We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing”

Modra Hviezda / Blue Star
Ranked #13 of 1,524 Restaurants in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $43
Cuisines: Diner, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto
Description: Slovak ADULT-FRIENDLY Restaurant in Bratislava with honest local Cuisine. Family-run business since 2009. We are looking forward to your visit! Feel at us at home! :)
Reviewed July 14, 2016

It was not only once i was there. It was love at the first sight. Beautiful small restaurant with very luxury selection of wine and good taste of the food. And the cakes are just delicious. The food is a real orgasm and i have really great memories from this place. Actually i am thinking to go there again ...

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank DenisaLelenkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 500 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2016

This restaurant is tucked away not quite half way up the castle hill and we were attracted to it by the menu on the chalk board outside on our way up to the castle. Inside it opens up to diffrernt levels, with cellars turned into eating areas. We ate early (arriving at around 6.15pm) when there were already some other guests, but I got the impression that it was very likely to be busy later in the evening. The decor was fairly traditional Slovakian and the menu was traditional too. I had wild boar loin in an orange sauce with mashed potato, my son had leg of rabbit with dumplings and my wife had trout with salad. The portions were generous and nicely cooked. There were a number of other main courses that we all could have chosen (venison would have been next on my list) and service was efficient and friendly; we were offered pronunciation lessons to help with our rudimentary Slovakian. The dessert choice was a little limited but there was a good range of drinks available, including a local lager, and there was no hint of disapproval when we asked for tap water.
Three main courses, two desserts and two beers was €63 - great value even following the devaluation of Sterling against the Euro after a UK moment of madness. Highly recommended

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GarethP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

The starters of leek and potato soap and chicken soup were tasty and enjoyable.
The lamb shank was smothered in a bland root vegetable sauce that added nothing to the experience and the pork tenderloin was plentiful but without any contrast other than mashed potato was just ordinary.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

We had dinner on the terrace, which was great on a warm Summer evening. The restaurant is located by the road to the castle where it isn't as crowded as in the old town.The waitor was nice, the food ( we all had the house special venison ) was delicious and the atmosphere was really relaxing. The dessert though was not as outstanding as the main course. But I would definately recommend the restaurant .

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 520majav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

I'm always worried about choosing restaurants near major tourist attractions, but this place lived up to the hype. The grilled wild boar was fantastic and the service was excellent.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Modra Hviezda / Blue Star also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Modra Hviezda / Blue Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.