We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Devin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Devin
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a stag do, this is a really nice and pleasant hotel more for couples and families than a group of lads. Would stay again good quality hotel and cantrally based. All restruants and attractions are nearby the quality of food in all venues was fab and the portions are huge. Would be good to visit again as a couple to explore.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Moisprandceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    154
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
54
145
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I travel for business and i have never experienced kinder and more helpful hotel staff than the staff at this hotel. I recently spent two nights here and left a beloved personal item in the hotel room. I have left things in hotel rooms before and have always just accepted the loss. the reception staff emailed me to ask me if I had left the item and then offered to mail to me to the other side of the planet!! I was gobsmacked at the thoughtfulness. Besides this, the room was tastefully decorated, the bed was wonderful and all amenities terrific. It was comfortable and perfectly located in the old town and a 3- minute walk to the airport bus under the bridge. The only challenge was room service. The service staff was again kind and friendly but the food that was delivered was not great quality and lacking items such as condiments, serviette etc. despite this, i will stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. Thank you again for making my stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldevin, Director of Sales at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Good morning and greetings to Canada!
Thanks for your feedback! Yes, people are key factor for success in hotel industry and this is why we do spent a lot of time with selection and training of our staff. Its not easy but it is nice to hear that we do our job well:) And for the future we will improve also the room service, we are just finishing our new offers!
Wish you a nice stay in Hotel Devin during your next stay in Bratislava:)
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I actually have a hotel in Bratislava that I love but changed my mind for this trip and at the last minute booked at Hotel Devin. So very glad I did.

First impression was great, the hotel looks and feels like you have stepped back in time a little. Lots of old world charm. Service was fantastic from the staff on checkin and the complementary bottle of wine was a great touch.

Room was big with a great view of the river and UFO bridge. Bed was comfortable and the rain shower was great.

Other people have mentioned the traffic noise, there was some noise at night especially from trams which I occasionally noticed but it didnt wake either of us up at any time in our 3 night stay.

One negative with the room was the movies on the TV, the movies feature isnt enabled yet on their TVs so if you choose the cinema pack on the TV you actually only get access to the "special special movies" as the front desk called them when I called up to find out what was happening.

The location really is fantastic, everything is right at your doorstep. We especially loved dinner at the UFO restaurant just over the bridge.

We also checked out the spa area which was decent with both a wet and dry sauna and heated pool. Was nice to warm up in the steam room after a chilly couple of days sightseeing.

Finally the breakfast wasn't anything amazing but had a wide selection at least and did the job. The only downside to the breakfast was the coffee, every morning I regretted saying yes to the coffee.

Overall loved the hotel, really helped make the stay great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

What a great hotel...They have got it just right in terms of Price vs Service. The location is just right, a short walk from the old town and located in the Embassy District. I stay in an Executive Room and these are spacious and clean with a balcony to sit so you can sit and enjoy the view..(if you are at the front). The rooms have bath robes, separate toilet& super comfortable beds as well as all the equipment you would need. The free wifi is a big plus. The staff are very good, a great combination of being professional and friendly without being over familiar. I have not tried to pool yet so cannot comment but have just booked another stay...so will try this time.

The only down side for me was the breakfast...a little boring, but not bad just same every day and a small thing the rooms have tea and coffee but the tea is always green tea..no regular black tea...who drinks green tea outside china???

In conclusion there are some other hotels in the area of very good standard Shereton, Kempinski..but you pay a ridiculous amount for these rooms...THE DEVIN HAVE GOT IT RIGHT...Keep up the good work and I for one will come back again and again.

Room Tip: Exec room facing the river is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldevin, Director of Sales at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Mark,

thanks for your positive feedback! We have changed our breakfast offers recently, so I believe you will enjoy our breakfast buffet during your next stay. And we will get 5 points instead of 4 in your next review:)

Our main strategy is based on providing excellent quality for good (NOT CHEAP!) rates. This is the only strategy to have long-term success in hospitality from my point of view...

Looking forward to your next stay!

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liptovsky Mikulas, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Hello, I would like to share with other travelers our fantastic experiences and beautiful stay in Hotel Devin, Slovakia. The hotel is situated in old town of the city in quiet zone and easy reachable from highway. The rooms are comfortable, clean and equipped with all necessary devices. The equipment, staff, support and overall services are on high level. Employees were polite, nice and well-informed. You can also spend a pleasant time in spa. I can only give you a strong recommendation to visit this hotel. And do not forget to ask for Ebenicca coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin_cibula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed there for new year's eve 2012/2013 and had a good time. The room, directly viewing to the Danube was great, as was the spa and pool area. The hotel still has some kind of "old charm", in the best sense of it and it is located directly adjactent to the old town and major tourist attractions of Bratislava. Value for money was fine. Only thing that was strange was, that we had to pay two separate bills, one for 2012 at the beginning of our stay and one for 2013 at the end, obviously for tax/accounting reasons. However, that was rather inconvenient as i.e. it was not possible to charge extra consumption on 31st of December on the room, but we had to directly pay cash/credit card.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldevin, Director of Sales at Hotel Devin, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sanja and Ben,

I am really happy you have spent a nice time during the New Years Eve in Bratislava. Thank you for positive review and sorry for the inconvenience with two separate bills - we have to follow all regulations:)

We will be happy to welcome you again!

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Devin is very conveniently located if you are arriving into Bratislava from Vienna city or Vienna airport. I would recommend using the Blaguss Slovakia bus service which stops about one block away from the hotel - much more convenient than coming on the train as the train station is quite far away. While Bratislava is a small city to being with, the hotel has an excellent location - about 5 minute walk from the city center, opera etc.

The hotel staff is very helpful, especially the lady at the front desk (I think her name is Veronika). They have a cafe and bar, which seemed to be open all day. The rooms are decent-sized, I was in a single bedroom (No. 403) but it was quite large. There is coffee in the room. Breakfast spread is good. Wi-Fi is free and works everywhere, and good enough to make VOIP calls.

On the whole a great value for both tourists and business travelers - biggest advantage is location. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MapsAndStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 93 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 93 in Bratislava
5.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#9 of 93 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Devin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Devin

Property: Hotel Devin
Address: Riechna 4, Bratislava 811 02, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bratislava
#7 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
#12 Business Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Devin 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel located in the historical centre of Bratislava offers the harmony of a pleasant atmosphere and the glamour of the past along with modern facilities and excellent services. Rooms and suites with an exclusive view of the Danube River and Bratislava Castle, an elegant French Restaurant, an intimate Spa Centre, traditional Thai massages and conference rooms for corporate and private events. You can experience all of this in a hotel with the true atmosphere of old Bratislava. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Devin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devin Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing