We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a short city visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
colchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short city visit”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our group was very impressed by the location (ideal for both old and new town areas), quality of rooms (new wing), value for money and the excellent and attentive staff. Breakfast was fine but not exceptional, and seating was stretched at times as coach parties were passing through, all on the same schedule! The only downsides were the poor access arrangements to restaurant, bar and pool areas, largely caused by the way the old and new hotel wings have been joined together. The bar is not an attraction. The pool is really just a plunge-pool for the sauna, not big enough for a swim. Overall the hotel is however very good value, comfortable and convenient for a bed and breakfast city visit.

Room Tip: New wing, upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColchesterItfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this response regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Sanatkos and telling what you liked. You are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +370 37 302 702.

Sincerely,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    128
    32
    9
    9
See reviews for
42
108
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Only spent one night in this hotel when passing Kaunas along my route. I enjoyed my stay and the service was excellent.

The hotel was a bit hard to find by car

Everything worked smoothly in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepieti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind feedback regarding our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +370 37 302 702.

Sincerely,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business for one night. Hotel has everything for a good stay, with good sized comfortable rooms. Tip: ground floor rooms are close to reception so noise can be heard late at night or early morning.
Wifi is available throughout and is fast and free. Breakfast consisted of a wide choice, self service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekwozthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Santaka. It was a great pleasure to serve you. And thank you for your feedback and warm words towards our hotel.

We would love to see you again at the Best Western hotel Santaka!

Good luck!

Yours truly,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnano, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was booked by my colleague for the great price with breakfast included. Room was very big, unfortunately cold. Heaters were at maximum but still during the night I was forced to use two blankets. Breakfast is average, they need to improve it.
Location is great, in a quite lateral room to the pedestrian street.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tarheel12670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +370 37 302 702.


Sincerely,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Santakos-Best Western in Kaunas, Lithuania for only one night on our way to Vilnius. Sadly, it was a rather gloomy and rainy day so Kaunas was not at its best. Yet the Hotel was. It is a charming hotel in an old red brick house squeezed in a little street on the verge of the old town. We got an excellent deal; mind you it was October-low season. There is a comfortable car park at the rear, towards which you are led by a polite member of staff. From there you can have a glimpse of a conservatory-an extension of the restaurant in the basement. Admittedly, rooms are a bit cramp but comfortable, cozy and tastefully furnished. So are the staircases, landings and other common areas. What we missed were a few more English TV channels other than BBC world; the news watched for the 5th time somehow loose its appeal. Thrown into the deal we had a fixed menu dinner, which was truly delicious, washed with a bottle of excellent white wine. And breakfast on the morrow. Staff was quite competent and English speaking. Due to the complicated past Russian and Polish are widely spoken in Lithuania, too. Kaunas old town is definitely worth a visit though one day should suffice, I think. Its renovation is near completion. One wonders how speedily they have proceeded considering the extent of damage left behind by the Soviets, glimpses of which one can still spot here and there. The new town, we drove through looks like it is in bad need of some major beautification. But there tourists usually do not go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwiewiorowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your positive feedback with us. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay at BEST WESTERN Santaka Hotel. We are glad the food was delicious and we managed to exceed your expectations!
Looking forward to serving you again at Best Western Santaka Hotel,

Warm regards from Kaunas,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

A truly great hotel!
Spent 3 nights in november.
Clean, comfortable, well-located with almost every facility you'd expect from a fancy 5-star namebrand.The staff all speak English (unusual for Kaunas) and are friendly, helpful and intelligent.
Only criticism is the wifi in the bedrooms which goes on and off at will.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jontymgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your stay at the Best Western Hotel Santakos. It was a great pleasure to serve you. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +370 37 302 702.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel on our first visit to Kaunas - what a good choice. The hotel was in a perfect location, situated right between the Old and New Town on a quiet street just off the main avenue. The hotel itself was a beautiful red brick building, with lovely original features and decor. The hotel staff were lovely, very friendly. Our room was gorgeous and spacious, with a large spotless bathroom and bed and little balcony. As we were staying there for my birthday, the hotel staff very kindly brought us a complimentary bottle of wine and a fresh fruit platter to the room - a really nice surprise!

Thanks to the advice of a review on TripAdvisor, we caught the number 29 bus from the airport into Kaunas centre (about 50p per person taking approx 30 mins). The road between the two is pretty much just a straight road, you just get off on the first stop as the bus makes a sharp left off the main road. Please note however that the buses aren't overly regular, so check your times if you're planning on getting the bus back to the airport in time for your flight!

You will honestly struggle to spend money in Kaunas, everything is such good value for money! A great place to visit for a couple of days, good bars, nice restaurants and lovely people. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking time to share your positive feedback. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos and found your room spacious and clean. We are glad wemanaged to exceed your expectations!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Wishing you a lovely day,

BEST regards,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
inga@santakahotel.eu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaunas Hotel
Kaunas Hotel
#4 of 29 in Kaunas
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 29 in Kaunas
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 29 in Kaunas
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daugirdas Hotel
Daugirdas Hotel
#8 of 29 in Kaunas
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amberton Cozy
Amberton Cozy
#10 of 29 in Kaunas
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Address: J. Gruodzio Street 21, Kaunas 52316, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kaunas
#3 Family Hotel in Kaunas
#6 Business Hotel in Kaunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Westrn Santakos hotel is situated at the merging point of the centre and the Old town - in a calm J. Gruodžio street. In the aesthetic 100 year old building you can find a comfortable and elegant interior. Being away from home, you will find yourself quite at home at Best Western Santakos hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kaunas
Kaunas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing