We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Tree Hilton Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Kosice
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Kosice
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Double Tree Hilton Experience”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was the best Hilton Hotel experience we had. The rooms and bathrroms were very clean, Staf were welcoming from the checkm in during our stay and at check out. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel. George

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for staying with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Kosice. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our front desk staff was helpful! I’ll be sure to share your comments with them and with our housekeeping team too. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    165
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
39
71
28
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wald, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great Location for Leisure- and Business Tripps to Kosice, as the City is the Culture Capital of Europe together with Marseille. From a European Point of view Hotel Pricing is very good value for your money, for Kosice of course the more expensive Variant to stay over night. Very friendly and helpful Personal. Customer orientation and friendliness is just "normal", nothing seams artificial in the way the Staff performs. Great rooms with a beautiful bathroom!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to send us the great review. We hope to see you again soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Kosice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, just steps from the pedestrian promenade at the the center of town. The front desk staff and bell men were very friendly. It was nice that even in Slovakia Doubletree gives you a warm cookie upon check-in. The hotel was not very busy and we must have chatted with the front desk people for at 20 minutes about life in Kosice and Slovakia in general. The room and bathroom are small but modern and very clean. It felt very new and fresh.
The only reason I don't rate it an Excellent is because the breakfast was not very good. The hot food were prepared beforehand and looked greasy and unappetizing. Skip the breakfast and walk down the street to several places that probably have better food for less money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for staying here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Kosice. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in).
We’re very sorry that you were disappointed with your breakfast, and we’ve shared your comment with our team. We’re improving our menu with your recommendations in mind.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

in the middle of nowhere, in the east of slovakia, there's a gem to be found: the old town of kosice. and right on the southern end of the old town center, there's this doubletree.

from outside it looks less than promising, a huge 70ies glass tower. inside, however, a lot of renovation work was done recently, and it went well.

posh but not pretentious, a large lobby sports a big bar area with lotsa comfy seating. the rooms are sowewhat small, but with excellent beds and a lovely bathroom. mine was lacking a tub, there might be larger rooms. good subtle color tones, well kept and clean, functional and fully equipped, from water cooker to ironing board and hair dryer. it takes a bit of a learning curve to master the lighting switches, very modern all. keys are RFID cards.

it's not budget, but the way to go for a business trip, especially when you want to be close to the old town center, which you definitely do, even if you don't know yet.

unfortunately, the breakfast is a bit of a downer. few choices, and not the most healthy ones, and a slightly rude staff didn't really provide a good start, unilke the rest of the food places i've been to in the city, where everybody is amazingly welcoming and helpful. it's a shame, they seem to try really hard with how they set the table, white gloves and all, but the service is a bit inattentive.

i didn't see the supposedly large spa and pool area, but fellow travellers liked it.

all in all, possibly the top address in kosice, and you are right at the heart of the town. it's all about location, after all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaseinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Kosice. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels.
Thank you for your feedback – we’re sorry your breakfast didn’t live up to your expectations. We appreciate your suggestions and will share them with our chefs, kitchen staff and servers. We’re sorry that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and we’ve shared your comments with our team so we can do a better job of breakfast service. The next time you travel to Kosice, we hope that you’ll be our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was for a business trip in Kosice, east Slovakia...
My business partner advised me to use an unknown hotel...but used to chains as I am, I booked Hilton Kosice.
Pfff...what a disappointment ! Cold people, no atmosphere, so - so room, allthough de luxe appartment was promised.
A friend of mine booked through IATA - rabat....but even that did not work !
Room was correct, but basic...breakfast was poor/average.... and that for a Hilton !
Mainly, the unfriendly/ not friendly people makes you feel not very welcome !
Don't ever accept de luxe business package anymore....you don't know what you get !
Euro 240 / night was extreme, because in downtown Kosice itself you have many hotels (smaller) where you can have fantastic rooms for Euro 100....

Room Tip: Ask before what kind of room you book...no "package"...because there is no package !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilbert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay at the hotel.
Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible. We’re sorry that the comfort of your stay was interrupted.
We would like to make sure if it was really DoubleTree by Hilton Kosice where you stayed in. You mention de luxe business package, but we don´t offer such package at DoubleTree by Hilton Kosice and the price 240 / night is not the price of room in our hotel.
We hope that you’ll you’ll stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Kosice and we’ll take good care of you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at the DoubleTree a couple of times whilst working in the region. On both occasions the greeting and check-in was friendly and smooth.

The corner rooms on the upper floors were excellent. They are well appointed and have a great view of the city.

The free wifi offered good speeds for the watching of live streaming sports.

The location is ideal, on one-side is the shopping center and on the other is the beginning of the pedestrianised part of the old town centre.

The breakfast buffet is fine, but the hot dishes are nothing to write home about.

There is a small gym which covers your basic fitness needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. I’m happy to hear our front desk agents made your stay more comfortable. I’ll pass it on. Thanks for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Doubletree Kosice, for a eastern european hotel in a small city like Kosice the Doubletree is excellent. Well located for the main shopping area and city centre, restuarants etc etc. Has a reasonable restuarant, not fantastic though, good bar area and seating, and a nice gym and sauna in the basement, hotel has what you'd expect from Hilton. Rooms around 100 euros, hotel taxi's around 5 euros to most locations.
Arrived via the schuttle from Budapest, was 39 euros and runs twice a day, takes about 2.5 hours. Recommended, good value for money, you wont get any better in Kosice really.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyN_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to send us the great review. We hope to see you again soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Kosice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kosice hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
#2 of 22 in Kosice
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#3 of 22 in Kosice
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Residence Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eco friendly Hotel Dalia
0.5 mi away
Golden Royal Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
#9 of 22 in Kosice
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Kosice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Kosice

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Kosice
Address: Hlavna 1, Kosice 040 01, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Slovan)
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Kosice Region > Kosice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kosice
#1 Spa Hotel in Kosice
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kosice
#1 Business Hotel in Kosice
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kosice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Kosice 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kosice, centrally located on Hlavná ulica in the midst of Košice’s historic city center. Slovakia’s second largest city is a business, cultural, and industrial hub. Host briefings and gatherings in our seven meeting rooms. Our business center features complimentary high-speed internet access, copiers, and business support services. If you’re traveling on business or touring Slovakia’s sights, enjoy our hospitality, from our signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in to inside info on the best of Košice from our friendly concierge team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Kosice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Kosice Hotel Kosice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing