We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Briliant location, good window view and facinating architecture.”
Review of Daugirdas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Daugirdas Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Briliant location, good window view and facinating architecture.”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Hotel`s fine, the type of unified buisness places, with big and usually busy lobby and allright but nothing special rooms. Hotel itself is interesting from architectural point of view, and surroundings are great. It`s not on a walking street like some other central hotels, but it`s close, and at the same time it`s location allows to get to know some very distinct and unusual corners of the town if you`re inclined to do so. Parking lot during our stay didn`t pose any problems. Our window had very good view, and bathtube is undoubtably a plus.
Breakfast with wide selection of colds and usual hots looked good but turned out to be very very average - none of fruits was ripe, mozzarella was berely passing, and so on.

The restaurant in the basement is a place to enjoy food like nothere else for people who know how to eat. And with Lithuanian prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benitahillstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    99
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
77
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalajoki
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The hotel has a lot of charm and the staff are friendly and helpful. the breakfast was light and fresh and great coffee. Seems newly renovated with cellar restaurant and open lobby\ bar area. Clean rooms and comfy beds. Also located in the old town with a short walk to local shops and bars. Be sure to visit the chocolaterie coffee shop just across the square for some chocolate cake!

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalajokikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel has a superb location and the roof-top restaurant / bar is a great place on a warm day, especially if you like beer cocktails. The rooms are good if somewhat sombrely furnished, and the bathroom could be looked into from the corridor outside. Breakfast in the basement restaurant was very good, especially the choice of coffees from a machine and the many delicious pastries. The staff are helpful up to a point but not very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and their estimates of what one might have to pay to get to the lake by taxi were much lower than we were charged. They could have recommended the nr 5 trolleybus instead. The main problem occurs on Saturdays, when the city is swarming with wedding parties, and they closed our favourite rooftop bar (not because it was busy but because the kitchen staff were preparing food for wedding parties).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our room, a Deluxe Double, was spacious, attractively designed in dark-wood paneling, and well-furnished with a writing desk, couch, armchair, coffee table and roomy clothes closet. The bathroom was large and featured both a separate fully enclosed shower stall and a bathtub with its own spray head. In the bathroom, a glass door--hidden behind a curtain--could be opened to the outside for ventilation. We discovered that too late, as we could have used it during out stay during the humid days of August 2011. The central air conditioning barely worked, and was not ducted into the bathroom, whose only ventilation (aside from the exterior door) was an exhaust hole in the ceiling.

The breakfast (included in the room price) was provided in an attractive cellar environment, with a wide assortment of choices of very high quality. Though the hotel was busy, there was adequate seating and the staff was very attentive to clearing tables and replenishing the food and beverages.

The free parking was in a fairly large lot (for the Old Town of Kaunas) directly across the street from the hotel. However, the lot was also available to diners at the hotel's very popular restaurant, and particularly popular rooftop lounge. Returning with our car during dinner hours, we had to park on the street and wait for a spot in the parking lot to open up later (around 11:00 pm). Cars had been parked in the lot without regard for whether they were blocking others, or were parked at an angle so they occupied two spaces (the latter appears to be a common practice in Lithuanian cities, despite the limited parking space available).

Free WiFi was available, but you needed to get a login and password from the reception desk.

The hotel's location is ideal for a short walk to all the sights and restaurants in the Old Town, or for a stroll along the Nemunas River.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finickysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

in a prime position in old town, a lovely hotel with excellent food and hospitality, very clean and spacious value for money you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: get a room in attic very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topclassjoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2011

In July we made 2700 km by car through Finland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. And Daugirdas was defintely the best hotel on our route both in terms of location, price/quality and attentiveness of the staff. A bit sad to find that young pepole in Kaunas don't understand Russian any more, but English does perfectly fine.
And ice-cream cake we got on their restaurant was literally gourmet !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yury_Dukhanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

14 family members stayed in this hotel for our sons wedding in July 2011. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Nice breakfast in the restuarant. Very reasonably priced. Very friendly staff in the hotel. Great location. Will come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishVisitor39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
1.0 mi away
Kaunas Hotel
Kaunas Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kaunas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 28 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amberton Cozy
Amberton Cozy
#10 of 28 in Kaunas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Santakos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daugirdas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daugirdas Hotel

Property: Daugirdas Hotel
Address: T. Daugirdo g. 4, Kaunas 44280, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kaunas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaunas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Daugirdas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Daugirdas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daugirdas Hotel Kaunas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing