We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant that takes poor service, overpricing, and gross food to a whole new level!!”

Slovenska Restauracia
Ranked #768 of 1,197 Restaurants in Bratislava
Neighborhood: Staré Mesto
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Staré Mesto
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The restaurant that takes poor service, overpricing, and gross food to a whole new level!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Seemingly fair priced at first but after tricking us by adding as many extra charges (with no prior notice!!) the bill exceeded 70 euros for 3 people with no drinks or dessert! The "garlic" soup was a tasteless, cold, and way too thick concoction that looked and tasted like instant soup. The main courses were even worse..after only a few bites we all felt sick and asked for the bill right away. The waitress was impatient and rushed our order and did not have the "time" to explain the insane bill that we received with horror. Save yourself the rip off and the nausea and go somewhere else!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Roxyzaza1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“tasty”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a great meal here, lots of local dishes as well as lots of more ordinary dishes for the less adventurous. Beer is cheap but service is very slow, we waited almost an hour for our main course, and it didn't seem too busy there that night. We didn't mind as we chatted and were people watching but maybe its not the best place to go if you are in a hurry.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carrielovestony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stumbled upon this place while walking back from the castle (hrad). We were the only people in the place, but the service was still attentive. Food was delicious and prices very reasonable. My husband and I both had the dumplings with sheep cheese and bacon, I wish I could remember the name of it, we both loved it. Definitely recommend this place, close to sights, but far enough off the main drag to not be crowded.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DZKathrynE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very tasteful Slovakian food”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant in town. Kinda Batman's Cave... with traditional decoration. Very tasting food (maybe a bit fat, but nice) and atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giacomo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Being from the U.S. I was looking for authentic slovian food this place makes better dumplings than my sister in Charleroi Pennsylvania. Pricey but good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petesapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slovenska Restauracia also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Slovenska Restauracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing