We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure of #1 rating”
Review of Palace Hotel Polom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Hotel Polom
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Zilina
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stayed at the Best Western Palace for one night. It was great that it was literally right next to the railway station. The entrance seemed small and really didn't stand out. Usually most 4 star hotels have a bit more of a clear reception area, here you had to climb a set of stairs (not pleasant if you are hauling suitcases). I also felt the reception area and ground floor were a bit too dark.

The location- next to the train station at the edge of the pedestrian area near the central square. a nice location and good view in the evenings if you are on an upper floor.

the room- I stayed in a double room. it was clean and of good size. i got the feeling the hotel couldn't make up its mind if it wanted to be modern or classic. no place really to put your luggage. the bed itself was clean and comfortable, i did sleep very well here.

I came to breakfast quite early and staff was attentive and friendly. good selection of food. it wasn't exactly clear that eggs would be available until the staff asked you to select from a sort of menu. the omlette they prepared was quite nice.

bathroom- nice sized bathroom was nice and clean. towels seemed a bit worn for a 4 star hotel and like other reviewers have noted the shower practically required an advanced degree to operate.

in all a nice enough hotel. not the greatest value for the money but adequate for a short stay.

Room Tip: the view to the street/railway station was not the most appealing and might be a bit noisy for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Val_S7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 60 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stopped in Zilina for one night just to get some sleep during the car trip. We picked the hotel just by accident and didn't want to search for another property as it was late night. When you enter the hotel, you can see that the time has stopped there couple of centuries ago... don't get me wrong - everything seems to be well refurbished but the design... ouch! Very traditional in style is a very diplomatic description :)
Bedroom had enough space and comfortable bed though the window was facing a wall that was about 1.5 meter away...
The bathroom included a steam/jacuzzi type shower which had the manual only in Slovakian so it was a bit hard to operate it.
Breakfast was a disaster - the hostess wasn't even interested in saying good morning or greeting us in any way, not mentioning the smile on her face. I understand that we came about half an hour before the breakfast closes but only a few slices of ham and cheese available that's not a good standard. Besides that there was a decent selection of yoghurts, cereals, bread etc.
I'm sure you can find a better place in Zilina and probably for better money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Really not sure how this place is #1. Every time my colleague and I drove by the Hotel Polom we regretted not staying there or the Holiday Inn. This hotel is dilapidated. The breakfast is OK. The wi-fi is touchy. The lights in the hallway blink on and off every 10 seconds (literally) in a very creepy effort to save power. The "wellness" is a joke and most of the "sauna" is built in to your shower so they can claim you have one. Will never come back for sure.

Room Tip: I will admit, it's as close to the rail station as you can get. Eat at Trattoria in the square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WKK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Ecxcellent hotel with very helpful and friendly staff, english and German speaking.
Hotel is plush with chandeliers etc etc.
restaaurant is very good, theough breakfast needed a bit of extra effort.
Otherwise it was great.

Rooms were of an international standard with a satellite TV.
Bathroom was excellent with a sauna shower that you may need a pHD to operate it!
Good value with a walk in rate around 60 Euros a night.

Has casino in basement

Room Tip: Arrive by train and cross the street to the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I stayed for two nights at the Palace Polom and attended a wedding at the Hotel. From the moment we check in to the moment we left we really enjoyed our stay. The room was very nice, the shower was the most advanced piece of equiptment I have ever encountered. We were supplied with robes and slippers. Bed was very comfortable and I slept like a log.
Breakfast was a buffet, coffee was good, as was the hot food. The cold meats and cheese was also excellent. All the staff spoke excellent English.

The wedding was organised to a very high standard. The dining room had a real banquet feel to it and the food was of a very high standard.

My car was parked in a secure car park about 100 yards from the hotel. Overall, this is a hotel with which I cannot find a fault.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Stayed at the Best Western earlier this year. Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Secure parking is not onsite but extremely close to the hotel (2 min walk from front door). Room was very comfortable and they have wonderful spa type shower units. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

The quality of the room is quite good. But yu don't have WIFI. I've seen some roaces in the bathroom (2 to be exact).
The breakfast is poor.
When I arrived at the hotel we agred on one price and when I checkout they told me another. I felt like I was doing buisness with gipsies. This made my staying at the hotel a very unpleasant experience. :(

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zilina
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Zilina
Holiday Inn Zilina
#1 of 7 in Zilina
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Zilina
Hotel Grand Zilina
#6 of 7 in Zilina
60 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Necas
Villa Necas
#3 of 7 in Zilina
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubna Skala
Hotel Dubna Skala
#2 of 7 in Zilina
70 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wellness Hotel Diplomat
Wellness Hotel Diplomat
#2 of 5 in Rajecke Teplice
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boss
Hotel Boss
#7 of 7 in Zilina
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Polom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Polom

Address: Hviezdoslava 22, Zilina 010 01, Slovakia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel Polom)
Location: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Zilina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Zilina
Price Range: $97 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel Polom 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like places where you can feel history breathing, if you can appreciate comfort and tasty meals and at the same time you are looking for an excellent accommodation in the very centre of Žilina, then the 4 and half star Palace Hotel Polom is the right place for you. A tastefully reconstructed hotel situated at the beginning of the pedestrian zone is successfully continuing the more than 100 years long tradition. This exclusive historical hotel in the heart of Žilina city offers the highest standard of accommodation in the 69 luxuriously furnished rooms and 3 exclusive suites. 5-zone, ergonomically shaped matrasses, anti-allergy bedding, bathrooms equipped with a shower stall combined with a bathtub, radio, hydro massage and steam sauna are the basic standard of the rooms. Naturally, there is a free wireless Internet connection and a possibility of parking on the attended hotel´s car park. Besides the accommodation and catering the hotel provides a wide range of complex additional services. There are 3 congress halls and 2 nicely furnished lounges available. There are conference rooms for individual meetings as well as a congress hall with a capacity of 150 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palace Hotel Polom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing