We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
58
175
130
45
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
175
130
45
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat hotelufo towergreat locationgreat boatdecent budget hotelopen the curtainsold towncity centrepateufo restauranta couple of minutes walkrooms are cleandouble bedcomfortable stayshort stayyogurtdanube
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 431 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Just got back from staying in Botel Gracia on a stag weekend. Location for bars and the old town is ideal only 5 mins walk even Tesco's isn't too far for essentials (water, Frazzles, cheesy poofs, paracetamol etc). As for the Botel itself, it is very dated and low end. Cabins are OK but the beds and bathroom are small and we had no curtains which was nice in the mornings after lots of local beer. Safety deposit in reception was free to use which is good. It is noisy in the mornings from other boats and traffic on the main road and we were even hit by another boat one morning, but all in all a good place to crash out if that's all u want. Rooms were serviced every day to a certain extent and were clean for their age. Bar on the top deck is nice in the heat with the river breeze on your face (you can almost imagine you are somewhere nicer). It is pretty cheap for drinks compared with the main town although again very dated with a club singer in the afternoons (Ace). Breakfast is a experience in itself unless you like hot dogs on stale rolls, strange sausage shaped things that resemble road kill or fried eggs and sliced ham chucked in together (known as the Ham 'n' egg combo). There is cereal and fruit which was the saving grace. Overall, ideal for Stag parties but don't expect any romance if you take the missus.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FrazzleJaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

It seemed to us a very good idea to book this hotel which is in fact a boat on the Danube. It happened to be a really bad idea. Rooms are cabins' boat, so they're really tiny. Our experience was really bad for various reasons : TV didn't work at all, radio neither, furniture are really old (it's obvious that they haven't been renewed for at least 20 years). The room was small with a bathroom designed for dwarves. The room was quite dirty with suspiscious stains on the carpet. The mattress is a wooden board so expect to have back pain !!
We were supposed to have the breakfast included. Nobody was attending on the morning in the breakfast room. We had to go and ask someone to cook for us something to eat !
Finally, our room was just next to the machine room and the noise was constant.
Well, in fact we could sum up our stay in two words : don't go !

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Fab1431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislav B, Guest Relations Manager at Botel Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

In response to the review listed above, Botel Gracia management
would like to provide it's customers with up to date information.

First of all there has been change in our facility's ownership. New
owner invested enough money to completely renovate whole hotel
before upcoming year 2012. This means new walls, new beds, furniture,
carpets, curtains, bathrooms etc. From reception through rooms and even
a restaurant. However we cannot change the room size. It is
18m2 and for everybody to decide on their own if it is big enough.

If you want something spacy check out our suite with it's 100m2,
private terrace and presidential design.

New beds are comfortable and this also applies to sofas in the rooms.

Breakfast in our facility nowadays includes almost everything you
can think of. It is served from 7AM till 10 AM and never late.

We are sorry for your bad experience with our hotel. However we would
like to see you in our hotel once again to feel the difference we provide
today.

Miroslav Bencic
Public Relations manager
marketing@botelgracia.sk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Judging by the tone of some of the comments about the Botel Gracia, you’d think it was a floating Nissen hut. It isn’t.

The breakfast wasn’t the best in the world – fair enough. Also, I agree that the toilet / showers are small. But my room was clean and tidy, with a comfortable bed. Also, my room/cabin was kept very warm. Remember, this was mid Dec when the outside temperature didn’t get above -8 degrees C.

Granted, it’s not the Ritz, but despite these minor gripes, how many people can say they’ve woken up, pulled back the curtains in their ‘room’ and there’s the mighty Danube flowing by only feet way?!

The Botel Garcia is a perfectly adequate low-cost accommodation option in a superb location in central Bratislava.

  • Stayed: December 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HongKongFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

I've just returned on Monday after staying in the Botel Gracia with a stag of 21 people from Sunderland. It was not as bad as people made out. Admittedly I wouldn't take my lass there like but for groups of hens and stags its perfectly okay? They let you get away with murder, the rooms are clean but look like they are from the 60's, the location is class and we generally had a good time there.

The breakfast was a bit of a mess with only eggs and bread worth eating really. They have hotdogs and some other thing but I wouldnt eat them like.

The Barok Botel Nightclub next door was okay. Sometimes you had to pay a 50 Korun (£1) to get in, then other times you didnt?

Drinks are about £1.20 in the Botel Gracia and about the same in the club next door.

Watch out for buying wine and food in the centre of Bratislava as we got ripped on our first night so we didnt eat anymore (apart from Maccy D's).

The minibar in the botel rooms is cheap as well and they didnt charge us for loads of beer.

Enjoy lads and lasses anyway!

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank DeeJayCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2006

Be warned! Dare to stay at the Botel Boca Gracia at your own peril. I agree with nugenae that the botel's website is misleading and brochures of the place are not accurate representations of the reality that is the Botel Gracia. We read these reviews before we went and were wary of the botel. However, our group agreed that online reviews do not reflect the opinion of everybody. So, off we went thinking "it can't be that bad" but believe me it is! So bad that our group made up the following song:

"Welcome to the Botel California, such a shabby place, (even!) when you're off your face"....

If you are determined to stay on the botel try to get a room on the river side not the bank side as these are not as gloomy. The floor on the same level as the reception has a distinctive (but unpleasant) smell that is not as bad on other floors so try to avoid that floor as well.

This hotel is not suitable for tall people as the showers are very small and when you sit on the loo your knees will touch the wall. The beds are hard and the staff gave a mixed response to our group. Also some dodgy stains on the carpet. Basically if you're going to Bratislava with any other intention aside from getting so drunk you won't care where your sleeping I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

The location of the Boca Gracia is excellent. At the botel you will find budget accomodation which is easily matched in price by other 'pension' hotels in Bratislava of a much better quality. For something a bit more upmarket but still affordable I would suggest the Hotel Danube over the road from the botel. The Danube is also in an excellent location, has marvellous views, friendly staff, no odd smells or stains, and a price can be negotiated (especially at the weekend).

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank MissCamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislav B, Guest Relations Manager at Botel Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

It is almost five years from the date the review above has been posted.

Botel Gracia MUST react on review such as this one for in five years there
have been many changes around the hotel including ownerschip change
and complete renovation.

After complete renovation (2011) we are not experiencing any smell at all.

Rooms have new walls, carpets, new comfy beds, new furniture, completely
new bathrooms, curtains...basicly everything.

New owner has turned the hotel in one happy place for most of our customers.

We are disappointed in previous management as much as you are.
You are welcome to visit us anytime and see the difference for yourself.

Miroslav Bencic
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews