We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really basic”
Review of Hotel Kyjev

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kyjev
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Risan, Montenegro
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really basic”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My room was on the 10th floor, but unfortunately, turned to the less-appealing side of Bratislava, so the view wasn't really attractive. The bed was comfortable enough, and the Internet worked just fine. Food was okay, but nothing special. The receptionist spoke limited English and wasn't too friendly. The location is really good, the Old town is a few minutes walk away, and there's a Tesco adjacent to the hotel. The Trabant is an interesting detail.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilikilikila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    77
    107
    56
    58
See reviews for
20
95
50
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel needs an urgent revit. !
Stay at this hotel if you do like old cold war movies... If want the feeling that you're sleeping under surveillance of an indoor camera... If you want the feeling they are recording your voice on the bedroom and on the phone... If you want the feeling that there are some KGB agents next door...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DudaLoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bratislava hotels

India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in hotel Kyjev for 2 nights. We arrived by train from Prague and the hotel was an easy tram ride away from the Central Station. It looks impressive and grand from the exterior and it was an important hotel during the days of communist regime when some important personalities also stayed here but now it has lost much of its charm. The carpets and the walls all need extensive renovation.
There is a TESCO supermarket just nearby and the historic old town of Bratislava is also a few minutes walking distance away.
The breakfast was fine except for the juice which was diluted to a large extent which spoiled its taste

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arif_kool2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel is a mere shadow of what it once was. A solid (?) concrete monolith built during the hey day of the communist regime. The bathroom was covered in mildew, the carpets were threadbare, the ceilings were water stained and the lift shook. But, the breakfast was huge and the bed linen clean. The biggest bonus was they let me park my motorbike in the lobby because they were frightened it would be stolen!!!! I walked into the best restaurant in town and had an amazing meal with wine then strolled back to the Hotel Kyjev; the best and worst in one night but both memorable for different reasons.

Room Tip: The higher the better but you may find whole floors closed so choice can be limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights while backpacking in europe. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were higher up in the hotel and the views were brilliant. Breakfast was basic but filled the spot. Security deposit and free internet were definite perks. Would recommend to anyone that doesnt expect 5* luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatterboxmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I can't disagree with the reviewers who say the Hotel Kyjev is dumpy and dirty (I didn't really find it that dirty, just run down.) The rooms are very minimal and the beds are pretty bad; but I recommend it for the complete Soviet experience--except, the staff were friendly and helpful, which I suppose doesn't jibe with the "Soviet experience." I agree with other reviewers that the breakfast buffet is excellent and huge. My wife HATED this hotel. It was overrun by drunken German young men. (NB: I have nothing against Germans.) I wouldn't venture anywhere near the bar. The drunks really repulsed my wife--we stayed only one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hotel Kyjev was an excellent budget hotel! It definitely has a feeling of communist-Soviet era, but it actually was very amusing and added a bit of personality. The rooms are perfectly fine, considering it was a budget hotel and the breakfast was amazing!!! There was free internet/computers and staff was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney201199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,470 reviews
Staré Mesto
APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska
APLEND CITY Hotel Michalska
#23 of 92 in Bratislava
291 reviews
Old City Hotel
#50 of 92 in Bratislava
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Devin
#10 of 92 in Bratislava
595 reviews
Crowne Plaza Bratislava
#12 of 92 in Bratislava
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kyjev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kyjev

Property: Hotel Kyjev
Address: Rajska 2, Bratislava 811 08, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kyjev 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel located in the center of the old town, adjacent to department stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kyjev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyjev Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing