We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old lady”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Piestany
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old lady”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Everything around is so beautiful and fresh, the walk near the Danube, the gardens,
And the swans. I loved going out because my hotel inspite all the renewing still look like
An old lady, the treatments are good but some of the staff are so rude. I felt that the old
Regime did not leave the place. Even though most people are here for medical reasons, the
Food is far from healthy. I felt, it is more like a boarding school than an hotel. But I will
Probably return next year.

Room Tip: Some superior rooms are better than junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreealouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    44
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
31
76
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cham, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I booked the 4day package with 5 different treatments for I believe 65€ a day included halfboard. My parents (60years old) they loved the place essentially when they were in heated outside pool and snow was falling down. I would rate it as bellow:

Positives:
Inside and Outside (inter connected) pool , lot of excelent spa tratments (I recomend the mud bed and mirror pool swiming). Pool can be used for free as often you want, 10 computers with internet for free, good connection to Bratislava / Vienna, Spa ambience of small city, hotel organised a lot of entertainment, welcome drink, gym, saunas for free. Mineral water from the spring for free, parkig for free

Negatives:
Hotel does not deserve 4 star rating in couple of aspects. The employees in resto were underresourced - one day we eated desert and plates from soup and main meal were still on the table so you can imagine the mess on the table for 5 people, part of hotel has not been renovated so it looks obsolete, Not suitable for kids which can be advantage in case you would like to relax ......

You can not compare 4stars hotel in Western Europe with this hotel in some aspects, but the price is different as well.... There were not any hidden costs as in other hotels in Europe (parking fees, iternet fees etc)

Advices: you can have lunch in the city for half price than in the hotel, take the package with treatments since it is a bit dificuld to get some of the treatments on the spot, challenge them if they plan you treatements in times which do not suit you. And do not forget to taste some local specialities like Brynzove Halusky or Cabbage soup with sausage and stay away from Beer called Saris (Topvar beer is OK)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cepi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We've been to Piestany several times, always staying in the neighbouring Balnea Esplanade and so far had only very few complaints. Then we found this great online deal for Palace and thought - why not, let's try it. The standard package included 4* standard room, half board and 6 treatments for 6 days. All Danubius spa hotels are located on an island on river Vah in a park ideal for jogging. Golf and tennis are also available, however, we didn't try.

Our room was spacious and comfortable. Despite this hotel being a little bit cheaper than the 4* Esplanade, we found the rooms to be in a better shape - renovated quite recently. Beds had very nice hard mattraces which I particularly liked. You get a big fluffy robe to walk to your treatment rooms and pool area. There is a small TV with a reasonable selection of channels in various languages. I particularly liked the shower - a simple walk-in, no-tub corner with a rolldoor - size of a regular bath tub. Finally a shower in which you can actually move without touching walls or curtains.

As this is a medical spa (muscles and joints) and now yet quite a wellness facility, you should probably adjust your expectations accordingly. The treatment center is located between the two hotels (Explanade & Palace) and is accessible all via indoor corridors. They have done quite some renovations of the hydromassage & massage area which has now lovely wellness look and feel (jetted tubs include a changing colored lights), the mud-pack area and the hot sulfur pool still have an "old hospital-like" feel. One thing at a time I guess. Treatments are great, a deep tissue massage is a true deep tissue massage, hot mud and hot pools will relax your muscles and make you sweat a little - and many of these treatments are followed by a "dry wrap" - a 15-minute snooze wrapped in a blanket like a mummy. You can also book treatments outside of the main Palace/Esplanade area - either in an outdoor treatment house Napoleon or in the 5* Thermia Palace.

Four things I do not particularly like:
- food (goes for Esplanade too) - timeslots for breakfast and dinner are very restrictive and not very compatible with a relaxing vacation - breakfast must be finished by 9:30, dinners only between 18:00 and 20:00 which is a bit early; breakfast was always satisfactory, there are always various choices for dinner (you have to order a day in advance from a standard menu) but salad buffet gets boring after 3 days; don't expect a 4* food, but a reasonable average (there are some alternatives outside, such as restaurant Elizabeth between Esplanade and Thermia)
- little scheduling flexibility - you will have a very little say as to when you want to schedule your treatments; they are usually very busy as they have to accomodate the "light wellness" programs as well as "serious medical" treatment including many procedures; your appointments can be scheduled for as early as 7:20 am! But if they are not massively overbooked and you ask politely, they might move some appointments around for you. Same goes for additional treatments - it is not always possible to get all you want and it is usually easier to get extra treatments (in particular 1-hour massages) Monday to Friday. Limitations apply particularly during longer weekends and holidays - we stayed here last year during Easter and would never do it again
- overcrowded facilities - Indoor/outdoor pool as well as saunas are somewhat small for the capacity these two hotels provide
- not much to do for young people besides treatments - if you're looking for a swanky bar or hip coffee place, you will need to leave premises; hotel is set up to offer only "classy" services in a fairly old fashioned style

And one more thing - not putting it on the list of things I don't like because I'm used to it and not bothered but I thought it might be good to mention - sometimes you might get a feeling that the staff is not in their best mood or don't smile enough... It's nothing personal and it does not mean they are not going our of their way to serve you. It's just the way they are and if you treat them with smile and respect, they will surely return it.

We love coming back once a year and we will not hesitate come again next year. You get plently for your money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ErikaSVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel is quite old, what you can see from the outside and mostly in the rooms. The furniture is used as well as the bathroom equipment. Wall are very thin so you can hear every single word of your neighbours, what is especially uncomfortable when you are sleeping next to the room of older snoring guest. Hotel employees are mostly nice and helpful, although busy most of the time. What is very overpriced and low quality is the food. You get better food in any small pub around for one fifth of the price. This hotel is simply not worth the stars and the money they are asking. There are many much nicer places to visit as a spa guest in Slovakia.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aktak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
We would like to thank you for your comments as well as for visiting the Slovak Health Spa Piešťany.
We are very sorry that we were not reported on weaknesses during your stay, we would have been able to eliminate and make your stay pleasant and comfortable.
Our guests have the possibility to point out complaints, claims or comments immediately on spot, so that the situation is solved promptly.
Your comments have been sent to our hotel management.
We firmly believe that despite these comments you will remain to be our guest and services provided by the hotel in future will fully satisfy your expectations.

Frantisek Machac
Hotel manager
Balnea Esplanade Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

When I came there I thought that I walked throught time shift back to 1970 in the Slovak Republic with all authentic buildings, furniture and services. When you want to try the real sovietic era in the Slovak Republic during early 80`s of the 20th century I really recommend it, but the problem is that the hotel stayed in that era and now it is a year 2010.I also recommend it for its cheese like smell all around hotel. The food was for its expensive price indeed delicious because I felt like at my elementary school`s cafeteria, which was my first terrific contact what everything is possible in a gastronomy. And I also resommend it for young people or rather not because the average age of their clients is somewhere between 75 or 80.Maybe because of that you can see all around the hotel people of this age who think about their youth the same like this old hotel.And at the end I almost forgot one thing - it is the first hotel in my life where I experienced at its café that I had to pay for my ordered coffee at cashier because a waitress only brought my coffee but she did not come back from that time never.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank johnee555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We bought expensive package for 1 week for the New Year's Eve party. We have been very disappointed and angry from first moment. Staff was rude,shouting, service poor, in the restaurant the table clothe was dirty with big hole. As manager came unfriendly black guy absolutely no customer orientated! According his opinion it is "customer's problem if there is any-no problem of hotel/restaurant/spa!!!"
Do not use shampoo/conditioner. The maid is collecting small bottles of shampoo's and "preparing" it for new customers! The bunch of black hairs was in bathroom whole week from previous customers. The room had terrible smell, duvet and pillow old (maybe from 80's-from socialistic time).Made didn't chance bed clothes at all. Do not ask for tissues-wasting time. During our last day we got call from Hotel office that we need to pay approx.25% more because they changed mind and price! NEVER BUY THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank engineeruk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Have you been naughty? Do you feel you need to be punished? If so, them maybe this is the spa for you. The treatments tend to involve sitting naked in one of a line of dodgy looking baths in what looks like the worlds largest gents urinal. The one where Igor the Attendant directed a hose at me while the other (naked) inmates looked on was the last straw for me. The swimming pool was dirty and small. Folks here tend to just stand in the pool rather than swim. The sauna was also rather small and not fully operational while we were there.
Maybe you enjoy a foreign dining experience? Well this is about as foreign as it gets. You have to order your dinner for tomorrow night from a list at breakfast the day before. So how, you ask, are you to get dinner on your first night? You don't. And you must finish eating and leave the dining hall 7:30 pm.
All the staff were consistently rude and unhelpful.
They just don't seem to have got the idea here.
We enjoyed leaving.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — Incredibly rude staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sausagedog88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piestany hotels
0.3 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace
0.5 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#7 of 21 in Piestany
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sandor Pavillon
Hotel Sandor Pavillon
#4 of 21 in Piestany
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Maj Spa & Wellness
Hotel Maj Spa & Wellness
#6 of 21 in Piestany
32 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Boutique Hotel Sergijo
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#8 of 21 in Piestany
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade

Property: Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade
Address: Spa Island, Piestany 921 29, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Trnava Region > Piestany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Piestany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Modern hotel complex located in the lush park area at the centre of Spa Island.•Directly connected to the impressive Balnea Health Spa, which offers a wide range of unique therapeutic and relaxation treatments.•Relax in the Water and Sauna World! Enjoy the indoor and outdoor pool as well as Finnish sauna, Infrared sauna and a steam room.•A hotel for all occasions - spa and wellness, conference facilities, sports activities, excellent cuisine and entertainment.•Treat yourself to a little time off in our Spa park, enjoy listening to birdsong under old trees, the tranquility of the thermal pools or the enclosure with peacocks and rare pheasants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing