We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced hotel with poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Piestany
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent almost one week in this hotel. Staff does not know to be polite (not too friendly). In spa you have to listen that they are not paid properly and they must work hard 12 hours per day...OK what you can expect from such tired staff! On Monday we contacted receptionist with list of problems in the room - on Wednesday they came to see what can be repair!Room is very dirty, cleaning is not done properly.Mould in bathroom, your shower means "your feet in dirty water" because of blocked sink!Whole week no one cleaned our dirty cups. Towels looks like from last centure, used after many years. Sometimes with big dirty spots, sometimes like on my photo...Dirty spiders and spider web no one cleaned whole stay. Rusted radiator made me crazy as old painting fall down and cutted my skin on the feet!(I did not use slippers as it is bathroom) DEFINITELY NOT 5 STAR HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, Guest Relations Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Mrs. Stephanie,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at our Thermia Palace Hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.

Your opinion is very important to us and your comments will help us to improve our service.
We assure you that your suggestions were promptly considered and action was already taken.

Your evaluation of our facilities and service provided us with the opportunity to work towards meeting all of your expectation on your future visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Health Spa Piestany soon and will do our utmost to ensure you have an enjoyable stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we may be of further assistance.



With kind regards from Piestany
Yours faithfully

Eva Potočková
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 181 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for several short stays in this hotel,loved it and loved this small city/ town. although the hotel is old yet it is very comfortable ,relaxing with happy spirit, rooms are nice and clean with small balcony to the river or garden .toiletries are excellent and sufficient, free large bottle of water is provided daily. The full board grantee 3 good meals at the restaurant with live music in the evening , diversified menu and excellent service .the best part is the spa and it's treatments, one of the best I've been to in that region although a bit crowded in the holidays.great staff and very helpful mostly.will go back for sure.

Room Tip: Both garden view or river view rooms are equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anisah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Mrs Anisah,

Thank you very much for visiting Health Spa Piešťany and for your kind comment.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Health Spa Piestany soon and promise that we will do our utmost to ensure you have an enjoyable stay with us.


With kind regards from Piestany
Josef Provazek
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited this historical secession hotel one-two decades ago, before his renovation. Now, most of its changes we found successful and beneficiary to the guests comfort. A staff is extraordinary and you can feel yourself in the centre of their interest. Food was of good European standard, with a touch of Arabic taste. What we were little bit surprised about was the varying quality of morning and evening buffets connected obviously with the chef on duty. You should not even use the nearby spa healing facility because the hotel has something very special: open air pool (we can remember its enjoyable performance even during New Eve wintertime) with hot thermal water. (By the way, the hotel was built just on the top of aggressive natural springs what would be still an engineering challenge). We believe it is the place worth of visit for a really good recovery of body and soul.

Room Tip: Guess the room towards garden and pool (with a distance road with no haev traffic) or those to front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear friends,

Thank you very much for visiting Health Spa Piešťany and for sharing your experiences with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Health Spa Piestany soon and promise that we will do our utmost to ensure you have an enjoyable stay with us.


With kind regards from Piestany

Josef Provázek
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My daughter and I experienced a lovely stay at the Thermia Palace over Easter-time. We enjoyed the experience immensely. The hotel and spa are sparkling and classy. The work done to restore the hotel to its former Art Nouveau status is superb.

Staff members are friendly, and the public spaces are grand, including the Grand Restaurant and the Joker Bar. The gardens on the spa island are good for walking, or simply sitting under a tree and reading a good book.

Treatments are very good. The mandatory visit to the “doctor” (pre-treatment) is a bit suspect. It seems that the importance is not placed on the guest, but rather the discussion is about any contraindications which preclude you from taking any treatments. There were also serious language translation issues which made the doctor’s visit all a bit of a farce.

Be sure to book early for treatments, as if the hotel is busy there can be issues with your timing preferences. We felt a need to be quite “firm” with staff to ensure that we got the timings that suited us.

All in all I recommend this spa hotel for a taste of the grandeur of days past.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTrekker74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for visiting Health Spa Piešťany and for your positive review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel Thermia Palace.
With kind regards from Piestany
Josef Provázek, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Have been there for 2 days for relaxing, the hotel itself, the rooms, the restaurant, bar really nice and new renovated.
But the spa, different story. 1. After check in. Asked at spa reception for some treatent, but unfortunately ( massage, face, pedicure) all have been fully booked during our 2 days. Even as the hotel did not really look like fully booked. So the was the thermal pool only to enjoy, but this is in contrary to the other facilities rather antique. Its a round pool with hot thermal water and thats it. No water massage or so.
All in all somehow dissapionting.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank moarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Mr Moarti,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at our Thermia Palace Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your opinion is very important to us and your comments will help us to improve our service. Your evaluation of our facilities and service provided us with the opportunity to work towards meeting all of your expectation on your future visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Health Spa Piestany soon and will do our utmost to ensure you have an enjoyable stay with us.
With kind regards
Josef Provázek
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed in this resort for 13 nights in March 2013. It was really great place to enjoy the different therapy courses which relax your mind and body. Great staff with nice smiles always. Only thing did not seem comfortable is the seating system in the hotel resturant, eventhough there was so many empty tables they seat me with other person (sharing the table) when I inform the waiteress she did not cooperate from the first and she was trying to convince me to share the table. I did sit the first day, then the next day I complained again and gave me different table.

Room Tip: Good rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mondani78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Mr. Mondani,

Thank you very much for visiting Health Spa Piešťany and for sharing your experiences with us.
Your opinion is very important to us and your comments will help us further improve our service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Health Spa Piestany soon and promise that we will do our utmost to ensure you have an enjoyable stay with us.


With kind regards from Piestany
Josef Provázek
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

After a stressful few weeks at work I decided it was time to revisit this marvellous hotel and spa.

Just walking in though the front door to a warm welcome started to relax me at once, and after seeing the lovely lady doctor,and having had the first warm thermal bath, the tiredness started
to disappear.

The lovely staff, the beautiful hotel, and the wonderful treatments make this a favourite treat of mine and I recommend most highly.

Room Tip: Ive been four times and always had a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosslyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaPiestany, Manager at Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Mrs. Rosslyn,
Thank you very much for visiting our hotel and for your positive review.
We look forward to welcoming you back in Thermia Palace.
With kind regards from Piestany,
Josef Provázek- Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piestany hotels
0.4 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Esplanade
1.1 mi away
Hotel Maj Spa & Wellness
Hotel Maj Spa & Wellness
#7 of 22 in Piestany
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#19 of 22 in Piestany
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Boutique Hotel Sergijo,luxury boutique hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel LOWE
Hotel LOWE
#5 of 22 in Piestany
4 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spa Hotel Pro Patria
Spa Hotel Pro Patria
#18 of 22 in Piestany
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace

Address: Spa Island, Piestany 921 29, Slovakia (Formerly Thermia Palace Hotel Piestany)
Location: Slovakia > Trnava Region > Piestany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Piestany
#1 Luxury Hotel in Piestany
Price Range: $223 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Beautifully renovated Art-Nouveau gem built in 1912 and nesting in the picturesque environment of Spa Island.•Located on the site of thermal springs and healing mud, directly connected to Irma Health Spa.•Immerse yourself in the unique mud and mirror pool in our luxurious spa premises•All you need to keep fit on Spa Island: golf course, tennis, jogging paths. Water sports, fishing, cycling, squash and bowling in Piestany.•Treat yourself to a little time off in our Spa park, enjoy listening to birdsong under old trees, the tranquility of the thermal pools or the enclosure with peacocks and rare pheasants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Health Spa Resort Thermia Palace Hotel Piestany
Thermia Palace Piestany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing