We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No ambiance-just for get a sleep”
Review of Tatra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tatra Hotel
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Bratislava
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was here several times in several rooms. Try to get a double!
Different rooms, different quality:
try to get a room to the back side. The noise from the street is horrible, especially in the morning rush hour. The street is leading to a main crossing. Busses and cars are waiting in line bcs. of traffic lights, ...
If front side, try to avoid the x12, x13 rooms (x = floor) - when the lift arrives it always makes a very lound ding-dong, you also hear in your room on the back side.
And avoid room x31 - this rooms have a window to a inner patio, where the air con system is noisy and the view is non existing.
The hotel was slightly renovated a couple of years ago. Functional style. Nothing more!
Normally the rooms are clean. The rooms are simple equipped: TV, 2 chairs, small table, work space table with lan connection or WIFI (depends where you are in the hotel). Prefer LAN - the WIFI system is unstable (I-net is free). The beds are really good! Not soft, rather hard - but comfortable.
Breakfast is simple and poor. Fresh fruit salat and salat selection is the highlight. They prepare fried eggs - they are waiting for you... how long?? Danish sweets are ok, apples fresh, yoghurt ok. The ambiance of the breakfast room is strange -> no ambiance. So nothing special, but for me ok.
On my last visit, they did not make my room at all (just made the bed) - no cleaning, no garbage was taken, ..
For a cheap business trip ok, for holidays not.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank planet-wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 373 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel cost us about 62 Euros per night. It is four star, and with air conditioning. You can also open the windows if you wish to. The hotel is very close to the old city and it is a fabulous old city. You can readily spend several days here. Very good value hotel, wi fi, there was a feast of a breakfast selection, very helpful staff. Reception staff speak very good English. Nice restful lobby area. Bus route was right outside the door. There is no self-serve washing machine available but the staff assisted us to find one. Rooms very clean and comfortable with good lighting. We would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is located just across the road from the Old Town, great for tourists. They also allow pets. There is plenty of parking. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. There is air conditioning and the rooms are very quiet with the windows closed. So no traffic noise. The staff were all very nice & helpful and most speak English. Breakfast was sufficient but the restaurant is a joke. The prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is close to the city centre and old town. For the most part it is clean, but it's gaudy orange interior (think easy jet!) is well overdue a refurb. Lights didn't work in the corridor to our room, our air conditioning did work however. Breakfast was poor, both in selection and quality; the earlier you eat the better as they don't replenish anything after 9am if at all. One plus point for me is that the parking is on site. Staff our friendly but scruffy and lack professionalism. I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie_Taunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Horrible experience. The room didnt have A/C even though it is listed as an amenity in their website. Room is facing a big hallway so it is not even possible to open the windows in hot summer nights since it gets loud and lots of light. Rude and unfriendly reception adds to the disaster. Stay away from this inn!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The only reason why you should stay in the Tatra Hotel is because if you EVER make the decision to go to Bratislava, you can stay in the center; it's not a big city, but still.. Always convenient when your hotel is only 5min away from the historic center.

Anyway it is rated as a 4-star hotel but does NOT deserve it all! We arrived at our hotel around 1pm and checked in at the reception - not so welcoming staff, but everything seemed all right. Then we head up to our rooms, apparently there's no airconditioning! To me, there cannot be a 4-star hotel without airconditioned rooms in the middle of the summer (30°C+). But the hotel was so "friendly" to state in their information guide that "only 50% of the rooms have airconditioning". During our stay, we found out there were mobile fans inside the washing rooms, but when we called the reception to get one, they refused and told us they didn't have any.

Furthermore, when we opened our bathroom it seemed like the toilet wasn't as clean as expected. Sleeping was nearly impossible because of the heat, plus the mattress was too hard (even though I know people who like that more than soft ones) and the pillows too thin. When you opened the only window available, you could hear the noise of other guests in the early morning.
Breakfast was 'ok', not so much choice and not always fresh.

I do not recommend it to anyone unless you're sleeping in the reception hall where there was in fact airconditioning all the time.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for rooms with airconditioning during the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fethora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel rooms were waaay too hot. Do not book this hotel when it is 25° C (77 °F) or hotter. Less than 50% of the rooms have air conditioning and there is no way to know if the room you booked does.

Breakfast was also not up to par compared to other 4-star hotels. Very little choice, average coffee, dry bread etc...

Location is good, within 10 min walking you're in the absolute center of the city (which isn't so hard: the old part of the city is really, really small.)

Personnel was not very friendly, they didn't even ask if everything was okay when we left, just a simple 'goodbye'.

I've stayed in 2-star hotels that outclass this hotel by a landslide.

Room Tip: When making a reservation, call the hotel to be sure you have AC in the room. If not, don't book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AaronD2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#20 of 93 in Bratislava
1,541 reviews
Staré Mesto
Hotel Saffron
Hotel Saffron
#24 of 93 in Bratislava
341 reviews
Hotel Set
#30 of 93 in Bratislava
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Austria Trend Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
Film Hotel
Film Hotel
#46 of 93 in Bratislava
191 reviews
Apollo Hotel
#21 of 93 in Bratislava
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatra Hotel

Address: Namestie 1. maja 5, Bratislava 811 06, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bratislava
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range: $74 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tatra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tatra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tatra Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing