We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel a little too far from city center but with good amenities.”
Review of Hotel Arcus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Arcus
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A comfortable hotel a little too far from city center but with good amenities.”
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I think this hotel could be a good one for a lot of people, but just not ones with small children. The good part is that the breakfast was very tasty, the room was huge for European standards. (There was a couch, a desk, a table and two chairs, and an extra fold out bed in our room in addition to the bed and bathroom.) There's free and very fast wi-fi and a public access computer. The tram line isn't too far away either and parking was just 3 euros a day out on the street in front. But the problem is that it was just too far from City Center--at least a 20-25 minute walk to the edge. Trying to get back in time for naps was horrific. There's also not a lot around the hotel so you have to go the City Center to do stuff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedievalMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
30
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We arrived around 9pm following our flight from the UK. Check in was still open and we were greeted by an extremely courteous member of staff who spoke excellent english. Check-in was efficient and we were in our rooms within a matter of minutes.

Rooms are spacious and clean and while there are hotels more centrally located, a 10 minute walk sees you in the heart of the old town (there is a tram stop at the end of the street but we never felt the need to use the trams).

Breakfast is fine and a great way to set you up for the day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbellf2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Thanks to other Trip Advisors, we chose Arcus Hotel for its location and its value. We agree that it was exactly what we paid for: clean room and bathroom, internet access, lovely garden. The quiet street and neighborhood was a bonus. The breakfast was a little dull--eggs and meat options, yogurt, dull bread--yet we know nothing about Slovak food, so it may have been typical and we just did not know. It was a mile walk from the boat terminal and a similar distance from the train station. We walked, and on a very hot day, it was tiring. Still, had it been closer to either terminal or station, we would not have had the quiet street. The reception staff speak varying levels of English, all servicable. Luckily, though, the very fluent staffer was on duty when we needed directions to the airport. She told us how to get to a bus stop just 5 or 6 blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JQFlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I was in Bratislava for few days and found hotel Arcus on internet few days before my arrival. I didnt know what to expect, the pictures on the website www.hotelarcus.sk are looking great, but you know the photoshop users...:) But I was very surprised, that the rooms look exactly the same, also the dining room is that cute in Slovak style like you see on the pics. Like the people here on tripadvisor have said, the receptionists are very nice and helpful and speak great english. So the reality was really that great. I will definitely come again, because I was relaxed and slept well in comfy bed and got the best hot breakfast ever. I will definitely recommend this hotel to everybody who is planning to visit Bratislava. The old town is only 10 minutes walking from the hotel so you can enjoy everyday dinner in the center but when you come back you can relax in a quiet garden behind the hotel. I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisa456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Soth Wales
Level Contributor
227 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We arrived in Bratislava on a train from Vienna and despite the fact that we were only an hour away - it felt like we had travelled back in time. The Hlvana Station is not the best advertisement for Bratislava and we decided to take a taxi to get to our hotel as soon as possible. The taxi driver did not help our intitial impressions of Bratislava as he did not know where the hotel was and proceeded to drive us around whilst reading his map. We paid 20 euro for the privilege. We were quite suprised when we arrived at the hotel as it was tucked away in a quiet residential street and just looked like one of the houses with a sign on it. We had to press a button to gain access to the hotel and the reception was small office - not really what we expected at all. However, this little hotel turned out to be terrific. The lady on reception was exceptionally helpful and her English was superb. The room was quite large and spotlessly clean. I asked for additional pillows and they were delivered in no time. The bathroom was small but very clean and the shower was lovely and hot.
The walk into the centre was about 10 mins but it was flat and not unpleasant.
Bratislava is a small city with very interesting architecture and historical sites. Because the city is so small we were able to visit all the highlights within 2 days. That left us time to visit Castle Devin about 30 mins away by bus from the centre. The castle was amazing and had breathtaking views over the Danube.
Restaurants were plentiful and offered good quality international cuisine.
The skyline bar at the UFO centre on the Novy Most over the Danube is well worth a visit especially for the panoramic sights over the city.
I would advise you use the trams/buses as much as you can as many of the sights such as the Slavin monument are located on the top of a hill.
The hotel room was always warm and comfortable to return to after a hard days sightseeing, the breakfast was very interesting as it felt like you were having breakfast in someones kitchen and the hot breakfast was made freshly for you.
If I ever return to Bratislava again I would seriously consider staying at the Arcus as generally it is a very expensive city and the Arcus was fairly reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyneth006_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed just overnight, so my experience is pretty limited. Rooms are OK, clean and comfy, but pretty basic. No minibar, for example. Its in backstreet, so no traffic noise there. On the other hand it is not really easy to find. It is a Garni hotel, without restaurant or at least little bar. Locked after 11 a.m. I found that a bit dull. Prices in Bratislava went up after the € zone entry. They charged us 102€ for one night. Quite steep, one would say. Parking in garage is 9€. Breakfast was good and rich. Simply just sleep and go.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adalbert12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy777, Manager at Hotel Arcus, responded to this review, March 19, 2009
Thank you for your review, every review of our guests help us to be better. We are a family hotel and trying to give our guests the feeling of home. Whereas you have stayed only one night we couldn´t show you, that we are not that simple. Every room has got a minibar and I am sorry if the receptionist haven´t showed you, where you can find it. Hopefully next time, if you come to our hotel, you´ll like it more. :).
We do not have a restaurant in the hotel, whereas we are a very small hotel and we have few good restaurants in the area. Anytime the guest come to ask us for a good dinner, we give them an advice where they can go or we can also order some food from the outside. Anything the guest ask us for, we are always trying to do our best to make it real.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you

Hotel ARCUS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

My now wife and I stayed here when we were living in Europe. There was a mistake made in our reservation and they did not have a room for us when we arrived so they found us a near by place for the first night, paying for the cab, and in every way taking care of the situation for us. The room was quiet, clean, and looked out on a simple but quiet street. The breakfast was good, but the best part was the friendliness of the staff. For example, We were catching a train at 5 AM when we left so they made us a breakfast to go the night before. Not expected by us but definitely appreciated. Bratislava was great city and Hotel Arcus is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSRING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Mama's Design & Boutique Hotel
Staré Mesto
Hotel Saffron
Hotel Saffron
#24 of 92 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Blue Garni
#30 of 92 in Bratislava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Staré Mesto
APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska
APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska
#25 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Staré Mesto
Hotel Max Inn
Hotel Max Inn
#38 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arcus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arcus

Property: Hotel Arcus
Address: Moskovska 5, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arcus 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ARCUS is a lovely family hotel located in a quiet street only a 10 minutes walk from center of Bratislava – the Old town. Hotel ARCUS’s priority is preservation of the original architecture, thanks to which the rooms are uncommonly spacious and have high ceilings. All single and double rooms are arranged in a distinctive style. Bathrooms are either large and luxurious, with various types of tubs or standard with shower stalls. Hotel ARCUS is also known for its beautiful and quiet garden just behind hotel, which offers guests opportunities for pleasant relaxation and socialising. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Arcus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcus Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing