We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but don't go out of your way to visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bratislava Old Town

Bratislava Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.22*
and up
Private Tour: Bratislava City Tour with Optional Devin Castle Visit
Ranked #1 of 234 things to do in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic neighborhood filled with charming narrow lanes, burgher's houses and nobles' palaces in addition to many of the city's important buildings such as the former Palace of the Hungarian Estates, the late-Gothic building of the Academia Istropolitana and the Leopold de Pauli Palace where Franz Liszt performed as a child.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok but don't go out of your way to visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Took day trip from Vienna with tour group. Ok if you are there. But can see much of the same and better in other parts of eastern Europe. Considering the travel time we should have stayed in V. Liked the unique blue church, the few bronze statues we could find & white house gardens.

Helpful?
1 Thank kathy3755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,795
    2,112
    506
    61
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to visit, eat, and relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

During the warmer months every restaurant has outside seating. There are so many food choices that you could be there for months and still find a new place to eat and drink. Atmosphere is touristy in places with souvenir shops and craft huts, but also very local in others with quiet places to sit, chat, and have a drink. Old town is the best part of Bratislava.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nascartony20fan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
353 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“This is an over-rated city from a tourist perspective”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recognize that Bratislava is an up and coming tourist city. But from a level of interest of the old town, what to see on the free walking tour, the level of restaurants and museums - I would recommend Krakow, Budapest, Sofia, Skopje, Prague, Zagreb, Llubjana and Vienna all over Bratislava for example.

If you have been to most of the capitals in this part of the world and want to see what a city looks like when a highway is put through part of the old town and when the museums have limited exhibits on history but is still a capital city of a country - then Bratislava might be of limited interest (as it was to me for the day we were there).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
247 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Cool place to walkabout! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Narrow lanes old buildings some interesting sights! A cool place to hangout for a few drinks or chill in a cafe! Not as big a so thought it would be but still a cool quirky area!

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“highly recommended day trip from Budapest to Bratislava”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

HOW TO REACH: From Budapest's central railway station Keleti pu (It takes about 2.45 hours by the eurocity train - direct connection). The train is in good condition but have no great expactations... We enjoyed the scenery.
OLD TOWN: It surprised us pleasantly. Full of well preserved historique buildings, statues, squares and alleys. Extremely clean. (There are homeless drunk people but too few to mention comparing to Budapest). Truly picturesque!.... One can find a lot of nice cafes and restaurants (not very expensive, cheaper than Vienna).
TIPS: 1) We booked our EC international tickets online (a month before our departure) via the hungarian railway site( mav.hu) and collected them at one of the Ticket Collection Points located at Keleti railway station one day before our journey. Really easy and cheaper. First class (compartement of 6 seats), comfortable, return journey, 2 adults, one child 13 years old, about 130 euros (it includes seat reservation which is compulsory). We visited Bratislava on a July Monday and the tain from Keleti station was crowded. On our return journey we had a whole compartement to ourselves!....
2) BE CAREFUL WHEN YOU BOOK YOUR TICKETS ONLINE! Choose: From: Budapest Keleti pu , To: Bratislava hl. st. (It stands for Budapest Keleti central station and Bratislava central station).
3) BE CAREFUL OF THE TAXI DRIVERS . Very expensive and careless driving. We took a taxi to get us from the old town to the railway station. It was extremely hot. It costed us 30 euros for a short distance!... Not only they ripped us off but we had a car accident as well!.... Outside the Bratislava railway station there are a lot of buses to take you everywhere.
4) NICE DINNER AT OLD TOWN: We came across a nice outdoor restaurant called "SLADOVNA" (House of Beer). Beautiful atmosphere, clean, large portions and very good beer (See our review).
5) ON MONDAYS THE MUSEUM CASTLE IS CLOSED. We were able to see only the surroundings.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Family M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bratislava Old Town also viewed

Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
Bratislava, Bratislava Region
 

Been to Bratislava Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing