We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, excellent food”
Review of Cafe Verne

Cafe Verne
Ranked #87 of 1,161 Restaurants in Bratislava
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Staré Mesto
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great value, excellent food”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

cafe verne is probably the best choice for lunch or dinner. great atmosphere, the bar is always packed, mostly with locals. they serve excellent food for a good price.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Camoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    93
    29
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great non-smoking restaurant in Bratislava!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We tried this place during a stop for lunch on a road trip and were not disappointed. There were 8 in our party (including four children). It is a NON-smoking restaurant, which is so hard to find in this part of the world. We were seated quickly, and had our food within 20 minutes. From soup to goulash to chicken, it was all hot, fresh and delicious. There wasn't one bit left on any plate. For lunch, and for what we got, (including drinks), it was incredibly reasonable. I highly reccomended it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davenpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Witton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant in a nice part of town”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I didn't have a meal here, so cannot comment on the quality of the food. However every meal that passed my table looked delicious, the menu is extensive and interesting, and I've only heard good things about the food here.
My friends and I stopped here for coffee and cake. It's in a lovely part of town. Unfortunately there were no seats available outside but it was very comfy and nicely decorated inside. I opted for tiramisu and an iced coffee - which turned out to be coffee with ice cream and cream! - which was the perfect treat after a day of cycling around the city on a summer's day. The tiramisu was the nicest I tried while I was in Bratislava. One of my companions ordered pancakes with cream and chocolate sauce which were HUGE, and delicious!
The service was a bit patchy but the staff were friendly enough, and quite patient while we all faffed around gathering up bits and bobs of change to pay with. Prices were decent, not the cheapest in Bratislava but certainly not the most expensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmdawgB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My favorite cafe restaurant”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Nice and clean place with Jules Verne novels theme decoration. Excellent food for excellent price. Even the table wine is very good quality. It is a good place to go with friends as You can have some food, drinks and relax at good music.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Lovely local find”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Located in the heart of town had a lunch here in great surroundings and great value for money. Service was quick and food hot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thematicmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Verne also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Cafe Verne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing