We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant but.......”

Kaunas Tourism Information Centre
Ranked #63 of 89 things to do in Kaunas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Our mission - popularisation of Kaunas City in Lithuania as well as abroad, creation of attractive and hospitable image of Kaunas city, accumulation and free distribution of tourist information about catering, accommodation, culture and sports opportunities, events, various types of entertainment and places of interest and its presentation to Kaunas city residents and guests.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very pleasant but.......”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We parked near here one Saturday on a day trip to Kaunus and went in to ask for information. The lady there was very pleasant and very willing to help but....
One question we had related to parking as when we tried to put in coins, the parking meter gave us the message "It is not possible to pay now for parking" The lady in the tourist office assured us that on Saturdays parking was not free until 18.00, kindly sold us the "scratch card" type parking cards and helped us validate them. Only after we'd paid for three hours did we find out that in fact parking was free on Saturday!!!
Likewise, our attempt to buy a map resulted in two options - one in French and one in Russian.
Some nice souvenirs on sale but I wouldn't rely on the place for advice or information!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lennox-Velma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    6
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not alot to offer”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Not much to offer other than a few brochures. They need to take tourism seriously if they are going to attract more people and start shouting about what they have to offer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkClaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“They couldn't be more helpful.”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Prior to visiting Kaunas with a group of friends I organised two tours via exchange of emails with Simona at the TIC. Simona could not have been more helpful and her english is commendable. We had the same tour guide for both tours, Dalia was delightful, knowledgeable and with a sharp sense of humour. She kept our group interested and entertained.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Timelord1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The employees at the Kaunas Tourist Information are extremely friendly and helpful. While in Kaunas I inquired about a "KAUNAS TOURIST CARD" and gave them my phone number so they could call. They kept their promise and called. Unfortunately the card was not available during my visit in April of 2012. The center is a member of FACEBOOK! Their username is Kauno Tic. I highly suggest you add them as a friend! Don't be afraid to send them a message with questions about your trip! They also host events and will keep you updated with events. I just got invited to "JONINES" which is a great summer festival!

There are postcards, small souvenirs, brochures, and business cards of restaurants, shops and things to do in Lithuania.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karolinute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“very helpful”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The young lady was very friendly and spoke good english. We needed assistance with the airport bus times and where to pick the bus up, also help with trains to the capital Vilnius, so were very helpful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank amazonlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaunas Tourism Information Centre also viewed

 
Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 

Been to Kaunas Tourism Information Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing