We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly”
Review of Patio Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Patio Hostel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed in a four bed private room for two nights. The room was clean and spacious, and the shared bathroom was always clean and quiet - the cleaner even came in to clean the sink as I had a shave!

Staff were excellent in recommending places to shop and eat.

However, our room was at the front of the property and it was quite noisy with people standing outside at night and in the early hours of the morning. Also, the doors and walls are thin, so noise travelled from the corridors into our room.

Location is good, within 10 min walk from Old Town and about a 20 min walk from the Castle and station.

Would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredrickKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    213
    113
    38
    18
See reviews for
20
91
116
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It's strange cause doesnt look like a hostel, the street looks like outside the busy area but it is not true, after a little walking you realize behind two streets the are the best pubs and restaurants. Every floor has a kitchen and I dont recomend to pay for the hostel breakfast, there are a lot of supermarkets in the same street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I will start this review with the good points. The hostel itself is remarkably clean. The cleaning staff does a great job of keeping what is a VERY busy hostel spotless. The kitchen on each floor is small, but it has all the desired amenities, as well as complimentary coffee. The bedroom itself (we had a twin room, with shared bath) was very spacious; lots of room for all our stuff, and the linens smelled freshly washed. There were three showers and two toilets on our floor, which seemed to work out great. The BEST thing was a washer and dryer, free to use for all guests! that's a huge perk. Lastly, the hotel has a great location; just down the street is a huge TESCO, around the corner is the big shopping avenue, and the Old Town and bus station are 10 minutes away on foot.

The bad points now. There is wifi, but we could only get a signal either in the lobby or the common room, but not in our bedroom. When we were staying there, a woman was singing opera in the common room everyday, which was very annoying. Also, this is a party hostel, so it gets LOUD. If you are into partying as well, you should be fine. But be prepared to hear lots and lots of drunken shouting, singing, yelling, stomping, and door slamming at all hours of the night. There are "quiet hours" but they are not enforced by staff.

The goods of this hostel outweigh the bad, just bring some earplugs to block out the drunken masses!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lindayolid00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

It is in walking distance to everything and the rooms are really nice.
It felt very homely and it didn't feel like they were squashing everyone into one room.
The kitchen was very good and had as much as you need to cook.
The laundry facilities were free (washing powder €1.40) which was greaat!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went on a stag doo 25 strong ,good clean hostel staff, very friendly looked after us very well
Petra on reception very helpful with a nice smile. god situation for access to night clubs and bars ,food

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is going to be a strange review ! Did I Hate it or Love , mmmmm ?
Firstly the room I stayed in was clean , neat and what can I say a advert for Ikea ! It was in a Fantastic location but then again Bratislava is very small and on consideration is something I would do as a day trip from Vienna , However I love Slovakia and can't wait to explore this country and get out into the country side !
My only grip is , I was off the main common area and as a whole most people kept the noise to min But people and doors ??? Why do you have to slam every door ??? Also be prepared for people coming home late so if you leave your window open ?? Well be warned ,,
But I liked it here ,, sorry if this is a weird review ?

Room Tip: Ask for a private room that isn't off the common room , if you want quite or a rear facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Every single thing in Patio Hostel is just so good!

Prices are low considering how many things they can give you: a free water bottle for your first day, locks for your goods, towels, free tea and coffee, and even free food when people let their food for the others.
You can cook your own food with a fully equipped kitchen, showers are normal. Dorms are very comfortable.

It is best situated in the center, there is free Internet everywhere, and even a dedicated room with computers and sofas where you can relax and read their guide that gives you "everything you need to know about Bratislava". It actually helped me so much.

There is also a party room where I didn't go but it looked good.
People are nice and friendly, most of the guests are young travelers whom you can have nice chats with.

They also sell "emergency" breakfast packs for something like 2 euros in case you starve in the morning and you are just too lazy to go outside. They give you super useful maps and they have a very cheap massage chair that is just AWESOME after a day of walking everywhere.

Highly recommended!

PS: during spring and summer they have free shishas and bike rentals.. ;)

Room Tip: My room was the 12-bed dorm. Very good. No problem. There are boxes under the beds where you can loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
NH Bratislava Gate One
#6 of 92 in Bratislava
707 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Color
#39 of 92 in Bratislava
134 reviews
Staré Mesto
Hostel Blues
Hostel Blues
#1 of 66 in Bratislava
514 reviews
Staré Mesto
Freddie next to Mercury
Freddie next to Mercury
#9 of 66 in Bratislava
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patio Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patio Hostel

Property: Patio Hostel
Address: Shpitalska 35, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Patio Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Patio Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing