We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most romantic hotels in the....world?”
Review of Arcadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Germany/US
Level Contributor
130 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One of the most romantic hotels in the....world?”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Really....other than the old town Bratislava doesn't have that much, yet, to offer. A day and half, two nights, and you're done. But, those two nights should be stayed at Arcadia. In your room, look at the pictures of what a dark pigsty this site used to be, and then wonder at what they've turned it into. A fantastic lobby and wonderful, if actually cramped, rooms. Extraordinary attention to details and appointments. The bathrooms are from another world (and yes, we shamelessly stole all the shampoo, bath salts, etc.) You feel like you're the private guests of some insanely rich relative with a villa. Most of the rooms open their stained windows into a central atrium for which the architect should get an award. Just look at the pics online....I tell you it is even better when you're there. IF you are reading this right now (7/12) and you have flexibility, then be aware that Arcadia has suffered two fires just recently. Once wrecked their most expensive room, and another wreaked havoc with their spa facilities. Also, the lobby smells, when you enter, and only for a moment or two, like a cross between an old cigar and creosote....so, while we enjoyed ourselves immensely and recommend Arcadia highly....you might want to wait for repairs and slightly cleaner air.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaTeplaGM, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

I appreciate your comment and thank you for nice detailed information for other TripAdvisor travelers and for your understanding of residual smell after recent fire in our basement since three weeks ago. The Wellness area is now in reconstruction and will be back in usage next month.
I will be very pleased to welcome you personaly in our hotel during your next visit to Bratislava and offer profesional service and family atmosphere.

Best regards,
Marta Tepla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    100
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
72
238
24
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Fantastic 5 star hotel in the center of the old town of Bratislava. Beautiful rooms - good spa - nice restaurant and food. Perfect service. All tourist attractions are close to the hotel. We will 100% be back.

Room Tip: We were staying at the top floor - no noise - very beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuentherIwersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased with your nice comment on Tripadvisor. The Hotel is indeed located on a prime location and I am happy to read that you have enjoyed the stay with us.
Sincerely,
Marta Tepla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I recommend this hotel for everyone!
Clean, location in the centre, nice people.
Spa is small, only for the couple

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments and I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The cosy spa was desighned for hotel guests only with a touch on privacy , too. I am glad to hear, that you also enjoyed this section.
Best regards,
Marta Tepla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It is a nice hotel. There is no doubt about that. But I don't agree with all the fantastic reviews on here. For a five-star the service should be much better. The staff was trying but seemed like they were not trained on a luxury level. Pretty poor language skills.
Breakfast was not good. Also the dinner that we had was average. But overpriced for Bratislava.
The private jacuzzi with fruit and champagne was nice though.
Rooms were spacious (executive rooms) but not our taste... But that's out problem I would say. We also saw the regular rooms and they were really small. Not much light in the rooms either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrikwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback about experience during your stay in Arcadia hotel. There are serveral types of rooms as the hotel is located in a historical, nation heretage building and some of the rooms get less day light. Therefore an additional high quality lighting was install to each room.
All our staff is capable in English though the level of their language skill especialy in service is limited.
We pay attention to quality of food and hygiene and we were awarded as one of the best Quality restaurants in Slovakia.
Nevetheless I will put my effort on training the staff to provide more profesional service to our guest. Thank you for your information on this issue, too.
Sincerely,
Marta Tepla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

No doubt, this was the best value for the money hotel we have stayed during our three-country, two weeks, 5 different accommodations trip. The property is beautiful, prime location. The rooms are superb, breakfast is delicious, the staff is delightful -- can't say enough good things about this hotel. If you are in Bratslava whether for one night or a week, ths is a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaTeplaGM, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad that our hotel had provided a high standard and we participated on your fabulous stay. I shared your nice comment among my colleagues and thank you for that very much.
Best regards,
Marta Tepla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was ok a business trip when enjoying the facilities and comfort of this hotel. The junior suite I stayed in was amazing. The hotel decor was classic but beautiful.
The staff was so helpful and the concierge were always smiling, friendly and helpful. Generally all staff was like that, even at the reception and the breakfast. The hotel is perfectly situated in the old part of the city in the pedestrian zone, around the corner from the main pedestrian street.
Would definitely recommend.
Breakfast was good with a few hot options too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATY_YIAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaTeplaGM, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am glad to know that you enjoyed a stay in our Junior Suite. I believe the thick walls and ancient history tuch, attentive staff and perfect location made your stay memorable and we all here are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Marta Tepla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Amazing hotel, great service, rooms, everything.. Also really nice location - in the old city centre. Highly reccommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaTeplaGM, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very glad that you have recommended our hotel to other r travellers and thank you on sharing your experience with Arcadia Hotel among Tripadvir readers.
Best regards,
Marta Tepla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 92 in Bratislava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel

Property: Arcadia Hotel
Address: Frantishkanska 3, Bratislava 811 01, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#9 Spa Hotel in Bratislava
#14 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Arcadia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Arcadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing