We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Grand”
Review of Hotel Grand Zilina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grand Zilina
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Zilina
Piaseczno
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Hotel Grand”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel has great localization, in main square of the city Zilina.Hotel looks better from inside tha from outside. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, some of them have air-conditioning system. If take car you can use hotel's parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    25
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
6
14
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed in a room with a single person bed. The room was around 9 m2, so, kind of small, but I wasn't living on the hotel, just sleeping there.
The rooms are small and clean, and the bathroom is also cubicle size. The internet is somewhat fast and the people working at the place are nice. I'd appreciate some better light conditions from the bulbs, and also a bigger desk to work - the TV occupies some 70% of the desk, and you're in a bit of a trouble to work in a comfortable way.
You have a varied breakfast to chose, since it's served in a restaurant that is merged with the building next to the hotel.
The rates I got were very good, there's parking available for 5€/day, and the hotel's location was truly central.
Nevertheless, I'd definitely stay here again because I had 3 great nights of sleep and there's really nothing wrong with the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno_the_Curious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Central location, old hotel with strange logistics (corridors, way to breakfast room..), several rooms are refurbished with nice bathrooms- recommended. Hotel parking might be full... Breakfast choice boring.. you get hungry before you reach the b-room. :o)

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaZCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Location is central, 10 mins walk from the train station, although I would take ear plugs - my room had a window above one of the passages into the main square.
Staff were friendly, helpful and spoke English - a trio you don't get many places in Slovakia.
Room was adequate - only gripe was just left one sachet of shower gel for a two night stay.
There was a tv, hairdryer, mini bar - bottle of wine 5 euros, not bad. Good wifi. Car parking is also available.
Breakfast, laid on in a pension next door - good spread, hot and cold, and should set you up for the day.
There are also Wellness facilities that I didn't use, but I was offered the chance for 1 euro - sounds a bargain if you like that sort of thing.
Would stay again if I return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We had booked two months in advance, a luxury double room for three nights, as we were attending a wedding. The room had two single beds, placed far apart at right angles in an L shaped room. No hairdryer, minimal toiletries, small bath towels. There was no seating area as shown in the photographs on the website, and the layout was cramped. We could not change rooms as the hotel was full. We were offered a minimal reduction, after some haggling. Renovations downstairs, meant we had to trek all over the building to locate the breakfast room. The only plus point was the comfortable mattresses. We managed to find alternative accommodation after one night at a lovely small hotel at half the price and double the luxury.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This hotel is at the old square..and if you like church bells this is the place for you!
Our room was fine, but with little room to move about..too much stuff in a small space.
Ditto for the bathroom.
Elevator and internet available.
Reception staff were efficient and access to varied restaurants was good.
A short walk to railway station, not a problem. (Beware of the "gypsies" around these stations.!)
A pleasant two night stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurotripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We were on a driving holiday from Hungary to Poland and everywhere in between!! We loved Slovakia and everything about it. There was extremely heavy snow when we were there and perhaps it might have been better to wait for good driving conditions but the snow just added to the beauty of the whole trip. We stumbled across the Hotel Grand late in the evening, no advance booking made we hoped for the best. We were greeted by a very friendly guy at reception. He gave us prices and showed us the standard room, it was clean and basic but we were looking for something special (it was my birthday). For an extra £15 or so (They are open to some haggling!! ) we were offered a top floor suite with large bedroom, separate lounge and large bathroom with double Jacuzzi bath.......there was no comparison between the rooms. We had beautiful views over the streets from our balcony. The room was spotless clean, we had a problem getting hot water through on one occasion and called reception, within minutes there was someone to the room and sorted it straight away. Breakfast was basic but nice, there are a few good bars around the town and good restaurants too. Car parking was limited but we got a space also the hotel can be hard to find, we followed the signs as you come into town but ended up doing a few laps before we found it down the narrow road. We were supposed to only stay 1 night but stayed 2 as we loved Zilina and cannot wait to return and will definitely stay in the Hotel Grand again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ocalllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zilina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dubna Skala
Hotel Dubna Skala
#2 of 7 in Zilina
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Zilina
Holiday Inn Zilina
#1 of 7 in Zilina
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel Polom
Palace Hotel Polom
#4 of 7 in Zilina
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Aphrodite
Hotel Aphrodite
#3 of 5 in Rajecke Teplice
66 reviews
7.0 mi away
Wellness Hotel Diplomat
Wellness Hotel Diplomat
#2 of 5 in Rajecke Teplice
52 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 15 in Zilina
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Zilina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Zilina

Property: Hotel Grand Zilina
Address: Sladkovichova 1, Zilina 010 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Zilina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Zilina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Zilina 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Grand Zilina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing