We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avilys

Avilys
Ranked #14 of 252 Restaurants in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Teplice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Real cool place”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was in Kaunas with my wife one evening by the way from Moscow to Prague. This is a real cool place, good stakes, perfect Lithuanian beer. Good food, good stuff, good place. And goog price also. Thanks at all. I'll be back ;)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Владимир Р
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    83
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Very easy to find on the main restaurant road close to a number of other restaurants. The waitress was very helpful and spoke very clear English. We asked her about typical Lithuanian food but to our dismay she said the kitchen was primarily European and had nothing typical of the country.

We opted for the roasted pork and pork ribs. Both were exquisitely tender and tasty. We sealed the deal with a nice apple strudel.

The place is a brewery and makes it's Avilys beer. We tried the light and semi light versions. Good but very light - but I guess that's relative since we're used to quite strong beers locally.

We had a table outside in the evening and it was lovely feeling part of the local nightlife. However if it gets cold, the place inside looks very pretty and cosy. You can also ask for a tour of the brewery, which we didn't do as we were too tired by the end of the day.

Important also to mention that prices are very reasonable. The meal cost us the equivalent of €22 (78 litas)

Helpful?
1 Thank MalteseEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Avilys (Hive)”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very nice and not expensive place. Impressive interior - old cellar and little beer brewage - unique beer, whitch you can taste only there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nauris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Meat was a not very chewy, but ... could have been better.
Taste was a little blend. Sauce of mushrooms (Boletus) was good.
Service very good.
Microbrewery ok.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PCHasselgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avelgem, Belgium
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Award for the most honest waiter of Kaunas”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice place with very good food and nice atmosphere. Try one of the the local - in this case very very local - beers and the menu has a nice variety of mainly local dishes. I especially want to mention and thank the very kind waiter who kindly but firmly refused to accept my order for the lamb dish, saying "you don't want to have the lanm sir. Better take something else". Honesty which is highly appreciated and therefore awarded with an extra credit and a 'very good' review instead of a 'good' review. If the waiter would loose his job due to him being honest, he's very welcome to work in Belgian restaurants as we can use some honest waiters as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avilys also viewed

Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 
Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 
Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 

Been to Avilys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing