We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For that price...disappointing !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Kosice
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Kosice
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For that price...disappointing !”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was for a business trip in Kosice, east Slovakia...
My business partner advised me to use an unknown hotel...but used to chains as I am, I booked Hilton Kosice.
Pfff...what a disappointment ! Cold people, no atmosphere, so - so room, allthough de luxe appartment was promised.
A friend of mine booked through IATA - rabat....but even that did not work !
Room was correct, but basic...breakfast was poor/average.... and that for a Hilton !
Mainly, the unfriendly/ not friendly people makes you feel not very welcome !
Don't ever accept de luxe business package anymore....you don't know what you get !
Euro 240 / night was extreme, because in downtown Kosice itself you have many hotels (smaller) where you can have fantastic rooms for Euro 100....

Room Tip: Ask before what kind of room you book...no "package"...because there is no package !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilbert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay at the hotel.
Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible. We’re sorry that the comfort of your stay was interrupted.
We would like to make sure if it was really DoubleTree by Hilton Kosice where you stayed in. You mention de luxe business package, but we don´t offer such package at DoubleTree by Hilton Kosice and the price 240 / night is not the price of room in our hotel.
We hope that you’ll you’ll stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Kosice and we’ll take good care of you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    158
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
66
26
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
193 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at the DoubleTree a couple of times whilst working in the region. On both occasions the greeting and check-in was friendly and smooth.

The corner rooms on the upper floors were excellent. They are well appointed and have a great view of the city.

The free wifi offered good speeds for the watching of live streaming sports.

The location is ideal, on one-side is the shopping center and on the other is the beginning of the pedestrianised part of the old town centre.

The breakfast buffet is fine, but the hot dishes are nothing to write home about.

There is a small gym which covers your basic fitness needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. I’m happy to hear our front desk agents made your stay more comfortable. I’ll pass it on. Thanks for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Doubletree Kosice, for a eastern european hotel in a small city like Kosice the Doubletree is excellent. Well located for the main shopping area and city centre, restuarants etc etc. Has a reasonable restuarant, not fantastic though, good bar area and seating, and a nice gym and sauna in the basement, hotel has what you'd expect from Hilton. Rooms around 100 euros, hotel taxi's around 5 euros to most locations.
Arrived via the schuttle from Budapest, was 39 euros and runs twice a day, takes about 2.5 hours. Recommended, good value for money, you wont get any better in Kosice really.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyN_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to send us the great review. We hope to see you again soon at the DoubleTree by Hilton Kosice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice in December 2012.

On both occasions we experienced amazing views of the city centre and very comfortable rooms. Shame about the attitude of some staff.

Breakfast was average and the quality of sausages really poor.

You will be rudely approached by a security guard if you'll try to take photo in the lobby or reception area, even if no one else but you and your family are around.

Concierge service was poor. When my father in law asked for help on where to buy flowers he was literally pointed in the direction outside across the road. (in a hotel of their supposed standard you would at least expect to be offered a map, or for them to find the name of a place, at the very least).

On our first visit, after check in we were only given one card key so when I returned back to hotel after parking car hour later (without key because my fiance had it) I was asked by receptionist if I paid for the stay of if my partner paid for it. I found that quite rude.

We had few G&T's ordered to our room, but empty glasses stayed with us until we've checked out, so not a great cleaning service either.

If you are a business man and going to Kosice for few days, this pace will give you comfy bed but don't expect them to help you around.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana_svk_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry the food quality didn’t meet your expectations. At DoubleTree by HiltonTM, we want to serve fresh, tasty dishes with the caring touches of home. We work continually to improve our menu offerings, and your comments will help us improve.

We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our DoubleTree by HiltonTM guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in Kosice, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A friend from Kosice had warned me not to expect much, but this was one of the nicest DoubleTree hotels I've seen anywhere. It was clean and new, without outstanding service. I particularly recommend the restaurant in the hotel.

Room Tip: In some rooms, even the bathroom has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Carling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Whenever you’re in Kosice, stop by the DoubleTree by
Hilton. We’ll take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A standard Double Tree by Hilton experience, decent quality, reasonable room prices. Restaurant offers good quality meals at adequate prices. No issues with either accommodation or restaurants/bars. Very good conference services. Friendly and helpful staff. Problem with TV in the room solved within a matter of minutes. Overall impression very good. Slightly understocked minibar in the room, e.g. no wine, only one bottle of beer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for staying here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Kosice. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in).
We’re very sorry about the minibar. I will pass it to my colleagues and we will fix it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amiens, France
Level Contributor
215 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

More than 5 times stays at Hilton Kosice.
Good overall level and well placed hotel in the city.
Adapted services with avalaible reception and bar/snack service
Good Breakfast choice
Rooms confortables, quite and well equiped
I recommand it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller8071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeKosice, Public Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Kosice, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Whenever you’re in Kosice, stop by the DoubleTree by Hilton. We’ll take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kosice hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
Hotel Yasmin Kosice
#2 of 22 in Kosice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#3 of 22 in Kosice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Residence Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
Hotel Zlaty Dukat
#9 of 22 in Kosice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eco friendly Hotel Dalia
0.5 mi away
Golden Royal Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Kosice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Kosice

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Kosice
Address: Hlavna 1, Kosice 040 01, Slovakia (Formerly Hotel Slovan)
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Kosice Region > Kosice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kosice
#1 Business Hotel in Kosice
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kosice
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kosice
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kosice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Kosice 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kosice, centrally located on Hlavná ulica in the midst of Košice’s historic city center. Slovakia’s second largest city is a business, cultural, and industrial hub. Host briefings and gatherings in our seven meeting rooms. Our business center features complimentary high-speed internet access, copiers, and business support services. If you’re traveling on business or touring Slovakia’s sights, enjoy our hospitality, from our signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in to inside info on the best of Košice from our friendly concierge team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Kosice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Kosice Hotel Kosice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing