We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but not so cheap for Bratislava”
Review of Hostel Blues

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Blues
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap, but not so cheap for Bratislava”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The city of Bratislava is not much touristic, but it is very cheap. The location of the hostel is Quite close to the city center (15min), but when you compare to the size of the entire city, these 15min are not so close. Friendly staff, good tips to do in town, kitchen is a little small and room is not so good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    157
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
12
68
161
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great, helpful and friendly staff, always happy to explain everything and anything about Bratislava. (I also found Slovakians in general friendly and helpful during my stay in the city) And as it's 24 hours reception you can ask for help and advise at any time. I would stay there again if only for the lovely staff.
Rooms were clean and tidy when I arrived.
There's also a kitchen to cook a full meal if you wanted to.
They have a few 'chill out rooms' where I saw one or 2 travellers napping in (probably after checking out of a room).
The atmosphere in the bar was great! I liked that even after a long (very cold day of seeing Bratislava, I could come back to a warm and friendly hostel where I'd be happy to spend the entire evening meeting new people and chatting to bar/reception staff as well. The hostel definitely made my stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cakesandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is one of my favourite hostels. It has all the standard things a good hostel has but also that extra something.

Perhaps it's the very engaging and friendly staff (Helena is awesome!) or the city-themed rooms with wicked wall decorations. There's also a bar, good kitchen and a comfortable place to hang out and meet other travellers.

The location is very good too, just a short walk away from the centre. In fact, in the same block there is the funky cafe Ginger, a Subway, a bank machine and a cinema.

I'll definitely come back here next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlyovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed 2 nights and everything went very well. Hostel blues is very well located, at short walking distance to tesco supermarket and pubs and clubs in the city centre. Staff were very friendly and willing to help with info and advises. Nice common room with bar to chill out. Large kitchen was useful and always kept in order

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgeteurotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with a group of students and would definitely recommend it! We visited Bratislava on a particularly cold and rainy November weekend but the hostel was very warm and welcoming. The bar has a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere (we borrowed cards and board games to play over a few drinks) and the staff were all very friendly.
We were in an 8-person dorm in the Dublin suite which was clean, warm and very comfortable. For the low price we paid we definitely got our money's worth - lovely hot showers and a very good night's sleep all round. No cause for complaint!
Good location for exploring the city and a huge Tesco is just next door for self catering.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed in the female 4 bed dorm, it was clean and if you don't like stairs theres a lift, i would say the rooms are the only thing that could do with some TLC but the rest of the facilities make up for it. I also stayed in the mixed 6 bed dorm, not to much difference. The bat area has good live music and a nice vibe, there is plenty of room to eat or chill out, kitchen is great, all really clean, staff are happy and engaging, very helpful. I would go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We really enjoyed this hostel! I spent there one night in a private room 'Moscow' which was huge and very nice decorated. The price isn't low but also not too high, I would say. Once you enter the common area you feel the very special atmosphere of this place. The girls behind the desk are nice and helpful in planning your stay in Bratislava (which isn't that easy if you only have one night there). The location is also very good and I really recommend taking part in this free walking tour they recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xOlga_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,589 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Devin
#10 of 92 in Bratislava
575 reviews
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 92 in Bratislava
581 reviews
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 92 in Bratislava
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blues

Property: Hostel Blues
Address: Spitalska 2, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Blues 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostel Blues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing