We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel”
Review of R Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
R Hostel
Ranked #5 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Kaunas
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We enjoyed the stay here. The beds were fine and the room was clean and there was a small kitchen with fridge and they provided tea (and maybe coffee) for guests. The staff were very nice and helpful and there was a free computer to use, not every fast connection but was ok. The double room we used had dark curtains which was great, for a change! It was slightly noisy in that room as it backed on to the reception area and you can hear the door bell ringing too. I imagine at a busy time of year, it might be a bit noisy. Aside from this, was all good. The location is fine as it is not in centre but you can walk along the pedestrian zone main road and you are in the centre in about 15-20 minutes, very easy, and the hostel area is quite quiet.

It was a bit hard to find it - it might be better if the hostel had a bigger sign, if it is allowed, outside as the airport bus did stop just near it but you don't know that. If you catch it, the hostel is towards the back of the bus on same side of road and you have to walk back and it is across the grassy are a bit.

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysunderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hostel is clean and the rooms are quite good, although slightly dated, however this hostel is made by the staff who run it.

The owner will challenge you to a game of table football and the staff will give good advice about what to see in Kaunas and the rest of Lithuania.

They also organise nights out for those staying should they wish to - we had a great night and visited a number of bars etc that we would have never found, with a fun group of people.

Definitely the place to stay in Kaunas !

Room Tip: Private room a must if travelling as a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benemma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very nice place. Awesome roofterrace, nice staff, everybody speaking good english. Kitchen is small but you can manage. Very clean very safe. I did spend two weeks in there, i was suppose to be only night. If you go to Kaunas find yourself in R hostel. If stay longer than two nights, sak for the discount. ( don`t tell it was me who said it)

Room Tip: If you smoke, take big dorme it`s with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Excellent hostel. The staff, cleanliness, location and service was all outstanding.
I would recommend to all

The staff were the best I have ever expeirenced, helpful, friendly and very approachable.

When I return to Kaunas, I will definately stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed in the R hostel for 1 night, wish it was longer as this is a great hostel. It is very clean, fresh sheets, comfortable beds, kitchen with all your needs(including free tea and coffee) and very helpful staff. We met Margarita, who was more than willing to help out with directions, good places to go or just hang out in their great lounge area. Free wifi and there is also a pc which is free to use. Would love to come back when its warmer as Some parts of Kaunas seemed drab in the cold, but the countryside in Lithuania is beautiful in the snow. Definately one of the beat hostels i've stayed in!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damagerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Very nice hostel in the city centre. It's new and still quite empty. We spent there only one night but it was very nice. The owner speaks English, Russian and Polish and plays table soccer. Actually the only disadventage were showers with low water pressure. But the place is clean, nice, friendly, resonably priced and good located.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tost80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 早めのチェックインがいいと思います
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Monk's Bunk Kaunas
The Monk's Bunk Kaunas
#1 of 30 in Kaunas
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
0.7 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#2 of 28 in Kaunas
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Laurita
Laurita
#23 of 28 in Kaunas
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Kaunas Centre
Ibis Kaunas Centre
#5 of 28 in Kaunas
325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 28 in Kaunas
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R Hostel

Address: Vytauto pr. 83, Kaunas 44238, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Kaunas
Price Range: $15 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — R Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are R Hostel - hostel that rocks in Kaunas. Our unique location is the very center of Kaunas but at the same time we are very close to bus and railway stations. Our building belongs to national architectural heritage and our roof terrace view is really nice. We offer nice cozy rooms, friendly staff, good advices. We have lounge room with games, table soccer (our staff guys are really good so if you beat them ask them for better deal as award), poker evenings and Lithuanian local home made beer tasting nights. In the summer you can expect grill parties on the roof, a few days wild camping fishing tours (it costs only fuel and equipment rent). Our slogan is that being in R Hostel is "more than just a stay" and we want you to come for a sleep, but find an adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your R Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing