We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms but you wouldn't want to be hungry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Royale Kaunas
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms but you wouldn't want to be hungry”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here in August. When we arrived the girls on reception were lovely and the hotel was gorgeous, the rooms were spotless, spacious and comfortable! The hotel itself is lovely! The faults were dinner and check out time! Service is not great, I waited 50 minutes on a burger and I was the only one ordered at the table at that time. Next night I got food on the way back to the hotel while my friend waited 1 hour and 45 minutes to get their dinner! It seems to be the norm. Check out time is horrible they ring the room 10 minutes before check out time, I work in the business myself and I know it's hectic getting people in, cleaning rooms but calling before time and the lady in a grey cardigan on reception that day was incredibly rude.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisik88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    65
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
56
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was this week (February 3-6, 2013) in Lithuania. After a splendid stay in Europ Royal Vilnius, I moved for one night in Kaunas for business meetings. Don't let your self fooled by same name. The Kaunas hotel was a terrible experience. I booked for King bed room and they put me first in a twin room. At the reception was no one available to help finding the room. When at the second floor, there are a number of doors with no signs, some of them looked. I found one door which was not locked but the corridor was in total dark and could not find any switch. I use my IPhone as a torch and try to find the room. When at the half way the light comes on by a sensor situated much too far from entrance. I found the room but once getting in the light in the corridor went out before I was able to find the card holder to switch one the lights in the room. I had to leave open the door using my luggage, jump out and in again to find the switch.
The change my room upon my request. A guy came nervous to be disturbed at 22:00 and take me to the other room but not offering to help with the luggage.
In the new room, shower was defective. Breakfast was not better but already lost expectations.

Room Tip: nothing to choose here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelHerscu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice hotel just outside the city center of Kaunas.

Great staff with good knowledge of english. We arrived in Kaunas during a big festival, and they told what to see and where to go.

The room was of great size.

The breakfast was a bit eastern-european with many different tastes. However, we enjoyed it as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holter-Nilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in August for City break. Paid only 165 euro - (£135) including breakfast.
When arriving at Kaunas airport head directly outside the terminal and turn left and wait at bus stop for number 29 to Kaunas City, cost is 2 Lita's per person and takes about 50 minutes.
Eating out in Kaunas is very Cheap, typically less that £2 for starter, £5 for main and less that £2 for dessert. Wine and beer is just over £1.
When in Kaunas visist the old town, Kaunas fort. You can also take the finicular railway (20p) to the Church of the Resurrection. For a special trip out of town go to the bus station and get on a 51 bus which will take you to Birstonas, which is a beautiful place south of Kaunas, buses are every 30 mins and cost 9.5 Lita's (just over £2).
Use of Sauna and jacuzzi at this hotel are payable.
Enjoy your trip and don't hesitate to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Accurate-Advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington Hills MI
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel did not compare with the other two hotels we stayed at in Lithuania.
We booked a business double and the room was small and cramped for two of us. At least it was clean and bed was comfy.
The air conditioning system did not work well. We asked them to check it and they said they would look for another room and get back to us, however did not do so.
We paid small extra fee for WI-FI and it did not work consistently.
The breakfast was fine-though coffee was poor.
They advertise jacuzzi, though for this service you have to give them advance notice and there is an extra charge, so we did not use it. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickie-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is big hotel in a very beautiful old printing factory. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. Extra services like laundry, room Wi-Fi, parking lot, massage, transfer from airport (Vilnius), the handling of a rented car, and taking care of received packages is done in a very professional matter. The bathroom is of high standards. In this hotel is a good restaurant where they serve extraordinary good cooked food. the hotel is at 3 min walking away from the start of the beautiful Freedom Avenue. Kaunas has many free Wi-Fi spots.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel's only disadvantage is that it is some distance from the old town, and in the hot summer its a long trek. Having said that the rooms are large, the bathrooms are immaculate, TV and mini bar are plusses, also large comfy beds

We asked for extra pillows and they were delivered with a smile a few minutes later, when we asked for coffee at room service we were told that the cost would be an extra fifteen litas (£4) but if we met the waiter at the bottom of the lift he would provide the coffe there for cost price which was a good way of saying, dont waste your money on room service as we have a lift and a tray!!

The reception staff were helpful, spoke good english and would find out what you needed to know and get back to you promptly.

The minor downside was the breakfast buffet, they couldnt keep it topped up enough, but there was always plenty of food, just that some things ran out, but plenty of decent food to satisfy the british palette, toast, cereal and liptons tea bags!!

I would recommend this to a tourist, but get to know the buses to get in and out of Kaunas old town. Also try the cheap fast train to Vilneus, which is similar to Kaunas, but the old town is prettier in my opinion

Room Tip: If you dont like the room you have offered, an alternative will probably be offered with no fuss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
0.9 mi away
Best Western Santakos Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Kaunas Centre
Ibis Kaunas Centre
#5 of 28 in Kaunas
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kaunas Hotel
Kaunas Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kaunas
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kaunas
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hof Hotel
Hof Hotel
#7 of 28 in Kaunas
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Kaunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Kaunas

Property: Europa Royale Kaunas
Address: Mishko g. 11, Kaunas 44321, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Kaunas 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Europa Royale Kaunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing