still there at 9pm when I came back from dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indrekis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Nothing extraordinary about this hotel (although it has a wonderful look to it), but it is very basic, clean, smallish rooms, and good views. It has a Scandinavian feel to it.

The location is excellent as it is within a short walking distance to the old part of town with its restaurants, and is also a short walk from the ferry to the Curonian Spit. But keep in mind that it is about a 2 kilometer walk to the bus and train stations.

The breakfast was basic, but good. The staff were friendly, but not all that helpful. The internet worked great. A lot of walking traffic around the hotel, but the rooms were quiet.

Overall we would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank mylimebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Admittedly I probably chose this hotel more for it's looks than for a proper reason but I was not dissapointed as the hotel was very good. Check in was very fast as the staff were very helpful. The room was a good size (although a little warm). Bathroom was narrow but I still had plenty of room to move around so it didn't feel constricted. The room had wireless but it was a pay to use (Zebra) and the minibar was actually an empty fridge (which was better for me as I don't use minbars but could store things in the fridge). Its also only a short walk from the sides in the Old Town so I would definately stay again if i return to Klaipeda

(The swing bridge is closed to pedestrians between xx:00 and xx:15 so maybe consider arriving outside of this quater of an hour. There is a long way round but you need to cross this bridge to walk into Klaipeda town)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingGorack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Klaipeda hotels
0.6 mi away
Memel Hotel
Memel Hotel
#3 of 28 in Klaipeda
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amberton Klaipeda
Amberton Klaipeda
#5 of 28 in Klaipeda
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
MICHAELSON Boutique HOTEL
MICHAELSON Boutique HOTEL
#1 of 28 in Klaipeda
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Klaipeda
0.9 mi away
Ararat All Suites Hotel
Ararat All Suites Hotel
#4 of 28 in Klaipeda
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#6 of 28 in Klaipeda
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Address: Zhveju g. 22, Klaipeda 91241, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Klaipeda County > Klaipeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Klaipeda
Price Range: $56 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing