We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible restaurant”
Review of Hotel Dubna Skala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubna Skala
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Zilina
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
“Terrible restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stopped here just for a dinner. This restaurant was recommended us, but it was a big disappointment. We got totaly tasteless soup with seafood for 5,2 eur. I`m really not sure if it was fresh. We (me and my husband) had really serious stomach problems after eating this. Then we had cold main course. I can imagine more professional waiting staff in restaurant in four stars hotel.
Maybe hotel is fine, but restaurant poor, big prices for this region and very low quality of food!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stanka_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
15
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel neither offend nor fascinate. It is nice accommodation on a great level just a few steps from the main square. Aspiring restaurant with few chapters ahead to learn to be evaluated as a great service. Location is perfect, second best hotel in Zilina I stayed in..

Room Tip: Some rooms have jaccuzzi, some not.. If you're interested, ask for the price difference. Some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaZCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having just stayed in a Marriott then an NH Hotel I was expecting something more unusual as it's advertised as a Boutique Hotel and cost much more than the others but the room could have been any chain hotel.
The carpet was stained and the room already felt tired in comparison to the last two hotels even though it must have been a recent refurbishment. Plenty of reasonably priced parking at the hotel and the main square of Zilina is only a few minutes walk away with plenty of very cheap beer but not many restaurants.
It seems to cater for business travellers as at breakfast the next morning we were the only couple. The breakfast was a good European cold buffet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarloafView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Dale
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Randomly picked this hotel during a driving trip around Poland and Slovakia, it is a little on the pricey side but its worth it in terms of comfort. The only complaint I have is they must have forgot to leave a second down comforter for the bed, so just snuggled in close. We slept like logs in the comfortable bed, the room was clean and modern and there was live jazz in the downstairs bar. Ask for a zloty bazant with raspberry syrup :).

Couple other items, good safe parking and steps to the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kslowinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Hotel is new and well kept (2012). Rooms are large, nice and clean. There is a big parking even if you are downtown. The restaurant is lovely, and food is good, they also have a good selection of wines

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svätý Jur, Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I've previously stayed at this hotel four times and would come back again.
It's located in very centre of Zilina, close to restaurants, bars, malls.
Rooms are spacious and clean, staff very friendly.
If you need/want to visit Zilina, this is definitely the best choice.
The only competition would be Hotel Palace Polom, which is comparable, you just need to check rates and decide :o)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Very nice hotel with large rooms and high ceilings. Check-in and check-out were efficient. Parking area behind the hotel. Good location, across the street from a mall and area with small restaurants. Good wifi. Unfortunately I did not have time to try the breakfast.

Unfortunately for me, the hotel guests in the room next to mine were very loud. I tried to sleep, then did some work, and eventually called the front desk at 2:30 AM. She apologized, but explained that they were drunk, and she could not make them not drunk. She did offer the key to another room that would be quieter. I tried it, but couldn't get comfortable. Fortunately when I went back to my room at 3 AM, the neighbors were presumably asleep and I was able to get 3 hours of sleep before I had to get up and head to the client's.

Despite this unfortunate experience, which can happen in any hotel, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k-t-n-y-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zilina
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Zilina
Holiday Inn Zilina
#1 of 7 in Zilina
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Zilina
Hotel Grand Zilina
#6 of 7 in Zilina
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Polom
Palace Hotel Polom
#4 of 7 in Zilina
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Diplomat
Wellness Hotel Diplomat
#2 of 5 in Rajecke Teplice
52 reviews
7.2 mi away
Aphrodite Palace
Aphrodite Palace
#1 of 5 in Rajecke Teplice
63 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Aphrodite
Hotel Aphrodite
#3 of 5 in Rajecke Teplice
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubna Skala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubna Skala

Property: Hotel Dubna Skala
Address: Hurbanova 354/8, Zilina 010 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Zilina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Zilina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dubna Skala 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dubna Skala is the first 4* brand new contemporary and stylish hotel situated in the historic centre of the city of Zilina. The hotel offers pleasant atmosphere for both business and leisure guests. It is equipped with a range of amenities to enhance the high standards of accommodation as well as restaurant, congress and relaxation services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dubna Skala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing