We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel!”
Review of Hostel Blues

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Blues
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hostel Blues is a big hostel within easy walking distance of the Old Town of Bratrislava. The staff are very helpful (if a little crazy!!) and upon check in gave us a map and told us what to see and do when we were in the city. The free wifi works really well. The hostel is clean and well kept. They have big lockers in each dorm and provide you with good padlocks so all the stuff felt very safe even in a big dorm.
We stayed 2 nights in a dorm and 1 night in a private room for 3 which was like a hotel! There were 2 bedrooms, an ensuite and even a balcony! I would definitely recommend the private room because the dorm we stayed in had one toilet and shower between so many people that I queued for an hour and a half to take a 5minute shower. Apart from that, good place!

Room Tip: Dorms have few bathroom facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    157
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
12
68
160
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A big hostel located just few minutes away from the city center. The staff is great and very helpful! The rooms are big and confortable. There are enough toilest and bathrooms and all areas are kept really clean.
Nice bar area to hang out. They also offer cooking classes with local recipes.
Really a great place! Recommended for everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanMenegaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location in Bratislava, clean and tidy dormitories, beers at a reasonable price, WiFi is working... I definitely recommend this place if you're a backpacker. If you're looking for privacy, that might not be it ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drouq_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place completely exceeded my expectations. We booked the New York apartment on the top floor which was really clean and tidy. The only minor issue I had was the strangely low fixed position of the shower head. Otherwise the room was excellent, and it had an enormous balcony with a great view over Bratislava's Old Town.

The staff were really informative and friendly, especially Eva, and they were all really helpful when it came to any question asked.

Will definitely come back at some point.

Room Tip: The New York Apartment had a balcony with an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely hostel in a great location. Staff are wonderful, speak good English and are full of useful advice. We stayed in the Barcelona room, which was fine.

The toilet and shower facilities were clean and functional.

Basically this is everything you could ask for in a hostel and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great place, great location and on the top of that great staff! I'm delighted with my stay in Hostel Blues, the rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable and the staff is lovely.

You can even attend to a slovak cuisine workshop with the lovely Paula!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clement V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovens, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Me and two friends booked two nights in the Hostel Blues in Bratislava to go a concert in November 2011 and we were not disappointed. We had the suite on the top floor with a nice balcony with a wonderful view over the city and enough room for us. The value for this hostel is unbeatable because we only paid around EUR 18 per night (if my memory serves me right) and I must say I have stayed in hostels for far more than that which weren't half as good as Hostel Blues.

The reception/bar is very nice, the staff is friendly and helpful, a 1.5 litre bottle of beer costs barley more than 1 EUR and everyone is helpful and cool. The room we were in was clean with a nice bathroom and enough space for everyone. The balcony was wonderful to hang around in the early evening, really, for this value, you couldn't go much better. Also, 10min by foot from the hostel and you're in the middle of the city centre with everything you need close by.

We definitely enjoyed our stay in the Hostel Blues and if Bratislava is a destination again, it'll definitely be our first choice again. Thank you very much in any case for a brilliant stay and loads of fun in Bratislava.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor rooms with balcony, it barely costs more and you got enough space and an awesom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 92 in Bratislava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blues

Property: Hostel Blues
Address: Spitalska 2, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Blues 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostel Blues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing