We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penzion Drak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penzion Drak
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed there few times. This hotel is very good situated. Not far from highway D1 and not far from Jasna ski resort. There is very beautiful nature around. I think that this hotel is the best in that region. Very clean, good equiped and cosy. Personnel is very frendly and helpful. Restaurant is really good. Very, very tasty and original food. Especially I recommend dumplings with sheep cheese and salad with chiken. When I drive through that region I try to stay there for lunch or dinner. Definitely great ratio value/price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wow! We used the restaurant only. We had a three course meal and truly loved the food. The soups were amazing, so tasty. The main menu had a great mix of local cuisine but also some international tastes. A good atmosphere that caters for everyone. Coming from the UK and spending less than £20 each for three superb courses and a couple of drinks made it even better. Amazing value for the quality and taste!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie_JLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siladice
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We used restaurant only: definetly one of the best in Nizke Tatry. Excellent local soups. Super service-white gloves used by personnell as highlight. Place with really family atmosphere. Menu mixing local specialities&international cousine. Chef is not afraid of inovations, and doing this on very high level. Location on the road to Demenovska dolina from L. Mikulas-easy to find, easy to park. In total: great ratio value/price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BranoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here in the February half term with my partner. This trip was a learning curve for both of us regarding skiing in Slovakia. The staff make the place feel so special. You enjoy the drive by the mini bus driver every morning to the slopes. It is like being in Narnia. The food is made with care and is very comforting after skiing on the slopes. The Penzion has a little bar and a warm fire in the evening makes it feel very relaxing. The only thing thing we found uncomfortable was the beds, has they were too hard. Which was a shame regarding the overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyeireEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here over new years for a ski holiday, together with our son and 3 other families friends of ours. We recommend Penzion Drak very warmly.

The Penzion:
The little Penzion (about 14 rooms) is run by the owner and his wife. They are very friendly and their level of hospitality beats any 4-star hotel you might be able to stay at in the area. The Penzion includes a restaurant, which is open to the public and decorated very nicely. There is a small open fireplace, which makes you feel cosy. Further, there is a small wellness area with sauna and whirlpool. In addition, there is a very large playroom for children, furnished with an X-box, a pool table and a lot of toys for all ages. There also is a ski room to keep your ski boots warm during the night. The Penzion is conveniently located about 8km from Jasna, the main ski resort. The Penzion also has a Ski Van, which makes 2-3 runs to the ski area per day, or you can book it at your convenience.

Rooms:
Rooms are good size to fit 2 adults and a child. They are clean and have simple, but modern furnishing. Beds are comfortable. The only critique I would give is that rooms are not cleaned during your stay, unless you request it.

Food:
The highlight of the Penzion is the food: the menu features a good variation of local and international dishes and it is excellent value for money. The young slovak Chef really surprised us with his creativity and great tastes he produced. Upon request, the owner will buy trouts at the nearby fish farm and have them prepared freshly. You can also arrange a 4-course dinner for your party or group. The staff is very nice, although not all speak English. Also, there is a very nice selection of wines at great value to chose from. Overall, the food was way above what we would ever have expected. At breakfast, there is a small buffet, with some warm and cold dishes, and some fruits - enough variation to satisfy different tastes. The only critique here would be that the coffee is soluble at breakfast, but you can order Espresso etc. at the bar in the morning.

Wellness:
Small, equipped with a dry sauna, a wet sauna and a whirlpool. You can reserve the area for your family / group to have privacy. If you want, the hotel arranges a masseur - massages are great value!

Ski resort:
The resort is the largest in Slovakia, but would not reach what you may be used to in Austria or France. There are a couple of "red" runs and 2 "blacks" so when you are a good skier you will quickly get bored. Also, prices are the same as in Austria, i.e. too expensive for what the resort features. However, lifts are brandnew, and new ones are being built for next winter. There is a ski school and you can conveniently rent your equipment in several shops. Prices here are also quite elevated.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoboBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pezinok, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

We wanted to go on a trip to Liptov area,Jjust to see the countryside. We had no preference for hotel or so. I have been using tripadvisor quite often for abroad travels so I had to have a look. There was a review which was very good, so I decided to stay there, in Penzion Drak - bed and beakfast Dragon
I want to say, breakfast was much better than expected in this categor. The only thing to improve was just coffee, which was normal (let us call it hotel standard coffee).
The menu was perfectly OK - good meals to chose, not many, just fine.
There was a room just dedicated to children - with toys, etc.
When I say good, I mean really good meals. (I travelled a lot in whole Europe, so I am able to judge - I can say, this is really a good one. They were able to serve local Slovak lamb specialities during Easter, it was just perfect and cost less than 10 eur, with served red wine it was just great.
We and our in-laws were perfectly treated and everything was just as it should be.
So I can recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone searching for accomodation in Liptov area.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank doktorko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed here during February half term 2010. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel and ski area for anybody wanting a cheap short skiing break - we went at half term when the prices in the Alps were astronomical. Not the case here.

The hotel is located a few miles from Jasna ski area, Slovakia's largest, however the hotel lays on a free minibus service to and from the slopes so although it most definitely isn't "ski-in-ski-out", it's perfectly convenient. This also means it is only 10 minutes or so drive from the centre of Liptovksy Mikulas, the closest town, with shops, restaurants and a well-served station on the main railway line to the capital, Bratislava.

The hotel is relatively small with only 14 or so rooms, is very modern and spotless. The rooms are huge, with most having a balcony although ours only looked on to nearby houses rather than a view of the mountains.

The hotel is family owned with a husband and wife team taking the lead. All staff are very friendly, helpful and most have reasonable English - get talking to the owner, Martin, about his passion, Ice Hockey!

We had just booked a room, not a half board package but ended up choosing to eat there for the 4 nights we were there as the food was excellent and cheap, with a lot of choice. As the hotel is in a village, there doesn't appear to be many alternatives within walking distance (although we didn't investigate). None of the evening meals came to more than €40 which included 3 courses and wine and beer for 2. A glass of house red or white wine could be purchased for the princely sum of €0.90!

The total bill for 4 nights accommodation, 4 nights evening meals and drinks for two as well as two 3-day Jasna ski passes came to €490, quite frankly a bargain, especially when compared to the Alps.

There is a "wellness" facility at the hotel including sauna, jacuzzi and steam room but no pool and this costs extra - €10 a day, I believe but we didn't end up using it.

However if you are competent intermediate skiers used to the huge ski areas of France or Austria, you probably wouldn't want more than 3 or 4 days skiing at Jasna. Whilst there are potentially 45km of runs, I was not able to access at least 15km due to the tow lift at the top that links the two sides of the mountain not operating due to high winds for all of the 3 days I was on the slopes. The lifts are modern (including a brand new gondola) but some chairlifts were also closed due to the winds for at least a day in total out of the 3 which increases the size of the queues on the lower lifts a lot. I understand that the snow cover is usually excellent, as it was when we were there, but the winds are the problem in terms of not always being able to access all the terrain.

Despite this and being Polish and Slovakian school holidays when we were there, the slopes never felt unpleasantly crowded and are almost all broad and tree-lined.

Food on the slopes was plentiful and cheap but sometimes a bit bizarre - ketchup covered battered bread for instance!

I can recommend Crystal Ski for both good value ski/boot rental and private lessons.

The transfer to Jasna was brilliantly short if you got a flight to Poprad-Tatry, just 45 minutes. Unfortunately I believe the airline providing these flights has recently cancelled them, so the only realistic alternatives are from Krakow in Poland or the Slovakian capital, Bratislava (both around 3 hours by car). We chose to go from Bratislava as we combined our skiing trip with a trip to Vienna (only 1 hour by train from Bratislava).

We took a train from Bratislava to Liptovksy Mikulas which took 3 hours and worked brilliantly, and again was very cheap (€35 each 1st class return). I would recommend getting the quicker IC trains,as we did, as they have more modern and comfortable rolling stock and only stop 2 or 3 times before Liptovsky Mikulas. There is even a restaurant car on board with lamps on tables and waiter service.

The trip is very beautiful as it winds its way through valleys next to rivers and lakes with mountains all around, and on our trip the landscape was snowbound for the whole journey.

Overall then I would highly recommend Penzion Drak and Jasna for a very cheap short skiing break but not necessarily for a whole week for experienced skiers used to Alpine ski areas.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liptovsky Mikulas
2.0 mi away
Wellness Hotel Chopok
Wellness Hotel Chopok
#1 of 6 in Liptovsky Mikulas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Village Tatralandia
Holiday Village Tatralandia
#3 of 6 in Liptovsky Mikulas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Janosik
Hotel Janosik
#2 of 6 in Liptovsky Mikulas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tri Studnicky
Hotel Tri Studnicky
#4 of 13 in Demanovska Dolina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#2 of 13 in Demanovska Dolina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bystrina
Hotel Bystrina
#6 of 13 in Demanovska Dolina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Drak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Drak

Property: Penzion Drak
Address: Demanova 478, Liptovsky Mikulas 031 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Liptovsky Mikulas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Liptovsky Mikulas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Drak 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Penzion Drak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing