We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place, no A/C even though it is listed in the website. Rude reception”
Review of Tatra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tatra Hotel
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Horrible experience. The room didnt have A/C even though it is listed as an amenity in their website. Room is facing a big hallway so it is not even possible to open the windows in hot summer nights since it gets loud and lots of light. Rude and unfriendly reception adds to the disaster. Stay away from this inn!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 371 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

The only reason why you should stay in the Tatra Hotel is because if you EVER make the decision to go to Bratislava, you can stay in the center; it's not a big city, but still.. Always convenient when your hotel is only 5min away from the historic center.

Anyway it is rated as a 4-star hotel but does NOT deserve it all! We arrived at our hotel around 1pm and checked in at the reception - not so welcoming staff, but everything seemed all right. Then we head up to our rooms, apparently there's no airconditioning! To me, there cannot be a 4-star hotel without airconditioned rooms in the middle of the summer (30°C+). But the hotel was so "friendly" to state in their information guide that "only 50% of the rooms have airconditioning". During our stay, we found out there were mobile fans inside the washing rooms, but when we called the reception to get one, they refused and told us they didn't have any.

Furthermore, when we opened our bathroom it seemed like the toilet wasn't as clean as expected. Sleeping was nearly impossible because of the heat, plus the mattress was too hard (even though I know people who like that more than soft ones) and the pillows too thin. When you opened the only window available, you could hear the noise of other guests in the early morning.
Breakfast was 'ok', not so much choice and not always fresh.

I do not recommend it to anyone unless you're sleeping in the reception hall where there was in fact airconditioning all the time.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for rooms with airconditioning during the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fethora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel rooms were waaay too hot. Do not book this hotel when it is 25° C (77 °F) or hotter. Less than 50% of the rooms have air conditioning and there is no way to know if the room you booked does.

Breakfast was also not up to par compared to other 4-star hotels. Very little choice, average coffee, dry bread etc...

Location is good, within 10 min walking you're in the absolute center of the city (which isn't so hard: the old part of the city is really, really small.)

Personnel was not very friendly, they didn't even ask if everything was okay when we left, just a simple 'goodbye'.

I've stayed in 2-star hotels that outclass this hotel by a landslide.

Room Tip: When making a reservation, call the hotel to be sure you have AC in the room. If not, don't book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AaronD2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel with walking distance from old part of the city. With a brochure from information point you will get a nice discount, we paid for 2 ppl's / night with breakfast 56€ + 12€ for parking.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aniainhelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

While the Tatra Hotel is situated in a very good location, only a few minutes walk from the old town, it certainly isn't a 4 star hotel. By UK standards, you're looking as a high 2 or low 3. The easiest way to summarize is to say everything is basic......rooms, bathrooms, breakfast. Having said that, there was nothing to complain about other than there was no iron available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Directions to this hotel in a congested part of town with a one-way system did not prevent us from losing our way to the Tatra and its car park. You will find it helpful to know that you should turn into the secure parking just before the hotel - miss it and you have to do a detour in horrendous traffic! Once we reached reception, we were eventually greeted by a friendly and helpful member of staff who was having to cope alone at a busy time of day. Our comfortable room with all usual facilities was quiet as we were at the back of the building. We enjoyed an excellent, varied buffet breakfast and the Tatra is located within five minutes' walk of two excellent beer halls and tram routes to all parts of the city.
Overall, an unexciting but useful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night during a longer euro-trip. We found the location excellent for seeing the tourist attractions and for eating out - lots of things within walking distance. Not far from the main station. We really liked the room and the breakfast was much better than we would have expected for a price - a great selection. We did find the reception staff a bit unfriendly as others have said. The breakfast staff were lovely though. The wifi worked well. Our only complaint was that the air conditioning in our room wasn't very good at all - it was hot the day we arrived and the room didn't cool down much which made it difficult to sleep. The next morning it was rainy and cold but the room was still really hot. Overall we had a good stay though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilMissDotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Crowne Plaza Bratislava
#10 of 92 in Bratislava
785 reviews
Staré Mesto
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
Ibis Bratislava Centrum
#20 of 92 in Bratislava
1,526 reviews
Staré Mesto
Hotel Saffron
Hotel Saffron
#25 of 92 in Bratislava
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,776 reviews
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#7 of 92 in Bratislava
616 reviews
Hotel Set
#32 of 92 in Bratislava
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatra Hotel

Address: Namestie 1. maja 5, Bratislava 811 06, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Bratislava
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range: $77 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tatra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tatra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tatra Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing