We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough food, waiter was a jerk”

Modra Hviezda / Blue Star
Ranked #13 of 1,524 Restaurants in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $43
Cuisines: Diner, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto
Description: Slovak ADULT-FRIENDLY Restaurant in Bratislava with honest local Cuisine. Family-run business since 2009. We are looking forward to your visit! Feel at us at home! :)
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

After an afternoon in the castle we made our way to this restaurant based on TA's rating. The food was alright, they had an English menu portion but it was hampered by the male waiter making odd faces at everyone as they ordered. He looked confused and bothered by us. They brought out a plate of veggies and said "steamed veggies?" And when someone said no we only got a stew" they said "oh, this is stew" and put it on the table. A table next to us called the waiter out and said "you are really mad at your customers" when their entire family was ordering and he was doing the same thing to them as he did to us. I'd skip this place and find something better.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Justin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 491 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2016

Had a recommendation for this place and was amazed! Nice place, lovely beer garden just across the road and prime location on the way to the castle. The staff was super friendly and knowledgeable. The food was just amazing and price suprisingly good! All my recommendations!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Vitproch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Excellent service, speaks English. Very nice atmosphere and good local good. Price was also ok, but it wasn't cheapest. Lovely area.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Nico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Stumbled upon this little restaurant after visiting the castle and decided to return later in the evening for dinner. The restaurant is set out beautifully, with a lot of atmosphere and plenty of delicious food options. We went for red wine by the glass which was really good, and for food I opted for the game casserole with bread dumplings which was rich and tasty. Couldn't fault anything, including the staff who were friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank samaN8332QD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

Had lovely soup and park for main and I'm assured the need was also great. Many of the tables are in cute little cellar rooms with stone arches and candles... Very cool!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 220charlotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Modra Hviezda / Blue Star also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Modra Hviezda / Blue Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.