We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's got that extra something”
Review of Hostel Blues

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Blues
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is one of my favourite hostels. It has all the standard things a good hostel has but also that extra something.

Perhaps it's the very engaging and friendly staff (Helena is awesome!) or the city-themed rooms with wicked wall decorations. There's also a bar, good kitchen and a comfortable place to hang out and meet other travellers.

The location is very good too, just a short walk away from the centre. In fact, in the same block there is the funky cafe Ginger, a Subway, a bank machine and a cinema.

I'll definitely come back here next time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shlyovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 546 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed 2 nights and everything went very well. Hostel blues is very well located, at short walking distance to tesco supermarket and pubs and clubs in the city centre. Staff were very friendly and willing to help with info and advises. Nice common room with bar to chill out. Large kitchen was useful and always kept in order

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgeteurotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with a group of students and would definitely recommend it! We visited Bratislava on a particularly cold and rainy November weekend but the hostel was very warm and welcoming. The bar has a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere (we borrowed cards and board games to play over a few drinks) and the staff were all very friendly.
We were in an 8-person dorm in the Dublin suite which was clean, warm and very comfortable. For the low price we paid we definitely got our money's worth - lovely hot showers and a very good night's sleep all round. No cause for complaint!
Good location for exploring the city and a huge Tesco is just next door for self catering.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed in the female 4 bed dorm, it was clean and if you don't like stairs theres a lift, i would say the rooms are the only thing that could do with some TLC but the rest of the facilities make up for it. I also stayed in the mixed 6 bed dorm, not to much difference. The bat area has good live music and a nice vibe, there is plenty of room to eat or chill out, kitchen is great, all really clean, staff are happy and engaging, very helpful. I would go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We really enjoyed this hostel! I spent there one night in a private room 'Moscow' which was huge and very nice decorated. The price isn't low but also not too high, I would say. Once you enter the common area you feel the very special atmosphere of this place. The girls behind the desk are nice and helpful in planning your stay in Bratislava (which isn't that easy if you only have one night there). The location is also very good and I really recommend taking part in this free walking tour they recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xOlga_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here a while back.. took a while to write this review i.e. I didn't stay the date stated!!
Place is fantastic, really clean and lovely staff!
Looks a bit grey and cold on the outside with graffiti etc.. but as soon as u step inside..bam! Colour, warmt, smiles!
Place is really good value for money also! Will definately be back again :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Me and 3 other friends made a roadtrip in Europe and wanted to stay just 1 night in Bratislava. We felt so good in this hostel and this city that we finally stayed for 3 nights.
- Great location
- 24/24 bar with local beers
- Comfortable beds
- Clean
- Quite small kitchen but big chill room
- Funny staff, also helpful (sent me back home my backpack which i left there)
- Music

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nestolalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Hotel Color
#44 of 93 in Bratislava
146 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#20 of 93 in Bratislava
1,541 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 93 in Bratislava
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Bratislava Gate One
#8 of 93 in Bratislava
770 reviews
Patio Hostel
#7 of 70 in Bratislava
567 reviews
Staré Mesto
Freddie next to Mercury
Freddie next to Mercury
#10 of 70 in Bratislava
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blues

Address: Spitalska 2, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range: $16 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Blues 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Blues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing