We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for families with children”
Review of Hotel Astra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Astra
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Bratislava
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We used this hotel many time with little children. How did is start? Sometime around mid 1990s we looked for a hotel that would be good for our family (two of us plus two daughters). We took a hotel list from yellow pages and called one by one. Hotels there were far from being friendly, and Astra was the first place, where they were polite and helpful.

We boked that time, and ever since when we were in Bratislava (at least once a year) two rooms in Hotel Astra. We stayed in the bigger one (one double bed and a single one that we did not use) and our daughters occupied the smaller one (twin room). The shared bathroom was not an issue, because we shared it within a family, and we had access to our children. It is not so easy to travel with small children and have the in a separate room. It is not nice to have them in the same room as parents. So the setup of Astra was just fitting to us. Maybe it cold be your case as well.

We always booked over the phone or e-mail, the room was waiting for us, even without a credit card.

We always used the hotel parking that is guarded 24/24, 7/7 -- with our car or a rental one, it was comfortable. There is a nice and reasonable priced breakfast room on the first floor.

The hotel hosts the oldest Chinese restaurant in Bratislava. It is really good. When you want to have a cheaper formula, there is a buffet section. We go to the a la carte part, and we are satisfier, even if that is not for budget travellers. The main road may be noisy, but don't go to Bratislava, if you dislike a busy city. The hotel has a distance from the road, double windows andhalf of the room face the other side. Myself I like the road, I like to watch people going after their business, I like the city, and this is a quiet part of the city. You shouod take a trolleybus to the city, but that is easy. Don't forget to stamp you ticket inside the vehicle as soon as you get one (I use rental cars).

Our daughters are adults now, they do not go on holidays to Bratislava with us anymore. As we love this hotel, we book a suite with an ample living, very nice berdroom, beautiful furnishing and an ample dressing.

There is a refigerator, but you have to fill it in yourselves. Should you wish to have a room service and a minibar, then book Radisson, and accept the higher price. This one is just exceeding its two or three stars classification.

Room Tip: (1) Book two room if you are a family or a group. (2) Book a studio (apartment) if you are just a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juraj_Beirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 70 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2010

The hotel is not very far away from city center - just a few stops by bus even walking there is not exhausting. As each two rooms share a bathroom and toilet I think it's ideal for families or group of friends. It didn't look full to me so it's possible that the other room won't be occupied while you are staying. There was a small shared fridge what is great especially in summer. The rooms were spacious and clean. The only thing is that the double bed is actually two single beds put together but it's not really a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

The good: everything within walking distance, friendly and helpful staff.
The bad: hotel next to a busy road, the bathrooms are shared (with the room next door), the room equipment was rather basic, but comfortable. However, I can't help mentioning we were expecting a bit more for our money.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netbakter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

arrived into bratislava had no accomodation booked tried some hotels in city centre which were very expensive went to tourist information centre and they booked hotel astra over phone for us got tram type bus which stopped 40 meteres from hotel. we were checked in very quickly and given an apartment. the apartment was very clean seperate shower and toilet. the living room was very large and had a tv with some english channels tea and coffee making facilitys were provided fridge contained two complimentary bottles of water and two cans of lager bedroom was. large spacious breakfast is self service and caters for all tastes and costt just under 5euro per person. the chinese resturant is well worth a visit not expensive starter main course glass of wine bottle of beer dessert and coffee for two cost about 30euro. hotel accomodation was excellent the only thing cheap was the price which is listed in price list would i stay there again?? definitely.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank boscoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2005

As a party of 5 we had two rooms booked in what the website described as a 'cell'! Rooms were spacious with satellite TV and the two rooms shared a small private lobby with fridge, toilet and shower. Each room had a balcony.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good. A 30 minute public transport ticket could get you to most places using the trolley bus or bus from near the hotel. With trolley bus 202 you could be in the centre in less than 10 minutes. Taxis were reasonably priced and were in ready supply outside the hotel. Great Chinese restaurant below the hotel. Recommend the Bonjour Buffet-style restaurant in the Apollo Centre near the hotel (5 minute walk towards town) for excellent quality Slovak and intenational food at good prices. Rooms cost us around 2700SKK (about £50 per night) in total.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank wangdangdelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank thomasstiegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones no tienen aire acondicionado, por lo tanto se duerme con ventanas abiertas y hay qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorggior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Aston Business Hotel
#37 of 93 in Bratislava
83 reviews
Staré Mesto
Film Hotel
Film Hotel
#46 of 93 in Bratislava
191 reviews
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 93 in Bratislava
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Bratislava Gate One
#8 of 93 in Bratislava
770 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#20 of 93 in Bratislava
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astra

Address: Prievozska 14/A, Bratislava 821 09, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range: $96 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astra 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astra Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing