We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”
Review of Hostel Blues

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Blues
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This hostel must make a new website. I was impressed and I got there. The place is way better than the pictures, which is unusual. Very friendly staff and clean rooms. I was very satisfied by this choice and recommend to anyone, One thing though. I stayed alone in a room for 2 people. The space available was tiny. After I opened my bag I couldn't walk. Probably it would be very bad if there were 2 persons staying. Also, the bed is not that comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuanaBarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 540 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

nice hostel. central for walking to old town,castle,restaurants etc. During our stay it was -15 outside and our room was lovely and warm. we had a private room with ensuite bathroom. the room/shower was very clean. never ran out of hot water. beds clean and comfy enough. nice little lounge area and bar downstairs with wifi available. kitchen also which we used a few times to make coffee and toast. that also seemed clean and organised with labels on stuff etc. reception always ready to help. all in all a very nice,comfortable stay. would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENIGMA2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I only spent one night in Hostel Blues but it seemed ok to me, though I was expecting to find cheaper rates in Bratislava. Coming from the bus station it's only a short ride on the trolley bus, you could even walk it too. The hostel looked nice and clean, it's divided into cities, like Dublin or Barcelona, each on a different level. I liked the feeling of being in a small apartment. Clean showers and toilets, free use of internet, nice and clean kitchen, chill out rooms, ... The staff was quite nice and helpful too. The center of the city is only a 10' walk and there's a big supermarket round the corner. The airport is also very easy to reach with a short tram ride to the central station and then a ride on the airport bus, all of this in less than an hour and for 0,90€ :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frosti2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

and with lovely friendly staff if you are here for one or two nights you will be fine!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank godmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The location of this hostel is ideal, it's about half an hour's walk from the train station and a short walk to the old town or castle. There are good restaurants and bars on the surrounding streets and a supermarket just down the road. The staff were really friendly and helpful and were available at all hours.

My dorm room was one of the best I've seen. It was very clean and had comfortable beds and large lockers. The showers were always clean and hot.

The kitchen was clean, tidy and well equipped.

The best feature of this hostel is the reception/common area. They serve a variety of drinks at good prices and provide live music occasionally (While I was there it was of good quality too). There were 4 computer terminals available and table football.

i thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend this hostel for any group of people.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJT36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed here last month and was very impressed with everything about it
booked via hostelbookers as usual and instructions on how to get there from airport were spot on
on arrival check in was quick and was personally shown to my room and then shown amenities on site , fully equipped kitchen etc
theres a bar onsite and drinks are very reasonable but if your on a tight budget then theres a Tesco supermarket 2mins walk away

bathroom and toilet were always lcean and plenty of hot water anytime of the day or night
only crititsism was that the curtains in my dorm didnt go all way accross the window leaving a big gap and of course as soon as sun arrived in the mornings it was impossible to sleep especially after a heavy night on the beer :)

would definately stay here again as its close to everything and the staff are spot on people

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kernow666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

One of the best hostel in Bratislava for sure, I met some travelers outside Bratislava and they turned out stay in Blues Hostel!! Very good location, just 5 mins away from the main square, many supermarket nearby. The reception area and common room are very comfortable you can spend all day there. The kitchen is so big, complete and well-furnished. The staffs are nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niantiaulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,748 reviews
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#6 of 92 in Bratislava
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#19 of 92 in Bratislava
1,507 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Blues

Address: Spitalska 2, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range: $16 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Blues 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hostel Blues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing