We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Balnea Esplanade Palace Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Piestany
Certificate of Excellence
Topolcany, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Balnea Esplanade Palace Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of stopping at this hotel for breakfast. I was greeted warmly by the helpful staff and showed to a table, where straight away I was offered coffee and juice. The food selection was excellent with a wide variety for all palates, including continental and cooked. The selection of fresh fruit was especially notable as was the cold cuts. Throughout the dining experience I was continually asked if I would like more coffee or if there was anything the staff could do to enhance my meal. Overall I would rate the breakfast service to a high standard and would recommend it to anyone interested in staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Raymond T.,

thank you for sharing with us your postive impression of our F&B department. We hope that we are able to welcome you soon again in the Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    39
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
29
69
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We where staying for a weekend in january and it was the best 3 days in a long time. The room was very appealing, specially to my wife since she love takeing a nice hot bath. The service was also very friendly and room service was really excellent and did nearly take no time at all.
The restaurants in the hotel are nice and the food was excellent.
We will definately come back next year

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, General Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for the extra time you spent providing us with the feedback to your recent stay at our hotel.

We hope we are able to have you soon again as guests in the Balnea Esplanade Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent a weekend there in February and the hotel delivered what was expected and even more. The building is modern, the rooms are very nice, and the largest positive factor is the very friendly staff. Food in the restaurant is also good and we appreciated the excellent selection of quality Slovak wines.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, General Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your enjoyable stay here at our hotel. We will share this positive feedback about our wine selection with our F&B team! Hope to welcome you again one day.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, NI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived in a large group in early January and were immediately impressed by the facade of the hotel. Our group was then welcomed into the impressively spacious reception area (including vintage cars) where helpful and courteous staff processed our large check-in with each language and without delay.
The hotel is set in wonderful expansive parkland grounds which are ideal for walking, running or just wandering.
The indoor and outdoor pool (connected) with jacuzzi and whirlpool was a fantastic experience- swimming in hot water as snow fell from above was great!
The hotel has a number of restaurants and bars and our evening meal was excellent. Our large and international group enjoyed a great selection of local and international cuisine and every dish was perfect. Again, the serving staff and bar staff were faultless - extremely pleasant and courteous. Nothing was any trouble.
I would recommend Balnea Esplanade Palace as a great getaway location for total relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMcElherron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have stayed in Balnea Palace during weekend, the place was quite over-crowded (maybe worth to note it was weekend after Valentine's), especially Restaurant & Wellness area.
This property is part of large complex of 4 hotels (Balnea Esplanade/Palace/Splendid/Grand; ~200rooms each!) which are sharing common Medical area (medical procedures) & Wellness area.
Building itself is kind of previous era style (complex was built in 60's to 80's), however rooms in Palace are quite renovated, clean, with free wifi (in rooms!) & LCD TV (TV signal wasn't the best).

Regarding Wellness area-if you chose off-peak hours (around lunch/dinner-time), there won't be so many people in pool (mostly outdoor part, where you will have even enough space to swim).
The same goes to Sauna world (3 saunas: Finish/Infra/Steam bath).
Medical center is organized the way you get exact time slot for your procedure.

What was the main issue in this hotel was dining & restaurant service. At first you have no-where to sit, then plates are missing, glasses are missing, no soup etc, even if you ask service for milk to the coffee it is not sure you'll get any. Every time you have to wait for something, either during dinner or during breakfast.
To manage that you have to be very patient and instead eating what you want just eat what is available at the moment. To sum it up - you' wont stay hungry, however don't expect culinary specialties.

In general I cannot recommend the place for full price (definitely not 4* service, mainly Restaurant). Anyway, if you get such a deal I did (130€/weekend for 2p, half-board & 3 medical procedures incl) you might be ok with poor dining.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kata m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel late January as part of an annual regional meeting with Krombacher. We were a large group and, amazingly (said from experience), all the rooms were prepped and ready to go for all of us. The check in process was another faultless process and organising the operation for such a large group was made a lot easier by such efficient staff at the hotel. They were also incredibly friendly and attentive, having cold pints served to us with perfect timing upon our arrival. Between them the front desk staff also spoke a multitude of languages to a high proficiency which made any enquiry from our very international group easy to deal with. These requests were also dealt with in a professional and enthusiastic manner - an attitude that set a precedent we experienced throughout the stay.

The hotel itself was wonderfully comfortable - the rooms were of a high standard, and their presentation showed an attention to detail often not seen. Beds were exceptionally comfortable and the bathroom was clean and extra warm with tower heaters. The reception lobby itself was impressively radiant and expansive, which added to the welcoming ambiance.

Facilities within the grounds were outstanding with a large complex of various shops and captivating boutiques. The spa deserves separate commendation; with a vast collection of choices - and a relaxing mud wrap graciously included in our stay - the treatments were carried out to meet the high standards we were by now accustomed to.

Food, thankfully, was another highly positive point. Wonderful presentation aside, the quality and amount of food could satisfy even the most particular eaters. The kitchen provided an an ample stream of food appropriate for the cold winter outside which was served with incredible timing and precision given the size of our group (and thus the logistical complexity of our service).

If I visited with my partner or alone, I’d speak very highly of the hotel and its staff, happily recommending it to anyone who inquired. However, given the size of the group I was traveling with, I cannot praise the friendliness, professionalism and comfort afforded to us enough! An incredible experience I’ll not soon forget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenekoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Even though it is older hotel, all this little minuses was just erased by friendliness of the employees. Stayed only for short time so had no chance to see all what hotels offers.
Food for breakfast was up to my expectation. Service was fast and efficient. After long day out it was nice to relax in coffee shop with cup pf coffee and especially with that strudel.
Would definitely come back with family

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razor-ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piestany hotels
0.5 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#9 of 20 in Piestany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sandor Pavillon
Hotel Sandor Pavillon
#3 of 20 in Piestany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Harmonia
Hotel Harmonia
#6 of 20 in Piestany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Satelit
Hotel Satelit
#13 of 20 in Piestany
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spa Hotel Pro Patria
Spa Hotel Pro Patria
#5 of 20 in Piestany
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade
Address: Winterova 29, Piestany 921 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Trnava Region > Piestany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Piestany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Modern hotel complex located in the lush park area at the centre of Spa Island.•Directly connected to the impressive Balnea Health Spa, which offers a wide range of unique therapeutic and relaxation treatments.•Relax in the Water and Sauna World! Enjoy the indoor and outdoor pool as well as Finnish sauna, Infrared sauna and a steam room.•A hotel for all occasions - spa and wellness, conference facilities, sports activities, excellent cuisine and entertainment.•Treat yourself to a little time off in our Spa park, enjoy listening to birdsong under old trees, the tranquility of the thermal pools or the enclosure with peacocks and rare pheasants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing