We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A touch of opulence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arcadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A touch of opulence”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We were only here for an overnight stay, but the hotel made the trip! Genuinely helpful staff and a wonderful building.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thecolourgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    98
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
71
234
24
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

I can't say enough about this hotel. The staff is top notch and the room are on par. In my opinion, the best hotel in Bratislava!

  • Liked — the elegance
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank berry626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2008

Almost perfect! Great hotel, great city and a great time of year to visit.

Perfect location in old town center, can walk everywhere, Christmas market was in full force and square was crowded with food stalls, gift stands and people!

Room was outstanding! Check in service perfect, extremely helpful and kind staff!

Breakfast was wonderful, food was outstanding! It did get a little crazy when it got full, but overall very nice!

Used the taxi service for airport pick up, worth the extra 15 euro.

Great place and great hotel, especially great staff.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Really no compliants
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MiketheTiger08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We stayed at the Arcadia the first week in October. The hotel was booked as an offer “little big city” so we got a free private tour of the city (2.5 hours) as part of the deal. It was my partners birthday during the trip – hence the reason for the short break.
My experiences in order:
1. Found Bratislava after searching the web for somewhere different to go.
2. Found SkyEurope and the prices were ok
3. Initial search on hotels didn’t look fantastic
4. Found the Arcadia
5. Booked flights and Hotel
6. Fantastic response from the hotel – several helpful email
7. Started to get worried – lots of not so good stories
8. Found a helpful person on TripAdvisor and felt less worried
9. Went to Bratislava and had a fantastic time
10. Recommended Bratislava and the Arcadia to all our friends
So to put that into words – Bratislava is fantastic and the Hotel Arcadia is amazing. We had such a wonderful time there. The city is easy to walk around, the architecture is fantastic, the resteraunts were excellent and the bars we all good.

I am sure Bratislava was significantly cheaper in the past, but we still found it inexpensive and great value for money.

The hotel location was fantastic as we had no reason to get Taxis anywhere – we could walk to everything. We booked a limo via the hotel to pick us up and take us back to the airport. This was a bit expensive but worth it for the lack of hassle and the “special” feeling for my partner.

The free guided tour of the city was very good and it enabled us to find out about places we simply would not have gone too. That saying we were greeted by the guest relations manager and he was so good. He told us where to go, where not to go, the best bar/restaurant/sites to see. He provided his personal contact number and stated “what ever time of the day or night just call if you need help, advice, translation – what an excellent service.

It was also my partner’s birthday during the stay. After our tour of Bratislava we returned to our beautiful room only to find a free bottle of champagne (the min bar in the room was free and re-stocked every day). That was a very nice touch and it was topped that evening when we eat in the hotel and at the end of the meal the staff brought out a complementary birthday cake and broke into a rendition of “happy birthday to you”.

The best thing I can say about the hotel is “go” - you will not be disappointed. It really is special and a true 5 star. I even wrote back to the manager of the hotel to tell him what a great time we had – something I have never done before.

My closing comments – don’t be put off by some of the negative reviews of Bratislava. We did see a few stag nights (but not many). We didn’t see any trouble. The locals were friendly and welcoming. The bars were great fun and we experienced no problems with door staff or being ripped off. The architecture is amazing and you can walk all day just looking at beautiful old buildings. And if you like beer – its a fantastic place to go!

  • Liked — The Service was fantastic
  • Disliked — there was an art exhibition on at the time of our stay so some odd arty people in the bar at times
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TP123Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

I had stayed at the aracadia before and again it did not disappoint.
We had booked the limousine service and even though our flight was delayed the driver was there waiting for us , friendly and giving us great tips on what was on that weekend.

We were met at the door our bags were taken and we were upgraded to a suite which was huge with every amenity with a bottle of chapgane for us.
We also were met by mr stefan stumpf on saturday the general manager who invited us for drinks in the bar and we had a great chat and many laughs with him.

The staff were friendly very profesional, immaculatley turned out and special praise goes to I think it is leona the guest services manager who did every thing she could for us, nothing was to much trouble.

The hotel is defintley a 5 star and if you are booking any hotel in bratislava, you should stay no where else but the arcadia.

this was romantic get away with my wife Dympna and she was very impressed with the weekend and beleive me she is a fussy lady!!!

Top marks !!

  • Liked — the service and style
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank houl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

this is the first 5* hotel in Bratislava and it sure did not disappoint! I think the photos speak for themselves.. It is located in a quiet street in the Old Town, yet on only few minutes walk away from all the bars and restaurants.

We had booked executive room for 170 pounds per night, this was not the cheapest option but also was not the most expensive. We were greeted by a porter by the entrance and all the staff spoke fluent English. The room was very spacious and there was also a free minibar with selection of soft drinks, wine, beer and 2 chocolate waffles. There also was a wide tea and coffee selection with a kettle (to boil the water in). Bathroom was also lovely with good toiletries, however, there was no shampoo, but they provided 2 bottles of body lotion. Now i was not sure if they run out of shampoo and put an extra bottle of the lotion as a replacement, or the maid made a mistake (since this is a 5* establishment, i do not think this is acceptable).

The room had a flat screen TV with many English, German and Slovak channels.

We did not order room service since we stayed for 1night only, however, they charge 350Skk (about 10 pounds) as a delivery charge on top of the food prices which were quite high anyway.

We had breakfast delivered to our room (free of charge because there was something happening in the restaurant in the morning), it was quite tasty (i especially liked the sweet pastry selection), however, i ordered white yoghurt but they put fruit yoghurt on the trolley..

It was raining on the day of our departure from the hotel and when i asked for an umbrella, we were given a really nice one from the receptionist. Thought that was a lovely touch.

Overall i LOVED this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The room and hotel looked very new and clean..just like in the promotional leaflets!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 007_Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murren, Switzerland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

This hotel only recently opened and is a much needed addition. Right in the middle of the old city and only a few steps away from all the restaurants and clubs. well appointed, great staff and a nice snug bar. we had a busy day with meetings and never had to walk more than five minutes to any down town location.
comprehensive breakfast and a good range of champagnes amongst other things. room very comfortable. i was upgraded to a duplex on the third floor which was a delight.

  • Liked — the 13th century building conversion
  • Disliked — finding the hotel for the first time
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank weemacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 94 in Bratislava
591 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 94 in Bratislava
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 94 in Bratislava
571 reviews
Hotel Devin
#9 of 94 in Bratislava
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel

Property: Arcadia Hotel
Address: Frantishkanska 3, Bratislava 811 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#9 Spa Hotel in Bratislava
#14 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Arcadia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing