We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arcadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
trrviso
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

A very nice Place to stay!!!! Fantastic rooms, great staff and good position on the old town center. A small but very nice wellness center is downstairs, lovely place!!! Hope i can come back soon to bratislava to spend another time in this great hotel

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank torel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    98
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
71
234
24
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
238 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is an excellent hotel to stay at - friendly staff, comfortable, and centrally located. Keep in mind that this is Bratislava which is up and coming. It is not fair to judge this hotel against the Four Seasons or Ritz. What you get is definitely top of the line. From the minute we arrived, we were treated as well as could be. They simply could not do enough to keep us happy. Joseph, the front door man, was wonderful - great with tips, directions, and looking after our things.

The hotel is on a quiet corner with a restaurant L'Olive inside. The food there was very good. The rooms were modern and filled with top of the line amenities. We had a two story loft room which was quite large and very comfortable. The top floor had a king bed and the bottom had a queen. The room also had two chair, a love seat and small table for dining in the room. Bathroom was large with a tub and separate shower. Workout facilities were adequate and the spa was also quite nice with a sauna, steam room and whirlpool. Breakfast was well priced for what you received, fresh and hot.

Outside the hotel not three minutes walk is one of the old town squares near the 400 year old church. There are plenty of dinner choices Within two to three minutes walk, as well. I noted a Scottish Pub, local Slovakian restaurant that we ate at, and a few others in the mix.

I will caution to take a GPS phone with you if you walk any distance as the roads can becone quite confusing. The people in the town are also very, very friendly and helpful so don't let the former communist label keep you from coming here. The folks that we came across, from towns people to hotel staff, were very, very friendly and appreciative of us being there.

There is also plenty to do near the hotel including museum/gallery exhibits, the water front, church, and plenty of outdoor art including the man climbing out of the sewer.

I will advise to be cautios at night when walking around. This is still an up and coming area and there can be issues if you show a high level of wealth. The old town is quite safe, the opposite side of the river, not so nice. Use your head and you should be fine. I would return to the hotel in a heartbeat and would not hesitate to bring my family. It was beautiful and more than we expected.

Room Tip: We went with the top floor. Also, for a few dollars more, if traveling with a family, the loft room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmoonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have never before had a hotel room with no outside windows; the only windows in our third floor room (and many other rooms) opened into the lobby atrium. That was not a major problem - it added to the charm - but it did add lobby noise to our room and reduced our ventilation. In any case, our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel has a great location in the old town of Bratislava.

Our biggest complaint concerned the bathtub / shower. The tub was very deep, there were no hand-holds, and the water spray from the shower made the floor slippery. Getting out of the shower was really hazardous.

Breakfast was nice, but not especially notable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt245_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Didn`t agree that this is a five star hotel. Max 4. When you take a shower the water is flooding out
in the bathroom. Boring receptionarea. Location very good in the middle of old city. If you like rococostyle furnitures, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This "5 star" hotel in Bratislava has done a few things right, like the nice (but small) bar and hotel's location, but beyond that there are a lot of issues. We stayed here a while ago and haven't recovered from our overpriced bad experience there.

Very noisy interior and many of the rooms are too close to the central hall and walkways through the hotel, which have loud footsteps echoing through your room at all hours.

We had a couple of bad experiences there with the staff and also got charged unfairly for minibar and other items (even though didn't take anything, we did (foolishly ?) dare to place our own bottle of water in there to chill and moved a few minibar items to make space, without removing anything). They also broke one of our items and were very awkward and mean about resolving this issue (and never did properly), which wasted a lot of time and caused us a lot of distress during our stay.

The fixtures and fittings in the rooms are pretty spartan for a high-end hotel, its almost like what someone would create if trying to mimic high-end on a small budget. Things like the bath taps leaking massively and leading to a big puddle of water, curtains not fully closing and bits of decor falling off the walls etc isn't what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel anywhere in the world.

Massively overpriced, considering that you can stay at a similarly-specced very nice 4-star hotel just down the road for about 1/8th of the price.

Wouldn't recommend this place at all and I worry that honeymooning couples or people looking to splash out on a high end experience would be very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ensure no room that is near the central section which gets very noisy at all hours).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaptainFairness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,534 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Small hotel tucked away in old Bratislava . Staff are amazing. Food in the restaurant is superb!! Not an extensive menu but changed seasonally and chef is happy to amend any dish to suit particular tastes. A great dining experience. Decor is period chic in an amazing building!
Only downside is it seems to be a favourite haunt of American businessmen- business is for an office not a charming hotel like this!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsmithcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at The Arcadia in September. There is a lot that impresses you about this hotel. The hotel location is perfect and everything is in walking distance. The staff are all very helpful and nothing is to much trouble. The rooms are beautiful and spacious with lovely bathrooms ... and then hidden below is the WONDERFUL SPA - WOW what a treat!!! I also enjoyed a lovely massage that was orginised with very little hassle at short notice. The breakfast was very good and had lots of variety. I would highly recommend this hotel, you will not be dissapointed!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenevdW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 94 in Bratislava
591 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 94 in Bratislava
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 94 in Bratislava
571 reviews
Hotel Devin
#9 of 94 in Bratislava
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel

Property: Arcadia Hotel
Address: Frantishkanska 3, Bratislava 811 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#9 Spa Hotel in Bratislava
#14 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Arcadia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing