We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“reasonable prices for the location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Astra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Astra
Ranked #66 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“reasonable prices for the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

The hotel is not very far away from city center - just a few stops by bus even walking there is not exhausting. As each two rooms share a bathroom and toilet I think it's ideal for families or group of friends. It didn't look full to me so it's possible that the other room won't be occupied while you are staying. There was a small shared fridge what is great especially in summer. The rooms were spacious and clean. The only thing is that the double bed is actually two single beds put together but it's not really a big deal.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    23
    3
    9
See reviews for
14
17
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

The good: everything within walking distance, friendly and helpful staff.
The bad: hotel next to a busy road, the bathrooms are shared (with the room next door), the room equipment was rather basic, but comfortable. However, I can't help mentioning we were expecting a bit more for our money.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netbakter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

arrived into bratislava had no accomodation booked tried some hotels in city centre which were very expensive went to tourist information centre and they booked hotel astra over phone for us got tram type bus which stopped 40 meteres from hotel. we were checked in very quickly and given an apartment. the apartment was very clean seperate shower and toilet. the living room was very large and had a tv with some english channels tea and coffee making facilitys were provided fridge contained two complimentary bottles of water and two cans of lager bedroom was. large spacious breakfast is self service and caters for all tastes and costt just under 5euro per person. the chinese resturant is well worth a visit not expensive starter main course glass of wine bottle of beer dessert and coffee for two cost about 30euro. hotel accomodation was excellent the only thing cheap was the price which is listed in price list would i stay there again?? definitely.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank boscoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2005

As a party of 5 we had two rooms booked in what the website described as a 'cell'! Rooms were spacious with satellite TV and the two rooms shared a small private lobby with fridge, toilet and shower. Each room had a balcony.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good. A 30 minute public transport ticket could get you to most places using the trolley bus or bus from near the hotel. With trolley bus 202 you could be in the centre in less than 10 minutes. Taxis were reasonably priced and were in ready supply outside the hotel. Great Chinese restaurant below the hotel. Recommend the Bonjour Buffet-style restaurant in the Apollo Centre near the hotel (5 minute walk towards town) for excellent quality Slovak and intenational food at good prices. Rooms cost us around 2700SKK (about £50 per night) in total.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank wangdangdelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
1.8 mi away
Old City Hotel
Old City Hotel
#43 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.0 mi away
Penzion Berg
Penzion Berg
#85 of 94 in Bratislava
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Plus
Hotel Plus
#78 of 94 in Bratislava
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Remy
Hotel Remy
#73 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Color
Hotel Color
#41 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Set
Hotel Set
#28 of 94 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra

Property: Hotel Astra
Address: Prievozska 14/A, Bratislava 821 09, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astra 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing