We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere, super mediocre food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bakchus Vinaren

Bakchus Vinaren
Ranked #567 of 1,141 Restaurants in Bratislava
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Indian, Central European
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1,452 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 764 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, super mediocre food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Went here on a business lunch. The restaurant is decorated nicely and looks like a proper winehouse. The waiters were helpful and quite efficient. All of this was spoilt by mediocre food. It had such a great potential but didn't live up to the expectations. What to do with a nicely presented dish that isn't seasoned properly, or just tastes weird? My colleague had fish without any taste, I had beef medallions with what was supposed to be a dijon mustard sauce and tagliatelle. It turned out those medallions were laid on a huge splash of dijon mustard covering half the plate. Don't get me wrong, I love mustard, however this was not any kind of sauce, just plain mustard.. Tagliatelle just cooked, once again, completely unseasoned and unfinished, not a pich of salt and drop of olive oil. My colleague wanted curry with tofu, the response had been "we have a new owner and it's not possible anymore". God knows why. Overall it would have been a really great experience were it not spoiled by completely bland and forgettable food. This restaurant has definitely potential, but it needs to change its chef.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinde_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Somewhat strange but a cool room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We chose this restaurant because it was a short walk from our out of the way hotel. The food was OK - not great - but OK. We wondered the whole time what kind of restaurant is both Indian and Regional Slovakian cuisine. Such and odd combo. The Indian food ordered (we were six people) was nothing to write home about and the regional dishes were just OK. Sometimes just OK is enough though since it wasn't bad! The music they flooded the place with was awful and loud. BUT it was inexpensive and though the wine was somewhat awful, I had a beer that was fine. Nice old wine cellar.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan10536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice wine cave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Note: This restaurant is not anymore an indian restaurant because the chef is not indian anymore despite there is some indian food on menu (I did not try it)
But still, the food is excellent.
The choice of wines is great.
Restaurant it located in an old winery cave that it is very well renovated.
A place to go.
300m from Mercure Centrum.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Is this Indian menu??????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We came to this restaurants, because we read good reviews here. The place is interesting, though very humid and smelly, probably due to the fact, that it once was a winnery, I guess. But when we received the menu, we were unpleasantly surprised... They only had 5 Indian dishes, four with chicken and one with prawns, other dishes were Slovak and European. I don't know if they've adjusted the menu in the mean time, but this didn't look indian. So if you want Indian, DO NOT VISIT THIS RESTAURANT, I WARMLY ADVISE!

Helpful?
Thank Blaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Nice Indian and Local Slovak food in nice part of Bratislava.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Locotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakchus Vinaren also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Bakchus Vinaren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing