We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Modra Hviezda

Modra Hviezda
Ranked #9 of 1,163 Restaurants in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good experience. The place is quite nice and authentic, placed close to the castle and with traditional food. I went for the duck experience starting with warm duck liver (foies gras) and then with half roasted duck (very generous portion). Excellent dunai wine. Pricing ok, although almost at international pricing (35€ each) with average second course at 16€.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Framante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    248
    61
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great lunch at Modra Hviezda!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Delicious meal...never been to Bratislava nor have I tried Slovakian food before, but this was actually good. Would recommend to anyone traveling here for a nice meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy5o4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great service to bad i cant say the same about meal,”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was there with my family of 5 with small child.Service was very good,Nice People unfortunately I cant say that about the meal.Small portions and quite expensive,
Not sure,but my wife ordered deer and it supposed to be a dark meet but instead was very light which we doubt it was deer.Steak i had was OK.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was a restaurant I think I ate in many years ago. If not it was one very similar (convinced this one though!). Food as good as, if not better than I remembered.

This is a lovely little restaurant and worth hunting out. The ambience is good - cosy, nicely lit. Excellent menu and wine list (although the wine is pricey - particularly if the waiter steers you towards the local Slovakian wine - which was excellent though!)

My starter was roasted chicory, main wild boar with orange sauce and the most incredible potato puree and I had to have the semolina pudding for dessert. All were the best food we had on our holiday.

The service was attentive and when we left, we were offered discount vouchers (but unfortunately it was our last day).

Definitely eat here when in Bratislava!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobskiStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Shut the parrot up”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Chanced upon this place on the way back from the castle. Lovely quirky old restaurant. I had wild boar, my wife gypsy chop, both were delicious and the service was good. There were several different dining areas, we were tucked away in a "cave" where they generously allow you to take "free photos"!! I've marked the place down slightly as they have a squawking parrot called Amber which never shuts up. It's presence is totally out of keeping with the rest of the place and is very annoying. Lose the parrot and it would be a perfect dining experience, free photos and all!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steviec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modra Hviezda also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Modra Hviezda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing