We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chalet Slovakia”
Review of Chalet Slovakia

Chalet Slovakia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Slovakia
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chalet Slovakia”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have just come back from a week skiing in Jasna, staying at Dan and Clare's Chalet Slovakia. We had a great week thanks to the location, the chalet and mostly the hospitality of Dan and Clare. If you've never skied in Jasna I recommend you try it and definitely, if you can, stay at the Chalet Slovakia. Great food in the town and on the slopes and unbelievably cheap.
I can only agree with all the good things said in the other reviews.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2011RuthL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Just returned from the perfect ski holiday. I organised a trip for myself and 7 colleagues to Dan & Claire's Chalet Slovakia. Throughout the whole planning of the trip dan and Claire were nothing but the perfect hosts.All info sent through made the trip so easy organising before during and on the way back.. Their home is the perfect location, the ski resort of JasnA suits all skills with many great blue, red and blacks...transfers to the slopes in dans mini bus every day. Then back home at the end for Claires cake!!! Great food in the local pubs and cafes all very much affordable. Beer 1,30 euro..Ski hire 17euro a day ski pass 30euro per day but worth every penny!!.Booking 2013 already...cheers Dan and Claire keep up the great work ps steve misses you already dan!!!! Daz

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Economy-tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York / London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Absolutely fantastic Christmas holiday for my boyfriend and I's first Christmas together. Dan and Clare's extensive experience in snowsport hospitality was obvious, they truely we're the perfect hosts and we couldn't have asked more of them. We're extremely jealous of their gorgeous house and facilities!! Clare's baking and swan-cooking combined with Dan's snowboarding and local knowledge combine for a perfect holiday in a much underused (well, until about the 27th December anyway!) resort. Location is perfect, two mins walk from the town centre which has a sizeable variety of reasonable shops, cafes, bars and restaurants, and only a 10-15min car ride from the slopes, which Dan serviced every day. These guys have really got it down to a tee and deserve every bit of success.

Thanks for sharing your Christmas with us guys :)

Room Tip: Ask to stay downstairs or next door if you're not child-friendly or would perfer a bit more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imogenbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed here a couple of years ago for a mountaing biking holiday, and to scope out it's potential for some snowboarding. 100% recommend this to anyone, who likes the outdoor kind of life, this place as everything!

Dan and Clare are the perfect hosts, the most friendliest people I've ever had the pleasure to meet. It was like going to see some old friends and staying at their house! The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Clares cakes are to die for! Dan who basically acted as our guide whilst we explored the most beautiful and spectacular surrounding landscape. There's a man with pure dedication!

The chalet is situated in a very quiet suberb of Liptrovsky Mikulas, and a 10 minute walk into the main town/village. It's safe to walk around here, and the people are very friendly!

Things to do! bloom heck, this place is full of little hamlets to explore, a massive lake, water sports, mountain biking, skiing/snowboarding, caves, hot and cold springs, walking.... and well, just about anything.

We found the roads perticularly quiet, which was nice for biking on.

Slovakia, has to be one of the best places i've visited, you could not wish for a more friendly people, with a relaxed lifestyle as they have.

I've promised to go back to Chalet Slovakia on a few occasions, but never quite managed it due to other commitments. However, I WILL be going back.

Thanks for a brilliant time!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blox_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2011

From the minute clare picked us up, we were welcomed with open arms and made to feel so welcome. We were given sound advise for places to drink and eat and even taken out for a typical Slovakian sports night at the Ice hockey. Dan's snowboard tutoring was second to none enabling us to be one the slopes in an hour. Bed's were comfy and the whole place was very spacious with an excellent DVD collection if you want to chill. We will definitely not think twice about coming back! p.s. make sure Dan makes you eggy bread...unbelievable!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend and Dan and Claire (and the kids) really went out of their way to help in any way possible. Nothing is too much trouble, from hiring and setting up snowboard equipment, advice on the snow slopes, travel to suite your personal requirements, through to getting some Scottish footy on the telly while we enjoyed afternoon coffee and cakes.
The Chalet is about a 20 minute ride to the slopes and ideally situated in the town about a 5 minute walk from pubs and restaurants. Bedrooms are basic, but there is a good lage communal living room with wood burning stove which adds a nice authentic touch.
Dan has intimate knowledge of the entire ski resort and provides good advice to beginner boarders like myself as well as recommending good cheap restaurants.

The resort itself is cheap compared to other euro equivalents with a beer costing between 1-1.5 euros on the slopes to 1 euro in the town pubs.
Would I recommend this place - you bet I would, the best recommendation I can give a place is to say that I'd return and I'd most certainly return here for another boarding holiday (and maybe even a summer activity holiday this time bringing the kids).

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We visted Chalet Slovakia last month for a group snowboarding trip. At first we were slightly concerned about the distance to the mountain - however when we got there realised this wasn't a problem at all ,and in fact worked out better as we were very close to town. Dan & Clare went the extra mile with everything to make our holiday (and my birthday) feel very special. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and we really felt at home in the accomodation. The open fire and tea and cakes were a nice touch after a hard days boarding and Dan's expertise and advise on and off the slopes was invaluable. In the end we were very sad to leave our new friends. Highly reccomended and will definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazboLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liptovsky Mikulas
5.0 mi away
Wellness Hotel Chopok
Wellness Hotel Chopok
#2 of 14 in Demanovska Dolina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Janosik
Hotel Janosik
#1 of 5 in Liptovsky Mikulas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Village Tatralandia
Holiday Village Tatralandia
#2 of 5 in Liptovsky Mikulas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Penzion Drak
Penzion Drak
#1 of 51 in Liptovsky Mikulas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilson Jasna Apartments
Hilson Jasna Apartments
#2 of 46 in Liptovsky Mikulas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Penzion Maria
Penzion Maria
#3 of 51 in Liptovsky Mikulas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Slovakia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Slovakia

Property: Chalet Slovakia
Address: Sholtesovej 7, Liptovsky Mikulas 031 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Zilina Region > Liptovsky Mikulas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Liptovsky Mikulas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Slovakia is an excellent destination for winter skiing and snowboarding and summer activities. We are located in the tourist town of Liptovsky Mikulas close to Jasna ski resort and Tatralandia hot springs. Summertime offers plentiful walking and biking trails, show caves, lake activities, rafting, trips and much more. Chalet Slovakia is located within 5 minutes walking distance of many in expensive restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chalet Slovakia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing