We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, not so great service”
Review of Paparazzi - CLOSED

Paparazzi
Price range: $0 - $147
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Staré Mesto
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
612 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Excellent food, not so great service”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The receptionist of the hotel we were staying at recommended this restaurant, since we were looking for some Italian food.
The atmosphere was relaxed and nice, music a little too loud, the food was excellent, but what we did not like was the following:
We had ordered a glass of red and another one of white house wine (table wine). The waiter served us a glass of Pinot Grigio and another one of Valpolicella (which we had not ordered). After telling him that we had not ordered these drinks (they were about three times as expensive as the table wine we had ordered) he lied to us and said that this was a wine from the house. I showed him on the menu what we had ordered, and the got quite annoyed because we insisted that he changed the wine.
The food was very good, though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honguito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    8
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant turned to [--]”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Paparazzi restaurant was the place in Bratislava to eat for us for years. Great restaurant turned to [--] this year.
I recommend not to eat in Paparazzi restaurant in Bratislava again.
Have they changed the owner or manager ? The manager was not available in the restaurant in the evening. Waiters are not allowed to deduct the price of the terrible meals from the bill - only to provide 20% discount. We refused to pay the bill in case of charging us for the meals. After discussion between the waiter and the manager via phone !!!! the manager agreed to correct the bill. What a situation for customers and waiters cz of the manager.
Is he out of his mind ???
We were very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elleneli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best of Brati”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This has been the most consistent, steady quality - despite a small dip in service quality - of Bratislava. The menu is good and diversified, the drinks are great and the music always very enjoyable. Wirth every penny

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluethroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good places turning poor - it is all about people”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

After spending almost a year outside of Slovakia I was hoping to start returning to my favorite places in town, Paparazzi was very high on the list. The food used to be OK but the drinks were best in town. The food is still fine and the drinks - in case you don't fall asleep or give up waiting are still nice, but the time it takes to deliver them is incredible. What is worse that later in the evenings the manager is not in and it is almost impossible to catch a waiter.At least this was mine Monday's experience. My company wanted to leave and I was staying more due to my loyalty to the place then for the drinks.
Looks like I will need to find a new place for drinks. It is a pity, but you do not want to wait 40 minutes for first drink, especially not it case that there are only few another people in the bar. Nor you want to chase waiters to revisit your table at least from time to time. They were literally hiding somewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichalZ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Bratislava”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent atmosphere, location, extensive menu with choices of fresh pasta, meats and fishes. Wonderful prosciuttos, mozzarella di buffala and other italian standards of the highest quality. The service is impecable, good seating and proper white napkin (a rare commodity in Bratislava). Overall an always sure bet when it comes to a very good meal alone, with family or friends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olivierada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paparazzi also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing