We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wishing we could go back every year!”
Review of Chalet Slovakia

Chalet Slovakia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Slovakia
Bracebridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wishing we could go back every year!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My Dad visiting from Canada found it online and I was so thankful he did!
What an amazing place: Dan and Clare were so accommodating and helpful and made us feel right at home in their home (despite staying across the street in an overflow apartment).
Fresh eggs from the chickens for breakfast! Clare's cakes after skiing were DELICIOUS!
Clean, comfortable and cozy common room.
Plus the larger group staying there at the same time was so friendly we felt part like part of a big family- so much fun!
Hoping to plan one more visit in the summer before heading back to Canada!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynleeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Dan and Claire are very open people, they make you feel at home the minute you walk in.
If you dont fancy a night out, they have plenty of things to keep you entertained indoors, they even cooked us a mexican meal one night.
The rooms are spacious and very very clean.
The chalet is very close to the train station and the mountain, even the local amenities. There's so much to do in liptovsky mikulas like watch ice hockey, go karting and an indoor natural springs water park.
When you come back from the mountain, Claire always had a mouth watering cake ready for you.
They are both excellent snowboarders, Dan even takes you to all of his hidden off piste areas.
After this trip i have decided i never want to stay in a hotel again! I will definately return to Chalet Slovakia, and i think i will in the summer too.

Ryan

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iridegoofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Recently returned from a great snowboarding holiday in jasna. Dan and Claire are the perfect hosts going above and beyond what was expected. Great days boarding with Dan and phil as guides and both were happy to show us some great local bars and restaurants. Will be planning to stay here again next year if not over the summer. Very highly recommended! Cheers guys.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed with Dan and Clare for almost 2 weeks as part of a family break in July/August. As a location for a family holiday we couldn't hope for more. There is a wealth of things to do in the area. We rafted, hiked, mountain biked and had the best family holiday we've ever had. We were a bit dubious about the unknown elements of Slovakia but were so happy to find a family friendly, welcoming (and cheap!) environment to spend our summer holiday. Dan and Clare as hosts are fantastic. They have a great knowledge of the area and are happy to help with planning and organising activities. I don't know what we would have done without them. We arrived to a warm welcome and felt that nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We were all sad to leave and wished we were staying for longer. All the rooms are large and clean and there was plenty to keep us all occupied when we were too tired to go out! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan_Kujawski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have just come back from a week skiing in Jasna, staying at Dan and Clare's Chalet Slovakia. We had a great week thanks to the location, the chalet and mostly the hospitality of Dan and Clare. If you've never skied in Jasna I recommend you try it and definitely, if you can, stay at the Chalet Slovakia. Great food in the town and on the slopes and unbelievably cheap.
I can only agree with all the good things said in the other reviews.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2011RuthL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Just returned from the perfect ski holiday. I organised a trip for myself and 7 colleagues to Dan & Claire's Chalet Slovakia. Throughout the whole planning of the trip dan and Claire were nothing but the perfect hosts.All info sent through made the trip so easy organising before during and on the way back.. Their home is the perfect location, the ski resort of JasnA suits all skills with many great blue, red and blacks...transfers to the slopes in dans mini bus every day. Then back home at the end for Claires cake!!! Great food in the local pubs and cafes all very much affordable. Beer 1,30 euro..Ski hire 17euro a day ski pass 30euro per day but worth every penny!!.Booking 2013 already...cheers Dan and Claire keep up the great work ps steve misses you already dan!!!! Daz

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Economy-tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York / London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Absolutely fantastic Christmas holiday for my boyfriend and I's first Christmas together. Dan and Clare's extensive experience in snowsport hospitality was obvious, they truely we're the perfect hosts and we couldn't have asked more of them. We're extremely jealous of their gorgeous house and facilities!! Clare's baking and swan-cooking combined with Dan's snowboarding and local knowledge combine for a perfect holiday in a much underused (well, until about the 27th December anyway!) resort. Location is perfect, two mins walk from the town centre which has a sizeable variety of reasonable shops, cafes, bars and restaurants, and only a 10-15min car ride from the slopes, which Dan serviced every day. These guys have really got it down to a tee and deserve every bit of success.

Thanks for sharing your Christmas with us guys :)

Room Tip: Ask to stay downstairs or next door if you're not child-friendly or would perfer a bit more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imogenbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liptovsky Mikulas
5.0 mi away
Wellness Hotel Chopok
Wellness Hotel Chopok
#2 of 14 in Demanovska Dolina
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Janosik
Hotel Janosik
#1 of 5 in Liptovsky Mikulas
81 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Village Tatralandia
Holiday Village Tatralandia
#2 of 5 in Liptovsky Mikulas
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Sojka resort
Sojka resort
#1 of 1 in Malatiny
168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Klar
Hotel Klar
#3 of 5 in Liptovsky Mikulas
30 reviews
2.7 mi away
Penzion Drak
Penzion Drak
#1 of 51 in Liptovsky Mikulas
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Slovakia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Slovakia

Property: Chalet Slovakia
Address: Sholtesovej 7, Liptovsky Mikulas 031 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Liptovsky Mikulas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Liptovsky Mikulas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Slovakia is an excellent destination for winter skiing and snowboarding and summer activities. We are located in the tourist town of Liptovsky Mikulas close to Jasna ski resort and Tatralandia hot springs. Summertime offers plentiful walking and biking trails, show caves, lake activities, rafting, trips and much more. Chalet Slovakia is located within 5 minutes walking distance of many in expensive restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chalet Slovakia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing