We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for middle east? Burekas!”
Review of Burekas

Burekas
Ranked #39 of 308 Restaurants in Kosice
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 10, 2018

I´ve been to Israel and came across their cuisine. I fell inlove with their hummus of course and I have to say that Burekas is small Israel in Košice. Prices are really cheap, you can get tasty menu for less than 5€. From outside the restaurant doesnt look very attractive, but it has its own charm. I love the small backyard.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank devilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2018

First, exceptionally accommodating server, really nice all the time and went quite a bit to fulfill our various requests, with absolutely no fuss. Well done here.

The restaurant itself is a bit out of the way, but still easy walking distance from the main street. It's in the basement (that's a bit dark), but there is a sunny courtyard with additional tables, few of them inside kind of a large inflatable ball, might be interesting in rain or winter. The menu is centered around hummus, falafels, and shashliks, though there are quite a few various other items, including grilled chicked breasts and burgers.

We had falafels, hummus with eggplant, grilled haloumi, pita, salad, and a date sweet ball, and it was all pretty good. The spices are a bit toned down (perhaps in line with the local tastes), but fresh and fairly similar to what you would expect of these meals elsewhere around the world. There was WAY less oil in the eggplant than what I'm used to :). I would say the haloumi was the strongest part and the pita the weakest. Had two small local soft drinks with the meal that should have been carbonated but were not, this should be fixed. The bill for the light-ish late lunch came at 13.70 Eur.

Good for those who want fresh homemade meals of a not-that-common cuisine, not that good for those who want their middle eastern fares with a really strong taste (in that case, perhaps try asking for it).

We will definitely come again.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank s-d-d_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

This is a truly excellent place to eat in the city centre. The food is excellent and the atmosphere very warm and welcoming. A picturesque setting if you can eat in the patio of the theatre.

Very advisable for all kind of situations, from a casual or family lunch to a business meeting on a budget.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank victorsZ7771SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

This is Israel, super tasty humus, excellent falafel.
One of best restaurants with midle east food. Try it

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Róbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

Good food clean with good prices , we enjoy the meals and view , shlomi the cheff is very nice , we give him 10 stars

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank RamiP70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burekas also viewed

Kosice, Kosice Region
 
Kosice, Kosice Region
 
Kosice, Kosice Region
Kosice, Kosice Region
 

Been to Burekas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing