We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's a dirty place!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Turist

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Turist
Ranked #79 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Cislago, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What's a dirty place!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I chose this hotel because it was close to the company with whom I had a meeting. It cost 40 €e for night without breakfast. I thought it was a right price for being in the suburbs of Bratislava. They give me a room at the first floor, very noisy. One windows was broken so that it remained opened all the night and I did not feel safe. There was a strong smell of pee in the room, the carpet was filthy and smelly. There was a small room with the toilet (it's not good for fat people) and another small room with shower and washbasin. In the room there were 2 beds with shabby sheets with holes in apparently clean, not big enough to cover the old brown mattress. The chairs were dirty too. I spent a nightmarish night, a hostel would have been better and cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura Cristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    21
    14
    13
See reviews for
13
18
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Torremolinos, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

To start with the good points.
The hotel has been revamped recently so reviews which suggest it is run down are out of date.
The rooms are a good size and the bathroom has a good walk in shower with plenty of hot water and excellent power.
Now the bad bits.
The hotel does not have a lift. There is no bar and no lounge. The rooms have dining style chairs , good for working at a desk but not for relaxing. The bed was basic, noisy but reasonably comfortable, The pillow (1 only) was lumpy but OK once the lumps had been suitably arranged.
I stayed in June and it got light at 4.30ish. There was no blackout curtain and sleep was intermittent after that. It was bright enough to read even with all curtains closed.
The towels - one per person - were hand towels only and some you could almost read through. Flying Ryanair makes it important to have decent towels in a room. Towel change didn't happen unless one asked for it. Free toiletries were one small bar of basic soap and one shower gel, no replacements. Again who wants to go over Ryanair's weight.
Breakfast was very basic, e.g cereal,milk, fruit yoghurt (no plain available) bread butter. There were a number of items which could be substituted for the cereal but you couldn't have e.g. cereal and scrambled eggs without two charges.
Only one key per room, but the door closer didn't work so you could let yourself in and then pop the key back downstairs .
It took me an hour to walk into the city so I don't believe 1.2 kms, but the no 9 tram went in for 70 cents so transport links were good.
The area is mainly residential but there are a few hotels nearby and some restaurants. I found an excellent new style cafe restaurant not far away but I didn't get the address. Very helpful and pleasant staff and a very good baguette. Turn right out of the hotel, right again and at the lights cross diagonally to walk in front of a modern block. About 200metres along.
Wi fi was free but a bit slow.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left of the corridor won't get the morning sun but may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bratislava hotels

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night in this hotel before travelling on to Vienna. Bratislava is only 40 miles from Vienna. 75 minutes by train or 90 romantic minutes along the River Danube. The hotel is about 10 minutes by tram from the centre. Taxis are expensive. No area of Bratislava appears smart apart from the old town centre so the hotel's situation seems a little "dubious".
The reception staff spoke good english and were very helpful advising on trams etc. The room was not big but was very clean. There was a desk, chair and wardrobe. The TV was very small and showed no english language channels. The bathroom had sink, wc and a shower (no bath). Not enough towels provided and cheap toiletries. Everything negative aside however, this hotel provided reasonable value for an overnight stay considering you are in a capital city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgeC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

It's OK as long as you're not looking for anything special. The room is clean, room-service tidies up every day and leaves fresh towels. The hotel does look pretty old, but the prices are decent for what they offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkWithoutRhythm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Old looking hotel (indoors), very poor room service (4 nights without changing towels and bed sheets), very very very poor breakfast (better option would be buying some groceries for breakfast at the supermarket Billa nearby), location not so bad (not right in the centre but with a good connection by tram, bus, trolleybus), the hotel is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood without many opportunities for night life so I wouldn´t recommend it for stag parties or for young couples at all...even though it´s not expensive hotel, it definetely ain´t worth the money, go somewhere else if you want to enjoy your stay in Bratislava.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veronika0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admin-turist, Manager at Hotel Turist, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Dear Ms. Veronika.

We appologize if your stay did not turned out as you planned and are sorry you did not address your complains to us when you were staying here. We try to do our best if there is something that our guests are not satisfied about.
Our hotel is under reconstruction for a year now and more is planned, since we reallize it´s an older building that needs to be reconstructed. As for the room service, we are in a category of one star hotels - these do not change towels and sheets every day as higher category hotels. Of course if we are asked by a guest to change them more often, we have no problem doing that at all.
You have also mentioned not being satisfied with our restaurant. We offer 14 choices for breakfast, so it is really up to you, if you decide to choose something from the menu or not to eat at all.
Thank you for your review and in the name of all hotels, please let the staff know immediately if you are not satisfied with something during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
157 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

The long and short of it is that even at £50 per night per room, it was not good value for money. You need to consider that in the UK, a Travelodge can cost around £40 for a double room - which would be sheer luxury by comparison to the Turist.

Room security was poor; a couple of rooms of our party couldn't close windows at all. It was dirty, dingy, and resembled a borstal more than a hotel. Bathrooms were awful and toilets looked like they needed a good scrub. Our beds were made up of 3 flat sofa cushions instead of a mattress. The bed sheets had holes which had been mended by sewing and patching up. Towels were hand towels. No bath or shower towels were available when asked at reception.

Be warned that if you arrive after 6:30pm they do not guarantee you a room - small print on some of our parties booking confirmations did indicate this. Ours however didn't. There was one girl on night reception who was friendly and spoke good english, and she smiled, but was the only member of staff who did.

Passports were another thing. They take your passport when you check in - apparently to check - no idea what they're checking, they didn't speak enough english to explain that part coincidentally. When we went to collect them the next morning we were told we'd have to pay for the full amount of our stay to have both returned to us - or pay for one night and get one passport back. Very odd.

We didn't eat there - I could barely face the shower in fairness so wasn't about to try the food. Someone has previously commented on the Hockey Club a few doors down, we ate there. Nice food, reasonably priced and is a chance to keep away from Hotel Turist for just that bit longer.

Be warned, don't stay there unless you're a hardened traveller who wants nothing more than a flat cushion to sleep on and a loo to pee in cos that's all you get.

Seriously bad.

  • Liked — There is nothing I liked in any way shape or form
  • Disliked — Location (abt 40min walk from Brat Old Town), Cleanliness, Poor Security, Lack of Service, Facilities
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissV-MiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

Stayed at hotel for two nights.Pulled up at hotel, in middle of residential area. Rooms - nothing like internet photos.Stains up the walls. 40 yrs+ decor everywhere. no lifts and hotel is on 5 floors. one of my friends sheets had blood on.beds - rock hard.bathroom - postage stamp/ old and filthy.no fridge when told on website there would be.feet stuck to carpet in rooms they were that old.Windows don't lock or close properly.No air con and it was hot.room security is very poor, one lock that appeared as though it had been forced open numerous times.no safety deposit box in room or at hotel.passports stayed with hotel within box for each room visible from reception desk and in easy reach to grab and steal.Restaurant for breakfast - miss it and have an early lunch. this was just like the pictures on the website, same chairs/decor and it appears same food was served. don't have scrambled eggs if you do risk it.All in all, worth paying an extra £15-20 each (if that) for a town centre location/air conditioned hotel - much less hassle!One saving grace was the hockey club. out of hotel turn right and its 100 feet on the right. bar downstairs and big garden/terrace area at the back. lovely food/drink. cheap and great people running it! Bratislava itself was great. loads of bars/clubs etc. just not hotel turist!!!All accept hockey club, out of hotel turn right and its on the right. really great people in there, cheap to eat and drink.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everthing very old.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyWEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
3.4 mi away
Penzion Berg
Penzion Berg
#85 of 94 in Bratislava
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Plus
Hotel Plus
#78 of 94 in Bratislava
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Remy
Hotel Remy
#73 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Old City Hotel
Old City Hotel
#43 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astra
Hotel Astra
#66 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Color
Hotel Color
#41 of 94 in Bratislava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turist

Property: Hotel Turist
Address: Ondavska 5, Bratislava 821 08, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 94 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Turist 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Turist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turist Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing