We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good , The Bad , The ??????”
Review of Patio Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Patio Hostel
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is going to be a strange review ! Did I Hate it or Love , mmmmm ?
Firstly the room I stayed in was clean , neat and what can I say a advert for Ikea ! It was in a Fantastic location but then again Bratislava is very small and on consideration is something I would do as a day trip from Vienna , However I love Slovakia and can't wait to explore this country and get out into the country side !
My only grip is , I was off the main common area and as a whole most people kept the noise to min But people and doors ??? Why do you have to slam every door ??? Also be prepared for people coming home late so if you leave your window open ?? Well be warned ,,
But I liked it here ,, sorry if this is a weird review ?

Room Tip: Ask for a private room that isn't off the common room , if you want quite or a rear facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 564 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Every single thing in Patio Hostel is just so good!

Prices are low considering how many things they can give you: a free water bottle for your first day, locks for your goods, towels, free tea and coffee, and even free food when people let their food for the others.
You can cook your own food with a fully equipped kitchen, showers are normal. Dorms are very comfortable.

It is best situated in the center, there is free Internet everywhere, and even a dedicated room with computers and sofas where you can relax and read their guide that gives you "everything you need to know about Bratislava". It actually helped me so much.

There is also a party room where I didn't go but it looked good.
People are nice and friendly, most of the guests are young travelers whom you can have nice chats with.

They also sell "emergency" breakfast packs for something like 2 euros in case you starve in the morning and you are just too lazy to go outside. They give you super useful maps and they have a very cheap massage chair that is just AWESOME after a day of walking everywhere.

Highly recommended!

PS: during spring and summer they have free shishas and bike rentals.. ;)

Room Tip: My room was the 12-bed dorm. Very good. No problem. There are boxes under the beds where you can loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I only stayed here for 2 nights and I didn't really spend any time in the hostel, apart from sleeping. But I would still say this was a great hostel, the staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and the location was perfect. I have paid more to stay in much worse hostels, this place was great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

as a couple we stayed in a double room/ private. It was the worst room I've ever saw! small dirty with empty walls. one small bathroom and tiny kitchen with uncleaned disches! every time we want to make a tea we had to wasch cups one more time! because of this place our stay in Bratislava was a nightmare! AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hostel is the worst I've been in and by far.Me and a group of friends went on a trip around central Europe and we stayed in hostels in Vienna, Prague and Budapest.The hostels in these three cities were aall better cheaper and with greater service than this one.The staff took forever to sort out our documents, the rooms were terrible and we had to make our own beds, on top of it all there was no hot water and theee was vomit on the stairs to our room.Definitely the worst hostel I've been in.

Room Tip: Me and a group of friends went on a trip around eastern and central Europe, and we tried hostels in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deni I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed just one night but it was enough.
The Hostel is right in the center. Around the corner is the pedestrian zone with lots of bars and pubs. You can reach easily everything on foot.
The Hostel itself only features the basics. The furniture was ok, in our room 2 beds, one cupboard. That's it. The billows were not really comfy, though.
For the wohle floor was only one toilet and one basin, wich is a bit sparse. And you are not able to close the showers, a curtain is all what you get. The two showers are right next to each other, so if you want to go to the second one, you have to cross the first.
The walls are really thin. We could understand every word from our neighbours and they were only talking normally.
At least you can park your car inside the patio.

For the price it wasn't really good. I've seen better and cheaper.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hostel had really nice rooms, but everyhting was right from a catalogus from Ikea, which made it quite impersonal. Overall really clean and the staff was nice except for one receptionist which was really rude and didn't make us feel welcome at all!
The bar and lounge are in the cellar which is a pity and the bar looked creepy...
We had a good night of sleep though, cause we had a whole floor to ourselves. Breakfast package was really poor.

Room Tip: The rooms on the highest floors are the better ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 98765_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Hotel Color
#44 of 92 in Bratislava
145 reviews
Holiday Inn Bratislava
#30 of 92 in Bratislava
264 reviews
Staré Mesto
Freddie next to Mercury
Freddie next to Mercury
#10 of 70 in Bratislava
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Hostel Blues
Hostel Blues
#2 of 70 in Bratislava
544 reviews
Staré Mesto
Art Hostel Taurus
Art Hostel Taurus
#4 of 70 in Bratislava
175 reviews
Staré Mesto
Dream Hostel Bratislava
Dream Hostel Bratislava
#13 of 70 in Bratislava
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patio Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patio Hostel

Address: Spitalska 35, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Bratislava
Price Range: $11 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Patio Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most popular hostel in Bratislava. We offer a wide range of rooms, with dormitories and privates featuring ensuite and shared bathrooms. Old Town is just a few minutes’ walk away. All main attractions, pubs, restaurants & clubs are almost 'round the corner, so there’s no need for taxis or public transport when sightseeing or pub-crawling. Our kind, easy-going and well-informed staff are all natives and speak perfect English. You can have a good time with your fellow travellers in our bar, garden or in the common room. Our Hostel is situated in the courtyard, and thanks to this our guests can use our parking lots and the street noise is eliminated. Check out for more reasons why to stay with us: - Free Wi-Fi in rooms and lobby - Free usage PCs with fast internet (webcam + headset) - Fully equipped kitchen - Free laundry, dryer & iron - Free towels - Bed linen included - Free coffee & tea - Breakfast snack-packs (2 EUR) - Free CATV and DVDs - Free luggage storage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Patio Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing