We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price”
Review of Hotel Astra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Astra
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Two rooms sharing one bathroom, one toilet and one fridge but the hotel claims you won't have any stranger next to you. We needed a hotel for one night during our trip and this was a good choice - not too far from the city center (you can walk, take your car, take your bike or a bus), good price. The service was pretty good too. I can recommend this hotel if you are not looking for luxury but for a bed to sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Astra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 69 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel Astra is located in Bratislava, 4 km from the historic city center. It offers functionally furnished rooms and suites with private balconies and free Wi-Fi.
All rooms and suites include a seating area, a work desk and satellite TV. Private bathrooms are equipped with toiletries, hairdryer and slippers.
I love it. Great value to guality .Rooms clean, courteous staff. Free parking when booking

Room Tip: better to choose a room from the parking lot
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANDRZEJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The suite we booked was completely renovated and featured a bedroom and a living room that were both large and convenient. The living room featured a sofa that was easily opened into a comfortable double bed. The bathroom was clean and nice. And the hotel offered a free parking for bookings made trough Booking.com. Although it is not located in the city center it takes you only 15 minutes by bus to get to the center.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We crashed here for a night while touring by bicycle. We could leave the bikes in the parking lot situated in the back of the hotel, locked right next to the guard's cabin, which was great. As far as the rooms go, each two rooms share one toilet and bathroom, and the ventilation in the toilet was poor. The fridge is also shared, and would not feel ok leaving food over there if the next room would be occupied by strangers. Beds were comfy enough, but then again we were so tired we could have slept on the floor. Location-wise, it's pretty close to the city center - we got there on our bikes, but it's reachable on foot as well. We had rooms with view in the back, so the busy traffic on the road in front of the hotel was not an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rasebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We used this hotel many time with little children. How did is start? Sometime around mid 1990s we looked for a hotel that would be good for our family (two of us plus two daughters). We took a hotel list from yellow pages and called one by one. Hotels there were far from being friendly, and Astra was the first place, where they were polite and helpful.

We boked that time, and ever since when we were in Bratislava (at least once a year) two rooms in Hotel Astra. We stayed in the bigger one (one double bed and a single one that we did not use) and our daughters occupied the smaller one (twin room). The shared bathroom was not an issue, because we shared it within a family, and we had access to our children. It is not so easy to travel with small children and have the in a separate room. It is not nice to have them in the same room as parents. So the setup of Astra was just fitting to us. Maybe it cold be your case as well.

We always booked over the phone or e-mail, the room was waiting for us, even without a credit card.

We always used the hotel parking that is guarded 24/24, 7/7 -- with our car or a rental one, it was comfortable. There is a nice and reasonable priced breakfast room on the first floor.

The hotel hosts the oldest Chinese restaurant in Bratislava. It is really good. When you want to have a cheaper formula, there is a buffet section. We go to the a la carte part, and we are satisfier, even if that is not for budget travellers. The main road may be noisy, but don't go to Bratislava, if you dislike a busy city. The hotel has a distance from the road, double windows andhalf of the room face the other side. Myself I like the road, I like to watch people going after their business, I like the city, and this is a quiet part of the city. You shouod take a trolleybus to the city, but that is easy. Don't forget to stamp you ticket inside the vehicle as soon as you get one (I use rental cars).

Our daughters are adults now, they do not go on holidays to Bratislava with us anymore. As we love this hotel, we book a suite with an ample living, very nice berdroom, beautiful furnishing and an ample dressing.

There is a refigerator, but you have to fill it in yourselves. Should you wish to have a room service and a minibar, then book Radisson, and accept the higher price. This one is just exceeding its two or three stars classification.

Room Tip: (1) Book two room if you are a family or a group. (2) Book a studio (apartment) if you are just a c...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juraj_Beirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The hotel is not very far away from city center - just a few stops by bus even walking there is not exhausting. As each two rooms share a bathroom and toilet I think it's ideal for families or group of friends. It didn't look full to me so it's possible that the other room won't be occupied while you are staying. There was a small shared fridge what is great especially in summer. The rooms were spacious and clean. The only thing is that the double bed is actually two single beds put together but it's not really a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

The good: everything within walking distance, friendly and helpful staff.
The bad: hotel next to a busy road, the bathrooms are shared (with the room next door), the room equipment was rather basic, but comfortable. However, I can't help mentioning we were expecting a bit more for our money.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netbakter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Hotel Bratislava
#37 of 92 in Bratislava
183 reviews
Hotel Blue Garni
#29 of 92 in Bratislava
75 reviews
Hotel Set
#31 of 92 in Bratislava
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#18 of 92 in Bratislava
1,498 reviews
Hotel Nivy
#49 of 92 in Bratislava
55 reviews
Aston Business Hotel
#34 of 92 in Bratislava
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra

Address: Prievozska 14/A, Bratislava 821 09, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range: $96 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astra 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing